Customer Reviews for

My Favorite Mistake

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

Read the book on very rainy day. You just can't wait to keep reading to see how the characters are going to evolve and what each is hiding. I would recommend for those folks who loved "Beautiful Disaster" or "Slammed"

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Whole bunch of nothing!!

I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no char...
I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no character development...just a whole lot of supposed sexual tension. I'm sorry I trusted the reviews and bought this book...I,for one,do not recommend this book.

posted by 10747454 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Excellent story

    Read the book on very rainy day. You just can't wait to keep reading to see how the characters are going to evolve and what each is hiding. I would recommend for those folks who loved "Beautiful Disaster" or "Slammed"

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    A keeper

    Taylor and Hunter made a dreary rainy day much better. Many thanks to the author. I will look for other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Hunter almost reminded me of a young Kellan Kyle. I loved the ch

    Hunter almost reminded me of a young Kellan Kyle. I loved the character from the minute you meet him. He is the sexy smart ass wrapped up with that bad boy charm that most girls find irresistible, well except Taylor.
    Taylor drove me nuts. Sure she had some traumatic happen to her, but she took it to an extreme. It took her until about 70% in to the book to soften to this boy who was throwing himself at her (money,physically and emotionally...hell he plays guitar and dances) and for some reason everyone saw it, but her. I wanted to shake her for wasting so much time especially after hearing Hunters secret. His blew hers away. I could see why he had night terrors and I would gladly climb in his bed to comfort him.
    The secondary characters were also enjoyable, especially when showing the main character and his underlying sensitive heart despite his "asshat" exterior....I love you Hunter Zaccadelli, more than the stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm trying to think of things I didn't like about this book, and

    I'm trying to think of things I didn't like about this book, and am finding it hard to come up with anything significant. I felt the ending was a little rushed, but that's about it.




    Now to come to the things I did like. I did like how this book covered a number of usually non polite public topics. That was cool. 




    I will say that it did take me a while to get into this book. I was expecting it to hook me fast, and it didn't. I will definitely keep an eye out for more books by Ms.Cameron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s becoming harder and harder to win me over with contemporary

    It’s becoming harder and harder to win me over with contemporary romance novels, lately. I find that I’m somewhat picky when it comes to books that sound too similar to ones I’ve already read. So I try to find something different. My Favorite Mistake was one such book that seemed like it could offer something different for me.

    One of the things that hooked me in from the beginning was the way Cameron was able to write about college life for these characters, and make me feel like I was back in college again. There was a familiar atmosphere to it all. I did find it a little hard to believe that a college’s housing department wouldn’t have accommodated Taylor’s request to not have Hunter as a roommate. I dont’ have much co-ed dorm experience, but if someone’s uncomfortable, it’s their job to remedy the situation. But after accepting this, I was back into enjoying where the story went and how the author used this detail to her advantage.

    The characters are fun to get to know, and again, they act and feel like real college students. There’s nothing extraordinary about them. They go to class, study, hang out together. The focus given to college life in this book isn’t something I find in others. There’s normally a focus on characters and romance, not setting. Hunter was a great character once we get to see a big more of him. Taylor, the narrator, was good as well, if sometimes a bit much to handle reading about from the first person. Seeing her character from the outside might have let me feel for her, or understand her a bit more. They both have their issues that make them who they are and I think the way their conflicts grew into a childlike game, and relationship evolved was a nice touch. There were times when I couldn’t tell what’d happen next. Would there be a fight or a more tame civil moment? It kept me guessing.

    Overall I was pleased with the book. It’s a good sign when an author can get me to like the male lead and feel like the romance was never forced. There are many memorable secondary characters in here as well. With this being my first time reading Cameron’s work, I’m looking forward to the others I have on my Kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Good story

    Easy read, good story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taylor Caldwell is in college and trying to move past her deep

    Taylor Caldwell is in college and trying to move past her deepest darkest secret. Taylor is rooming with her two best friends and they are expecting a fourth roommate. Enter Hunter Zaccadelli, tattooed guitar playing Hottie. Taylor and Hunter do not get off on the right foot and are soon at odds. Hunter makes Taylor a bet...either she tells him she hates it and really means it or she tells him she loves him and he will move out of their apartment. Taylor thinks Hunter is nuts among other things but takes the bet all the while trying to get him to move out via Housing department with the college. What neither of them know is that the other has dark secrets and are both battling with those demons.

    I fell hard for Taylor and Hunter both and absolutely got a kick out of their banter back and forth. They are absolutely an adorable couple and wish their was more to their story. I cannot imagine the things they went through and felt for both of them when they exposed those demons to one another. You could feel their anguish and pain through Chelsea Cameron's words and they flowed well. The plot was great and there was no stop gaps to where it would leave you questioning what the hell!? I totally recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Great read

    Hated for it to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    ohhh lala

    Great bood with some funy entertaining characters. I have laughed out loud at a few of the exerpts in this book. I say go get your romance on and enjoy the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Very good

    A story of a bitter girl with a past that no one wants. Her bew roomate ends up being a male. She is attracted to him and litteraly fights him. But he has a tough past too. The two end up saving each other from theur past. You will laugh and love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Really enjoyed this one

    Didn't expect to love this book, but really liked Hunter & enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    Two college kids, each with serious issues become roommates and so much more. I loved the dialogue! The girl is difficult to get to know but is so worth taking the effort to get to know. The boy has some irritating quirks, but those quirks become lovable. I recommended this to my college aged daughter but thoroughly enjoyed it myself too. I am not too much into young adult fiction but this was well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Loved it!! It was a good story with great characters.

    Loved it!! It was a good story with great characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    LOVETOREAD

    GOOD READ. The chemistry between Hunter and Taylor was "hot". The dialog was very witty and had me ROTFWL. 600+ pages of humor, laughter, sadness and romance. Both Hunter and Taylor carried their own hard burdens but together they overcame it with each othets help, strength and love. Great Read!

    LOVETOREAD......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great!!

    Such a good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Very good

    This was a very well written book, only problem was the characters had strange reactions to bad news which was unrealistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I liked it.

    Cute story. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Cute, quick read.. kept me reading to find out what was going to

    Cute, quick read.. kept me reading to find out what was going to happen next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Good but......

    Really close to Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Sweet story

    This is a sweet story about two people who help each other overcome their past. And it takes place Maine where I live which made it even better :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4