Customer Reviews for

My Favorite Mistake

Average Rating 4.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story

Read the book on very rainy day. You just can't wait to keep reading to see how the characters are going to evolve and what each is hiding. I would recommend for those folks who loved "Beautiful Disaster" or "Slammed"

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Whole bunch of nothing!!

I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no char...
I don't know which book everone else was raving about but this book was a waste of money. Poorly written, no storyline to speak of, and characters were unbelievable. It appears this author just sat down and wrote a book from beginning to end with no outline and no character development...just a whole lot of supposed sexual tension. I'm sorry I trusted the reviews and bought this book...I,for one,do not recommend this book.

posted by 10747454 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    ??

    ??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    J

    M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Great story that I was able to read to get me through a snow sto

    Great story that I was able to read to get me through a snow storm. Loved the two main characters Hunter and Taylor's friendship to lovers story. I could not understand Taylor's anger toward men and intimacy but the second half of book explained it all. Hunter is too die for as a friend, lover and soulmate. I hope some of their friends get stories too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    I'm trying to think of things I didn't like about this book, and

    I'm trying to think of things I didn't like about this book, and am finding it hard to come up with anything significant. I felt the ending was a little rushed, but that's about it.




    Now to come to the things I did like. I did like how this book covered a number of usually non polite public topics. That was cool. 




    I will say that it did take me a while to get into this book. I was expecting it to hook me fast, and it didn't. I will definitely keep an eye out for more books by Ms.Cameron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s becoming harder and harder to win me over with contemporary

    It’s becoming harder and harder to win me over with contemporary romance novels, lately. I find that I’m somewhat picky when it comes to books that sound too similar to ones I’ve already read. So I try to find something different. My Favorite Mistake was one such book that seemed like it could offer something different for me.

    One of the things that hooked me in from the beginning was the way Cameron was able to write about college life for these characters, and make me feel like I was back in college again. There was a familiar atmosphere to it all. I did find it a little hard to believe that a college’s housing department wouldn’t have accommodated Taylor’s request to not have Hunter as a roommate. I dont’ have much co-ed dorm experience, but if someone’s uncomfortable, it’s their job to remedy the situation. But after accepting this, I was back into enjoying where the story went and how the author used this detail to her advantage.

    The characters are fun to get to know, and again, they act and feel like real college students. There’s nothing extraordinary about them. They go to class, study, hang out together. The focus given to college life in this book isn’t something I find in others. There’s normally a focus on characters and romance, not setting. Hunter was a great character once we get to see a big more of him. Taylor, the narrator, was good as well, if sometimes a bit much to handle reading about from the first person. Seeing her character from the outside might have let me feel for her, or understand her a bit more. They both have their issues that make them who they are and I think the way their conflicts grew into a childlike game, and relationship evolved was a nice touch. There were times when I couldn’t tell what’d happen next. Would there be a fight or a more tame civil moment? It kept me guessing.

    Overall I was pleased with the book. It’s a good sign when an author can get me to like the male lead and feel like the romance was never forced. There are many memorable secondary characters in here as well. With this being my first time reading Cameron’s work, I’m looking forward to the others I have on my Kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Love it!

    Such an awesome story from the first punch I mean page .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Good story

    Easy read, good story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taylor Caldwell is in college and trying to move past her deep

    Taylor Caldwell is in college and trying to move past her deepest darkest secret. Taylor is rooming with her two best friends and they are expecting a fourth roommate. Enter Hunter Zaccadelli, tattooed guitar playing Hottie. Taylor and Hunter do not get off on the right foot and are soon at odds. Hunter makes Taylor a bet...either she tells him she hates it and really means it or she tells him she loves him and he will move out of their apartment. Taylor thinks Hunter is nuts among other things but takes the bet all the while trying to get him to move out via Housing department with the college. What neither of them know is that the other has dark secrets and are both battling with those demons.

