Customer Reviews for

My Fair Lazy: One Reality Television Addict's Attempt to Discover If Not Being a Dumb Ass Is the New Black, or A Culture-up Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Best Nook Read...

Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able...
Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able to reference footnotes at the bottom of the page. Rather, they are listed like a glossary in the back of the book. For Nook readers this meant either constantly flipping back and forth between the footnotes page and the rest of the text, or forgoing what I believe are sometimes Lancaster's most witty remarks. I enjoyed the book overall, however, still a very good read.

posted by 4085547 on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SO DISAPPOINTED!

I am a big fan of Jen but this book is totally disappointing. I was hoping that the story will improve as each chapter unfolds ---but I wasted my time. For nook owners, email me and I'll let you borrow for free ... In fairness, I still like her!

posted by Nookie_Girl on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    Not the Best Nook Read...

    Readers like me who have previously enjoyed Jen Lancaster's books in print form might find the ebook slightly disappointing. This was the first of Lancaster's books that I read on the Nook, and because of the functionality (or lack thereof) of the device, I wasn't able to reference footnotes at the bottom of the page. Rather, they are listed like a glossary in the back of the book. For Nook readers this meant either constantly flipping back and forth between the footnotes page and the rest of the text, or forgoing what I believe are sometimes Lancaster's most witty remarks. I enjoyed the book overall, however, still a very good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SO DISAPPOINTED!

    I am a big fan of Jen but this book is totally disappointing. I was hoping that the story will improve as each chapter unfolds ---but I wasted my time. For nook owners, email me and I'll let you borrow for free ... In fairness, I still like her!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    A MUST READ FOR JEN FANS but...

    Loved her as I have in all if her books but just didn't work for me as an ebook. Given Jen's footnote style the nook app (or my ipad) sent all of the footnotes to the back which would be cool if they were not critical to her story telling.

    Also, I totally hogged the new family iPad for the 24 hours it took me to read the book (read did not play well with others).

    For the above reasons, I highly recommend the book in BOOK form.

    Happy reading! Jen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Fair Lazy Review

    I recently finished reading My Fair Lazy by New York Times Bestselling Author Jen Lancaster. Jen writes memoirs about what's going on in her life, but with a humorous spin. Think a mix of Kathy Griffin, Lucille Ball, a splash of preppy plaid, stir in wine, throw in a funny husband and two pit bulls and you have Jen Lancaster. I love what Jen did in her latest book My Fair Lazy where she attempted to "culture up" or have a Jenaissance as she called it.

    Jen starts her Jenaissance when she realizes that she watches way too much reality tv, is not a fan of cultural events, and is afraid of food she hasn't tried before. I do love that she is a Twilight fan and I will even forgive her for being Team Jacob. She does mention in her book that she likes Robert Pattinson but not Edward Cullen. Jen even made her own version of New Moon with her Twilight Action figures which she posted on her blog.

    Jen starts off small with a quest she calls Jen Eats the World. She decides that she will try different foods from other cultures. She finds out she really likes Cuban and had me laughing out loud about her Castro comments.

    I love how she includes funny emails to her husband Fletch and her friends through out the book. In one she writes to her friend Stacy about a meeting she appeared to be having with her dog Maisy, who she sometimes refers to as armpit bull. On Maisy's agenda, cookies, poops, dropped food, and jumping on guests. Jen also includes footnotes with great little comments. I can not get through one of Jen's books without laughing hysterically.

    If you need a break from fiction or if you're looking for a new author you that you will instantly fall in love with then I highly recommend Jen Lancaster. For more info visit Jen's blog http://www.jennsylvania.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life as we know it? Average.

    Life as Jen Lancaster knows it? Hilarious.

    MY FAIR LAZY is Jen's foray into self-enlightenment. She wonders if it is time to get off the couch, away from TV Reality Shows and venture into the world of culture. At the same time, she has a reflection that perhaps if she were a "kinder, gentler" Jen she might have more success, or at least not piss off quite as many people around her.

    This is a great premise for her to explore with her wit and sarcasm. For anyone not familiar with her work, she is a bit like an "bitter Seinfeld" and her observations on life and all the people surrounding her are truly entertaining.

    If you have been a fan of her books right from the beginning (Bitter is the New Black) you will love this book. However, be prepared that she has actually softened an ever-so-tiny bit...to my pleasant surprise! Having read all of her books (which, by the way, I strongly recommend before just jumping into this one, though it can certainly stand alone..why miss out?) I have seen her grow from a very bitter, bitingly sarcastic, fairly angry and even occasionally caustic person into a slightly (emphasis on that word) more laid back version of that same woman. I can't help but feel that I have had a part in that. Okay, so I only read her books, but still...it's been like watching my child develop into well rounded individual (minus all the college tuition bills).

