Customer Reviews for

My Familiar Stranger (Knights of Black Swan, Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much

I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much to that I have read it several times SINCE it was published. This is the first book of a series that is also a serial. In other words, while My Familiar Stranger can be read as a stand alone novel, every su...
I admit to author bias. I wrote it and I like it a lot. So much to that I have read it several times SINCE it was published. This is the first book of a series that is also a serial. In other words, while My Familiar Stranger can be read as a stand alone novel, every subsequent volume will build on characters and situations presented here. Whenever you encounter a twist or turn in the reading, know that the same thing took place with the writing. I began the writing with one book in mind and ended up with something else because the headstrong characters took on life, voice, and demands of their own. Hope you enjoy it.

posted by VictoriaDanann on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

This book was fresh, and offered something new. It gave a different concept on paranormal books. I liked it a lot, and it kept me enthralled. It was lengthy, but thats greatfor a free book. I do wish there could have been more action. I will read the other books from th...
This book was fresh, and offered something new. It gave a different concept on paranormal books. I liked it a lot, and it kept me enthralled. It was lengthy, but thats greatfor a free book. I do wish there could have been more action. I will read the other books from this author.

posted by VSWElder on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Good Read

    This book was fresh, and offered something new. It gave a different concept on paranormal books. I liked it a lot, and it kept me enthralled. It was lengthy, but thats greatfor a free book. I do wish there could have been more action. I will read the other books from this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Good

    Good story. Different story from the normal paranomal today, but it was lengthy, a bit confusing and odd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Uhhhg

    Um kinda wierd book cuz it spells Anglish instead of English. It has a great plot though. Soo umm yeah thats all i want to say.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Very Good

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Fun

    VAMPIRES, ELVES, TIME TRAVEL, ROMANCE, ETC. What else could you possibly want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Alright so I was really digging this one until the heroine picke

    Alright so I was really digging this one until the heroine picked the wrong hero. That landed My Familiar Stranger firmly in the eh category for me and made for one pretty grumbly reader.

    There were definitely some things I liked about the book though. It was my first time reading Danann and I absolutely love the world she created. A slightly alternate universe, a worthy cause with danger, betrayals and fierce Warriors as they try to keep vampires under control. I loved that the vamps weren't in the "good guy" category. It was interesting as a whole and kept me reading on.

    And I loved all of the characters...individually. The heroine and the group of men who were teammates. Even a deliciously sexy vamp who might be on their side. Maybe. They're all awesome people and easy to fall in love with. Elora, the heroine, is tough and survives so much and has such a good heart. And the men are all brave and loyal to each other. And they each have a personality that makes you more curious about getting to know them.

    Now, my problem was the romance. Grrr, arg and damn. I just wasn't feeling it at all. There's a bit of a love triangle involved and I thought she ended up picking the wrong blasted guy. Couple that with the fact that I didn't feel that spark at all with the one she chose and it was a disaster for me. They worked as friends but I never felt the heat and physical chemistry between them. But I liked him so I couldn't even hate him for stealing her away from the hero I liked. Oh my god. Do you know how frustrating that is? LOL I had a lot of choice words being used along the way with this one.

    So. Kinda torn. Loved parts of the story, especially the drama and action involved in their fight against vampires, and really didn't care for other parts which I think made the book drag a bit for me. I'm totally giving Danann another read though. I want to see my hero of choice get his happily ever after. Maybe then I won't feel that little twinge of hostility towards Elora for leaving him behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    I've enjoyed this book. Its written well and I like the charact

    I've enjoyed this book. Its written well and I like the characters. My problem is that I'm on page 450 and still have 317 pages to go. I'm losing interest fast at this point. I feel there is no progress being made between Elora and any of the men interested in her. Its bordering on ridiculous. I will read on as long as I can but something needs to happen soon or I'm giving up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Good start....

    Interesting beginning. Kept waiting for something climactic to happen, but I was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1