    I fell hard for Taylor and Hunter both and absolutely got a kick out of their banter back and forth. They are absolutely an adorable couple and wish their was more to their story. I cannot imagine the things they went through and felt for both of them when they exposed those demons to one another. You could feel their anguish and pain through Chelsea Cameron's words and they flowed well. The plot was great and there was no stop gaps to where it would leave you questioning what the hell!? I totally recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Great read

    Hated for it to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Not my favorite story I liked Hunter (the guy) in this one--he h

    Not my favorite story
    I liked Hunter (the guy) in this one--he had a great personality and charm.  My issue with this story was solely about the main character, Taylor, who had very serious anger and abusive behavior issues.  I found her unlikable.  I just couldn't get past the fact that she was *almost constantly* combative/abusive in her communication AND a few times with her actions toward Hunter.  I don't buy it that her behavior and attitude would change now that they had found love with each other.
    btw, for those of you who seek out "steamy" romance novels, this isn't one.  It's more of a love story than a hot read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    ohhh lala

    Great bood with some funy entertaining characters. I have laughed out loud at a few of the exerpts in this book. I say go get your romance on and enjoy the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book

    3.5 Stars~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    This is my very first book by Cameron. I found out about her after reading an interview with Jessica Sorensen who said she enjoyed this NA title so I gave it a shot.

    Right from the very beginning, I found myself very impressed by the author’s POV. It’s a great fit for NA and almost reminds me a little of J. Lynn’s writing style. So if you’re a fan of Lynn’s, then I’m sure you’ll find some of what you like in Cameron’s writing as well. I’ll go into this in detail later.

    Perhaps the strongest aspect of this book is the dialogue. Cameron kills it with each returning, snarky line. It definitely brings life to the pages and I found this to be highly enjoyable to read.

    I was a little skeptical about starting this book because some deemed the hero to be a douche. And not just any douche, but a complete asshat. It intrigued me then so I jumped in and found that yeah, though Hunter does and says things that is kinda douchey, he does it intentionally to piss Taylor off. I didn’t see it any different than what Julie James does in her Practice Makes Perfect book, where the hero and heroine go at it in a frantic race to make partners at the firm they both work at. Let’s be honest here – it’s entertaining to read about and Hunter only looks like a douche if Taylor can’t handle it and let’s just say that that punch and kick in the balls proves that Taylor can handle this all on her own.

    After a great start, I found the middle and end to be a little wishy-washy. It’s much of the same in the dialogue department. There’s a lot of Hunter coming onto Taylor and her karate-chopping him away. I was intrigued by their pasts and why they were both have night terrors/nightmares. However, when the actual details of those secrets were revealed, I was a little disappointed in them and felt that it was resolved quite quickly. Another thing I didn’t really like was how one second Hunter or Taylor is having a dark meltdown but then a second later, they are back into that upbeat back-and-forth. I thought it kind of undermined what the author was trying to establish in the scene before by making readers sympathize with the characters. As a result, I didn’t feel the weight of their problems as some others books have made me feel simply because the characters don’t feel so tortured about it a second later. In actuality, they seem perfectly fine.

    That being said, this is where I think Cameron and J.Lynn’s writing style merge. Both authors have a great voice that really makes the narration pop, but in terms of the angst, it’s not too deep that you feel burdened by their problems.

    One last thing…there were a couple of times when I noticed some changes in tenses. One minute it was past tense and then a few sentences later, the narration slipped into present. But since this is an arc copy, I tried to ignore those slip ups.

    I enjoyed MY FAVORITE MISTAKE enough to check out another one of Cameron’s titles, THE DEEPER WE FALL.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Very good

    A story of a bitter girl with a past that no one wants. Her bew roomate ends up being a male. She is attracted to him and litteraly fights him. But he has a tough past too. The two end up saving each other from theur past. You will laugh and love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin and Netgalley.)
    19-year-old Taylor is shocked when it seems that her new roommate for her sophomore year is going to be no other than a boy!!
    Hunter is sexy as hell, and it’s obvious that he likes Taylor, but she has got no intentions of ever having a relationship with him, or even putting up with him as her roommate.