    During Jen's explorations she makes some great strides in "culturing up" as she puts it, and gains some insight regarding her personality, most importantly without losing her Fabulous self. I think one of her friends says it best at one point in the book, telling her that it might not be about what she is saying...but about what she is listening to. A lesson we could ALL learn, grudgingly, as she does.

    I most definitely recommend following Jen as she leaps off the couch and into the "real world"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read!

    Jen Lancaster's latest book is laugh-out-loud funny! While I don't always get the realty TV references because I refuse to watch any (except ANTM!), her quest for cultural enlightenment is hilarious as expected. I enjoyed this book much more than her last two, and rate it up there with "Bitter" and "Bright Lights".

    And, if she's is coming to your town, GO. SEE. HER. She is even funnier in person! You will not be disappointed. http://www.jennsylvania.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Hysterical!

    Yet another entertaining book from Jen Lancaster! Her books make you LOL no matter where you are!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    LOve it!

    I am a huge Jen Lancaster fan and absolutely love this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Jen spills all in her memoir My Fair Lazy. Choosing to sit back and laugh at others on reality television shows. When she decides to sit the remote down, turn off the TV and venture out into the real world to see what life is like on that side.

    Her attempts for a cultural makeover make for a very entertaining read. She takes you along to experience her many adventures including theater, dance, poetry and more. She is a very talented writer whose voice begs to be heard. She's on my favorite authors list now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Warriors den.....

    For iceclan cats only!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I have read everything that she has out there and her memoirs are hilarious. I would and have recommended her writing to friends wanting a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wiity and Funny - Loved it

    "Breaking is for cowards and turn signals for the weak" LOL #JenLancaster in her book My Fair Lazy... If you are looking for a super funny summer book, beach read, etc., buy ANY of her books. You will laugh. A LOT. I met her at her last book signing in Dallas and she is just as funny in person! Does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Witty and Funny - Loved it!

    "Breaking is for cowards and turn signals for the weak" LOL #JenLancaster in her book My Fair Lazy... If you are looking for a super funny summer book, beach read, etc., buy ANY of her books. You will laugh. A LOT. I met her at her last book signing in Dallas and she is just as funny in person! Does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Nook friend!!!!

    Lol.. Ok I want a nook friend :3 ~ Kaiya

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Author Never Lets Me Down

    I find I can never put down Jen Lancaster books. As with the others, I got to the end of the book and wished it would not end. It is perfect for a trip, vacation, or a Sunday afternoon. I went so far as to check out all of her recommended reading on her website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    jen doesn't disappoint!

    another great read by jen lancaster! not quite as funny (imo) as her previous books, but would definitely recommend ... it's probably best to read her books in order too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Such a disappointment from her previous work

    I have read all of Jennifer Lancaster's books, and the first two (Bitter is the New Black and Bright Lights Big Ass) were great, but the quality dwindles from there. If I would have read this book before the others, I would not have even picked up any of her other books. She just rambles on about how much she loves food and wine, describing it to us as if we have never seen either. Her new upscale life just isn't funny. I'm not hating on her because she is successful now. She's earned every bit of it, but that edge she had when she was struggling has faded with this new posh lifestyle of hers. This book reads like advertising copy for food and wine. Maybe she should write for a food and wine magazine, because this book is an advertisement for it. Nothing funny about it. Kind of a bore. I didn't laugh outloud once and scanned through a lot of it since she wrotes pages and pages while never really saying a thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Jen Lancaster book I read. . .Now on to the rest!!

    I enjoyed the book! Gave me some idea's to get outside of my "box". What fun it will be to grab my husband and go learn more about wine and cheese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    Disappointing

    I loved Jen Lancasters first 4 books, but this book was disappointing at best. I kept hoping it would get better, but it never did, it got worse! Jen what happened to you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    An Old Friend Who Puts Things in Writing That We are All Thinking

    My Fair Lazy is the type of book one picks up when they just want to laugh by the pool on a hot summer afternoon. I have never read memoirs by a funnier, more irreverent person than Jen Lancaster. The most hysterical parts happen when you cannot believe what you just read.

    "New York Times" bestselling author Lancaster is a self-proclaimed reality show addict, hence the subtitle of the book: One Reality Television Addict's Attempt to Discover if Not Being a Dumb Ass is the New Black, or a Culture-Up Manifesto. Reading about her attempts to go through her own personal "Jenaissance" is the gist of the book, from finally reading the "classics" (loving Brave New World but not being able to get through Eudora Welty) to trying various cultural foods. Lancaster especially has a talent for moving from humorous to heartwarming in a single page, most notably when she discusses her many pets.

    This memoir is a very easy read. It feels like you are talking to an old friend who is not afraid to put into words what we think, but don't say out loud. Read this for an escape and many, many laughs.

    MY RATING - 5/5

    To see my rating scale and other reviews, please check out my blog:
    http://www.1776books.blogspot.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10