Customer Reviews for

My Favorite Mistake

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great drama

A decade ago, Faith Geary fled her small Minnesota hometown with no plans to ever return and has kept to her vow until now. Her sister Skye hysterically calls saying her world has collapsed as she is about to file for bankruptcy as the ¿The Roof Rat¿ bar that Faith inv...
A decade ago, Faith Geary fled her small Minnesota hometown with no plans to ever return and has kept to her vow until now. Her sister Skye hysterically calls saying her world has collapsed as she is about to file for bankruptcy as the ¿The Roof Rat¿ bar that Faith invested in and managed by Skye¿s philandering spouse Bob is failing, and divorce from her cheating husband is imminent. Neither moves Faith though her life savings could vanish if the bar goes into arrears as she co-signed the mortgage. Still she has spent a lifetime with the Skye falling calamities of her sis so she decides to help from a distance.................................... Her former lover Patrick Flynn calls Faith next to inform her that Skye is pregnant. Knowing that she is walking into landmines, Faith comes home. Skye shows no maturity as if the last ten years, the bar, and marriage never happened. Worse Faith still feels a deep attraction to Patrick, who remains angry with her for leaving him yet still wants her because he never stopped loving her............................ The story line is often amusing but contains a serious undertone on actually responsibility for one¿s actions (and not just saying so as seems to be the norm). Faith is a fine lead character who upon her return quickly realizes why she escaped the insanity in the first place. Patrick furbishes realism as he displays anger while wearing his heart on his sleeve until he realizes that his beloved will leave again without resolving their feelings if he remains irate. With the eccentric support cast adding humorous depth, contemporary romance fans will appreciate this you can go home tale........................ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A book that has made a few mistake

Before I get started, I must say that this wasn't a Bad book i.e. one you just simply can't get through. You can get from point A to point Z without having to throw the book against the wall. For the most part, it started off fairly good but its only a matter of time be...
Before I get started, I must say that this wasn't a Bad book i.e. one you just simply can't get through. You can get from point A to point Z without having to throw the book against the wall. For the most part, it started off fairly good but its only a matter of time before you realize not much makes sense in this story. Faith Geary, a bohemian culinary writer is summoned home to help mend her younger sister's broken heart when husband #2 walks out of the door and to also save the business that her sister is or was on the verge of bankrupting. But as far as I can tell, our supposed hilarious heroine does very little in solving any of these issues. You never understand why the only bar in town was losing money nor how the Einstein sisters turned everything around. I agree with another writer for this book needing to be mass market instead of trade because it's an open and shut romance story...maybe. The hero Patrick Flynn- is another story entirely. By the end of the book I finally figured out why I wasn't too crazy about the man who supposedly stole Faith's heart--HE ACTS TOO MUCH LIKE A WOMAN. Seriously, I've never seen a man charged with so much estrogen in all my life. 'I don't want to talk about it' is his theme song. Sure, he had a broken heart from Faith leaving town AFTER HE DUMPED HER, but after a while, you just want to hand the guy a pacifier. There was absolutely no chemistry between Faith and FLynn in the entire story. There has to be more fireworks on the FIFTH of July than what transpired between this great couple during their impromptu weekend together. Heck, she had to get drunk, the man wasn't speaking to her. Which in retrospect might have been a better thing, because when he did speak, you just wanted to hand over that pacifier again. Gee, Can't understand why he's still on the market. Scene after scene only serves as a writer trying to reach a word count, because they certainly serve no purpose to the story. i.e-Anything having to do with Leah and her family. Mrs. Hammond's dog biting her, any scene having to do with Sally Hutchins. Where was the character growth? Our heroine is the same person in the begining of the book and at the end. And I forget...what was the plot? The scenes I found funny...I don't think was meant to be funny. Like Faith placing calls to her sisters on tips on how to win Flynn back since her sister knows about men. Hello?? The woman's second husband just left her for another woman. What does she know about keeping a man? Plus, any time Faith's sister is depressed, Faith buys her something or hands over her credit card--this is how the sister got the bar in the first place. Note to author: there's a difference between abling and enabling spoiled brats. And plot contrivance galore--but the main one--Flynn and Faith are both owners of the bar-but neither knew about the other? What? The author tried to explain this as Flynn didn't sign his name to anything...well, that means he doesn't own anything. I do recommed this book if your bored, snowed-in, or a close friend of Ms. Kendrick. Otherwise, pass.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    A book that has made a few mistake

    Before I get started, I must say that this wasn't a Bad book i.e. one you just simply can't get through. You can get from point A to point Z without having to throw the book against the wall. For the most part, it started off fairly good but its only a matter of time before you realize not much makes sense in this story. Faith Geary, a bohemian culinary writer is summoned home to help mend her younger sister's broken heart when husband #2 walks out of the door and to also save the business that her sister is or was on the verge of bankrupting. But as far as I can tell, our supposed hilarious heroine does very little in solving any of these issues. You never understand why the only bar in town was losing money nor how the Einstein sisters turned everything around. I agree with another writer for this book needing to be mass market instead of trade because it's an open and shut romance story...maybe. The hero Patrick Flynn- is another story entirely. By the end of the book I finally figured out why I wasn't too crazy about the man who supposedly stole Faith's heart--HE ACTS TOO MUCH LIKE A WOMAN. Seriously, I've never seen a man charged with so much estrogen in all my life. 'I don't want to talk about it' is his theme song. Sure, he had a broken heart from Faith leaving town AFTER HE DUMPED HER, but after a while, you just want to hand the guy a pacifier. There was absolutely no chemistry between Faith and FLynn in the entire story. There has to be more fireworks on the FIFTH of July than what transpired between this great couple during their impromptu weekend together. Heck, she had to get drunk, the man wasn't speaking to her. Which in retrospect might have been a better thing, because when he did speak, you just wanted to hand over that pacifier again. Gee, Can't understand why he's still on the market. Scene after scene only serves as a writer trying to reach a word count, because they certainly serve no purpose to the story. i.e-Anything having to do with Leah and her family. Mrs. Hammond's dog biting her, any scene having to do with Sally Hutchins. Where was the character growth? Our heroine is the same person in the begining of the book and at the end. And I forget...what was the plot? The scenes I found funny...I don't think was meant to be funny. Like Faith placing calls to her sisters on tips on how to win Flynn back since her sister knows about men. Hello?? The woman's second husband just left her for another woman. What does she know about keeping a man? Plus, any time Faith's sister is depressed, Faith buys her something or hands over her credit card--this is how the sister got the bar in the first place. Note to author: there's a difference between abling and enabling spoiled brats. And plot contrivance galore--but the main one--Flynn and Faith are both owners of the bar-but neither knew about the other? What? The author tried to explain this as Flynn didn't sign his name to anything...well, that means he doesn't own anything. I do recommed this book if your bored, snowed-in, or a close friend of Ms. Kendrick. Otherwise, pass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great drama