    With accommodation services unhelpful, it looks like Taylor will have to just put up or shut up, but it’s not that easy with Hunter flirting with her all the time.
    Is there any hope for Taylor and Hunter? Will she survive having him as a roommate? And what secret is Taylor hiding that makes her so against any kind of a relationship with a man?


    This was an okay NA contemporary romance, but it just felt really long.

    I can’t say that I really liked Taylor all that much in this book. I thought she was pretty harsh, made mountains out of mole hills, and if anything was a bit aggressive. I totally didn’t get why she had to be so nasty towards Hunter, and I really didn’t get why she kept insisting that she didn’t like him, even when she made it clear that she really did. She called him names, and was really quite vindictive, whilst all the time trying to get him to move out, which I thought was really not very nice of her.

    The storyline in this book was alright, although I did wonder if the university would seriously expect a boy and girl to room together like that. I have a feeling that if they did they would be opening themselves up to possible lawsuits, so I’m not sure how realistic this aspect of the storyline really was.
    It seemed quite obvious that both Hunter and Taylor had issues, but it just felt like it took forever for us to get any answers as to what was going on. For the best part of 80% of the book they just whined and moaned and argued with each other, and it got really old. I really don’t think we needed over 300 pages of their childish arguments and Taylor’s pretending not to even like Hunter, I had the picture well within the first 100 pages, and I really just wanted to know what was going on, and for Taylor and Hunter to actually have some sort of relationship with each other.
    When the sex actually happened it was pretty good, and I was glad that Hunter and Taylor finally admitted their feelings for one another, although Taylor still seemed a bit reserved.
    The ending to the story was okay, it just seemed to take a long time to get there, and the whole thing just felt like it went on for too long.
    Overall; an okay NA contemporary romance, just a bit too long.
    6.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I grabbed this book from NG because of the cover; you know me, I

    I grabbed this book from NG because of the cover; you know me, I'm a proud CoverWhore! The blurb souded great, too, and I remembered a few readers talking about it on Twitter recently. I wasn't expecting to laugh so much, and yet I did--the banter between Hunter and Taylor ("Missy", as he nicknames her) was brilliant, and their scenes sizzled with chemistry and wit. I found many of their banter scenes stuck out the most once I closed the book. From the bedroom scenes (long before they ever, ahem, got together) to the restaurant scene, My Favorite Mistake is such a fun and sexy read!


    Hunter is a hero any reader will fall for--hard. What's not to love about him He's got a secret past, he's "broken", tattooed, funny, sometimes a jerk but also very sweet and charming. He's perfect...by being imperfect.

    *melts* Dear Hunter--If Missy doesn't want you, I do! Love, TBQ


    Ahem, sorry, back to my review.

    Taylor has her own secrets, her own nightmares to battle, and I liked that she was strong enough to pick herself back up after what happened in her past. Yes, she still has problems 8 years later, but she has come a long way. I was curious to find out both Taylor and Hunter's secrets, and when they finally came out, I was shocked--they both went through so much! They deserved a happy ending, and eventually they did get it. They didn't fall straight into love--or into bed--and they both needed time to heal.



    4.5 STARS! Simply put, My Favorite Mistake is a truly amazing book--funny, sexy, sweet and emotional! I didn't want the book to end, and as soon as I finished the last page, I was ready to do a reread! I am putting Cameron's other books on my list and I will be recommending this book to others. In fact, I will be buying myself a copy for my keeper shelf--a sure sign that this is a wonderful book, as I don't buy books too often anymore (so many books, so little time, space, and money....).





    ~ * ~ * ~

    For my full review, including favorite book quotes, please visit my blog, TBQ's Book Palace.

    I received this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    TheBookQueen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Hello

    I think everyone who loves romance and twist and turns that u never saw coming should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    highly recommend

    great book, really liked the love/hate relationship between Taylor and Hunter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Great book

    Really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Really enjoyed this one

    Didn't expect to love this book, but really liked Hunter & enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14