Customer Reviews for

My Favorite Mistake

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

Read the book on very rainy day. You just can't wait to keep reading to see how the characters are going to evolve and what each is hiding. I would recommend for those folks who loved "Beautiful Disaster" or "Slammed"

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Whole bunch of nothing!!

I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no char...
I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no character development...just a whole lot of supposed sexual tension. I'm sorry I trusted the reviews and bought this book...I,for one,do not recommend this book.

posted by 10747454 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good or annoying?

    I am not sure if I loved or hated this book. At times it was cute and funny, other times it was just down right annoying. If you can look past annoying banter that lasts literally throughout the entire thing, then it's a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I really wanted to love this book. A lot of my friends read it a

    I really wanted to love this book. A lot of my friends read it and raved and raved about it. And I did like it, but it just didn't wow me. I also had a really tough time connecting with Taylor. I understood that she had something traumatic happen to her, but I felt like she was unnecessarily mean to Hunter. That really bothered me.  My overall feelings about her never really changed throughout the book. 




    The best part about the book for me was Hunter. He was funny, sexy, and insightful. He was so patient and supportive of Taylor. My heart hurt for him and the tragedy that he dealt with too. I would have liked to have seen more focus on his past. 




    Overall, like I said, I liked it enough to read the whole book. The love story was sweet and it had some steamy parts, but just fell short for me. I've heard rumors that there will be another book and I am curious to see what Cameron would do with their story from here. Will I rush to read it? Probably not, but I'll definitely check it out. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Good Story

    I liked this book, the characters were good and so was the story. However, this story seemed way, way too long. It kind of dragged and I found myself hoping it would end. Not saying the book sucked, because it didnt. I think the author should of shortened it up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book

    3.5 Stars~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    This is my very first book by Cameron. I found out about her after reading an interview with Jessica Sorensen who said she enjoyed this NA title so I gave it a shot.

    Right from the very beginning, I found myself very impressed by the author’s POV. It’s a great fit for NA and almost reminds me a little of J. Lynn’s writing style. So if you’re a fan of Lynn’s, then I’m sure you’ll find some of what you like in Cameron’s writing as well. I’ll go into this in detail later.

    Perhaps the strongest aspect of this book is the dialogue. Cameron kills it with each returning, snarky line. It definitely brings life to the pages and I found this to be highly enjoyable to read.

    I was a little skeptical about starting this book because some deemed the hero to be a douche. And not just any douche, but a complete asshat. It intrigued me then so I jumped in and found that yeah, though Hunter does and says things that is kinda douchey, he does it intentionally to piss Taylor off. I didn’t see it any different than what Julie James does in her Practice Makes Perfect book, where the hero and heroine go at it in a frantic race to make partners at the firm they both work at. Let’s be honest here – it’s entertaining to read about and Hunter only looks like a douche if Taylor can’t handle it and let’s just say that that punch and kick in the balls proves that Taylor can handle this all on her own.

    After a great start, I found the middle and end to be a little wishy-washy. It’s much of the same in the dialogue department. There’s a lot of Hunter coming onto Taylor and her karate-chopping him away. I was intrigued by their pasts and why they were both have night terrors/nightmares. However, when the actual details of those secrets were revealed, I was a little disappointed in them and felt that it was resolved quite quickly. Another thing I didn’t really like was how one second Hunter or Taylor is having a dark meltdown but then a second later, they are back into that upbeat back-and-forth. I thought it kind of undermined what the author was trying to establish in the scene before by making readers sympathize with the characters. As a result, I didn’t feel the weight of their problems as some others books have made me feel simply because the characters don’t feel so tortured about it a second later. In actuality, they seem perfectly fine.

    That being said, this is where I think Cameron and J.Lynn’s writing style merge. Both authors have a great voice that really makes the narration pop, but in terms of the angst, it’s not too deep that you feel burdened by their problems.

    One last thing…there were a couple of times when I noticed some changes in tenses. One minute it was past tense and then a few sentences later, the narration slipped into present. But since this is an arc copy, I tried to ignore those slip ups.

    I enjoyed MY FAVORITE MISTAKE enough to check out another one of Cameron’s titles, THE DEEPER WE FALL.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley.)
    19-year-old Taylor is shocked when it seems that her new roommate for her sophomore year is going to be no other than a boy!!
    Hunter is sexy as hell, and it’s obvious that he likes Taylor, but she has got no intentions of ever having a relationship with him, or even putting up with him as her roommate.

    With accommodation services unhelpful, it looks like Taylor will have to just put up or shut up, but it’s not that easy with Hunter flirting with her all the time.
    Is there any hope for Taylor and Hunter? Will she survive having him as a roommate? And what secret is Taylor hiding that makes her so against any kind of a relationship with a man?


    This was an okay NA contemporary romance, but it just felt really long.

    I can’t say that I really liked Taylor all that much in this book. I thought she was pretty harsh, made mountains out of mole hills, and if anything was a bit aggressive. I totally didn’t get why she had to be so nasty towards Hunter, and I really didn’t get why she kept insisting that she didn’t like him, even when she made it clear that she really did. She called him names, and was really quite vindictive, whilst all the time trying to get him to move out, which I thought was really not very nice of her.

    The storyline in this book was alright, although I did wonder if the university would seriously expect a boy and girl to room together like that. I have a feeling that if they did they would be opening themselves up to possible lawsuits, so I’m not sure how realistic this aspect of the storyline really was.
    It seemed quite obvious that both Hunter and Taylor had issues, but it just felt like it took forever for us to get any answers as to what was going on. For the best part of 80% of the book they just whined and moaned and argued with each other, and it got really old. I really don’t think we needed over 300 pages of their childish arguments and Taylor’s pretending not to even like Hunter, I had the picture well within the first 100 pages, and I really just wanted to know what was going on, and for Taylor and Hunter to actually have some sort of relationship with each other.
    When the sex actually happened it was pretty good, and I was glad that Hunter and Taylor finally admitted their feelings for one another, although Taylor still seemed a bit reserved.
    The ending to the story was okay, it just seemed to take a long time to get there, and the whole thing just felt like it went on for too long.
    Overall; an okay NA contemporary romance, just a bit too long.
    6.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Slow start

    This book is good but the start is very slow and then the relationship between taylor and hunter is just kind of throw together. It is good though once it gets going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    It was good but not great.

    The build up of Taylir and Hunter getting together was way too long in my opinion. I found myself wanting to skip parts. Again, it was just ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Not bad

    Definately not nearly as good as slammed or beautiful disaster which was what alot of reviewers were comparing it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1