Customer Reviews for

My Father's Daughter: Delicious, Easy Recipes Celebrating Family and Togetherness

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great vegetable recipes, plus delicious baked goods

I highly enjoyed this cookbook. So far I've mostly tried the side dishes. My favorite recipe so far is the maple-dijon roasted winter vegetables (page 194), which is easy to make and unbelievably delicious.

Some of the recipes require somewhat unusual ingredients, b...
I highly enjoyed this cookbook. So far I've mostly tried the side dishes. My favorite recipe so far is the maple-dijon roasted winter vegetables (page 194), which is easy to make and unbelievably delicious.

Some of the recipes require somewhat unusual ingredients, but there is a list at the back of the book of internet sources for these ingredients. For instance, the spiced apple crumb muffins require spelt, but it's a good (and tasty) recipe for those just starting to bake with flours other than all-purpose wheat.

posted by arbres on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

lol

what a joke.

posted by rubypearl on May 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great vegetable recipes, plus delicious baked goods

    I highly enjoyed this cookbook. So far I've mostly tried the side dishes. My favorite recipe so far is the maple-dijon roasted winter vegetables (page 194), which is easy to make and unbelievably delicious.

    Some of the recipes require somewhat unusual ingredients, but there is a list at the back of the book of internet sources for these ingredients. For instance, the spiced apple crumb muffins require spelt, but it's a good (and tasty) recipe for those just starting to bake with flours other than all-purpose wheat.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Loved it - Don't Judge A Book By It's Author

    So many people are going to judge this book just because of who wrote it. DON'T DO that - you'll miss out on a great cookbook.

    First off, the book is beautiful. The pages are intricate and there's something special with numerous mouthwatering photos. Gwen pushes toward keeping things organic, whole and family friendly. There are some more basic recipes - like a macrobiotic hot sauce and pasta recipe - as well as more advanced, fancy things like a Chinese duck, roasted whole fish and more. The book has salad, soup, pasta, burger, main dish, side and desert areas with recipes of varying levels in each section. Some are easy, some are harder. Some are healthy, some are not so much.

    Great book - the 5 recipes or so I've made from it have all been PHENOMENAL (one of her muffin recipes has been made just about everyday the last week in our household!). Get the book, give it a try and forget about who wrote it or what movie you saw her in.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    easy to follow- simple yet sophisticated

    I am really enjoying this cookbook. I have tried a handful of recipes and they have all been great- from a rotiserie style chicken with corn polenta, to the oatmeal cookies everything is fresh and on the healthy side. The pictures and stories made flipping through it the first time very enjoyable. I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Normally, I don't review books. I wouldn't describe myself as a

    Normally, I don't review books. I wouldn't describe myself as a big Gwyneth fan, I liked her in Sliding Doors- but I don't know anything about her or have any opinions one way or the other. That being said, I love this cookbook and find myself identifying and loving the personal touch and anecdotes about each recipe. I'm a self described foodie and have been looking for a healthier recipe book and this one fit the mold. I did have to find some additional products but she does provide alternatives so it isn't mandatory (note: most of the 'specialty' items were at Whole foods and not easily spoilt so I didn't feel like I wasted money). Oh, and the recipes are delicous! My healthy-protesting husband can't tell the difference!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    lol

    what a joke.

    4 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Easy, healthy and delicious family recipes.

    Beautiful cookbook filled with easy, healthy and delicious recipes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nearly burn my house down!

    I am a fan of Gynth so I thought I'd love her cookbook. She acts like these recipes are something unique when they are really just run of the mill recipes that are nothing special. Wow, pancakes. How original. And with her soup recipes, she gives you advice to nearly burn your house down by letting it cook overnight. Hello, if you leave your stove on overnight, you're asking for trouble. i nearly burned my house down with sleeping kids inside. I returned and won't be buying again. Keep your average recipes to yourself, Gynth.

    3 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Beautiful.

    No matter who wrote it, this is a very fresh, interesting and beautiful book, written with love for life and food. All the recipes I have already tried were amazing! As for the ingredients that might be difficult to find, well, you can always use your local spices and herbs without problems, IMHO. Although my cooking is mostly mediterranean (I'm Greek), I was pleasantly surprised by this book and I highly recommend it to those who need fresh and healthy ideas for hearty food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I Love this cook book , healthy and easy .

    I Love this cook book , healthy and easy .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Impressive

    Who knew Gwyneth could cook. Her recipes are simple, natural and delicious. Also, highly recommend her follow up book "Its All Good".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Very good book. Healthy comfort food?

    My physical copy is autographed ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    should have been called my fathers brat

    should have been called my fathers brat

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1