    A decade ago, Faith Geary fled her small Minnesota hometown with no plans to ever return and has kept to her vow until now. Her sister Skye hysterically calls saying her world has collapsed as she is about to file for bankruptcy as the ¿The Roof Rat¿ bar that Faith invested in and managed by Skye¿s philandering spouse Bob is failing, and divorce from her cheating husband is imminent. Neither moves Faith though her life savings could vanish if the bar goes into arrears as she co-signed the mortgage. Still she has spent a lifetime with the Skye falling calamities of her sis so she decides to help from a distance.................................... Her former lover Patrick Flynn calls Faith next to inform her that Skye is pregnant. Knowing that she is walking into landmines, Faith comes home. Skye shows no maturity as if the last ten years, the bar, and marriage never happened. Worse Faith still feels a deep attraction to Patrick, who remains angry with her for leaving him yet still wants her because he never stopped loving her............................ The story line is often amusing but contains a serious undertone on actually responsibility for one¿s actions (and not just saying so as seems to be the norm). Faith is a fine lead character who upon her return quickly realizes why she escaped the insanity in the first place. Patrick furbishes realism as he displays anger while wearing his heart on his sleeve until he realizes that his beloved will leave again without resolving their feelings if he remains irate. With the eccentric support cast adding humorous depth, contemporary romance fans will appreciate this you can go home tale........................ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Dont judge a book by the cover

    Sexy ass on cover bad on inside

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Nice cover

    Sexy ass cover, crappy ass book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay...

    I wanted to like this book more than I actually did. The reviews I'd read were good, the plotline sounded fun, but the delivery was lacking. It really felt like most of the novel had a lot of (some valid, some just too drawn out) issues between the two main characters that ended up getting resolved way too quickly and neatly in the end. I felt like a whole lot more should have been needed between the two to get them to that happy place than what actually was shown in the book. It almost felt like Kendrick was writing along and then suddenly said, Hey! Look at the time! I've got to wrap this up! and then, boom! Happy ending. Off to the library for its quarterly used book sale for this title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    a must read

    Beth Kendrick's writing manages to touch the heart and keep you smiling and laughing at the same time. In My Favorite Mistake, she showcases her talent with the heartwarming tale of Faith, a small town girl who tries desperatly to forget her roots. Faith's rocky journey of self realization and love will keep you turning pages and laughing throughout. The characters are portrayed as very real and at the end I found myself wishing I grew up in a small town instead of a big city. Kendrick has quickly become my favorite contemporary author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    AWESOME!

    This book is an absolute #1 Hit for Beth Kendrick! The characters are so real and grew on me so quickly, that I still think about Flynn and want him myself. I read the book weeks ago and still can't get the story line and characters out of my mind. I thought it was a wonderful life/love story and the suspense killed me. I just wanted to know how it would end. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I think this is one of the best books I have ever read! Beth Kennrick has a great talent with writing. The characters are so real with makes the book even better. Definitely won't be able to put the book down because you just want to keep reading because it's that good! Definitely recommended guaranteed you will enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    FAST READING, ENJOYABLE

    Take this book to the beach and enjoy!! Beth Kendrick's sense of humor is great and her stories just 'pull you in.' The characters are well-defined and the story keeps you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    MY FAVORITE BOOK

    simply put-awesome, amazing, fantastic, and beautiful. the story of Flynn and Faith will take you on a wild ride to the wonderful world of young romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    chick lit 100%

    i loved this book. i couldn't figure it out until the very end (which could have been better but was explained in the author's note) why i liked this book so much. i loved it because Flynn- the main man- and Faith- the leading lady- have the perfect soap opera romance. Flynn knows exactly what to do at exactly the right times to make the story great and Faith plays along. This is a great read and well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Hilarious romantic comedy...

    Faith Geary left behind her small town home ten years ago, not ever intending to return. That all changes when her sister Skye calls in tears, on the verges of bankruptcy and divorce. Even then, Faith doesn't intend to return, but then she gets one more call, from Patrick Flynn, her once upon a time love who delivers the killing blow that sends her back to Minnesota. Skye's pregnant. Faith can't stay away while she is so needed after that. .................................. **** Stepping back home is stepping into chaos. Flynn is still angry at her for leaving, Skye is irresponsible as ever, the bar whose mortgage she co-signed is teetering on the edge of going under with her life savings, and all her old feelings are coming back to life. Romantic tensions run high and laughs are plentiful in this heartwarming read. Toward the end of the book, there are two absalutely priceless scenes that will have you rolling on the floor, giggling. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1