Customer Reviews for

My Familiar Stranger (Knights of Black Swan, Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much

I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much to that I have read it several times SINCE it was published. This is the first book of a series that is also a serial. In other words, while My Familiar Stranger can be read as a stand alone novel, every su...
I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much to that I have read it several times SINCE it was published. This is the first book of a series that is also a serial. In other words, while My Familiar Stranger can be read as a stand alone novel, every subsequent volume will build on characters and situations presented here. Whenever you encounter a twist or turn in the reading, know that the same thing took place with the writing. I began the writing with one book in mind and ended up with something else because the headstrong characters took on life, voice, and demands of their own. Hope you enjoy it.

posted by VictoriaDanann on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

This book was fresh, and offered something new. It gave a different concept on paranormal books. I liked it a lot, and it kept me enthralled. It was lengthy, but thats greatfor a free book. I do wish there could have been more action. I will read the other books from th...
This book was fresh, and offered something new. It gave a different concept on paranormal books. I liked it a lot, and it kept me enthralled. It was lengthy, but thats greatfor a free book. I do wish there could have been more action. I will read the other books from this author.

posted by VSWElder on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Rough. It is not unusual in a book to have multiple POVs. But

    Rough.

    It is not unusual in a book to have multiple POVs. But the way that this was handled in My Familiar Stranger was very rough. The author made frequent jumps between characters, rarely with any break to signal the transition and often in the middle of a scene. It made for a confusing read that required backtracking to figure out who had been speaking/reacting in that moment.

    The main character's reactions were often unrealistic. In the very beginning of the book, she goes through an extremely brutal change in life. However, the character does not seem very affected by these events, beyond a few moments where the author stated that the character had been quiet or pensive without actually showing these moments through the character.

    The action of the book was very slow to build and concluded with far too little conflict. A character is put in danger only to have that danger resolved by the end of the page. The reader barely has time to worry for the characters before there is a rescue that takes little effort to accomplish.

    Backstory is thrown in at odd places, providing a brief history that removes the reader from the story in order to explain something that will come next. These moments were jarring and mostly unnecessary.

    The style of the writing was interesting, but felt more like someone telling a story, with strange side notes that added little to the scene. The reader is told what is happening without ever being allowed to actively connect with a single character. With an inability to connect, the characters became flat. In a story that seem to want to be character based, this can be less than satisfying. It also left the developing love interests between the characters unappealing.

    HOWEVER!

    The premise of My Familiar Stranger is very intriguing. Parallel dimensions, with worlds and people that are just slightly different from ourselves. It made for some truly amusing story points. I found enough in the book, despite its rough edges, to want to read the next book.

    *Originally posted on goodreads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I don┬┐t know what to say about this book. I liked the storyline

    I don’t know what to say about this book. I liked the storyline but not the execution. It took me a long time to get use to the author’s style of writing. A lot longer than it usually does for me. There were way too many points of view. It wasn’t until around the 50% mark did I finally get used to it. In the beginning it was very hard to figure out who was talking and whose thoughts I was privy too. The first 70% was extremely hard to read. I thought it was boring and I found myself wishing for so much more. But I continued reading because several people asked me to with the promise that it gets better. They were right. All of a sudden everything seemed to click. The story became more interesting and I found myself actually starting to like some of the characters. Hopefully the next book is better. A little more action and a lot less drawn out descriptions of everything would make reading this series much more enjoyable. More romance would also be nice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ok so this book was written well. I'm not going to lie. The auth

    Ok so this book was written well. I'm not going to lie. The author clearly has talent. However this book just did not do it for me. I found myself bored and confused at times. It just wasn't very entertaining. Though, the writer did do a good job telling the story. It just wasn't my type of story though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I was expecting more after reading the first chapter, looking fo

    I was expecting more after reading the first chapter, looking for action. Pages and pages and more pages of narration/description/head-hopping got to be confusing & boring. I can finish a book this size within two days, but I had serious trouble getting through MFS and it took a week to read. Kept putting it down. Basically, the story was a romance with a tad more than a HINT of paranormal. Obviously, we all have our likes and dislikes. MFS is far from one of my favorite reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    One of the best nook books I have read so far. Good story and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1