Customer Reviews for

My Fierce Highlander

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    A must read

    I thought that this was a great love story. I cannot wait for the next book to come out. Lachlan is going to be fun to watch fall in love...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Excellent book

    Loved this story and I am getting ready to order the next book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Typical read

    Sometimes, I just want to a read boy meets girl book. There's some unfortunate circumstances present which make it difficult for her to accept his love. It was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Enjoyed reading this book.

    Historic, action, romance. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Great Start To The Series!!! Scottish Highlands, 1618 Gwyneth

    Great Start To The Series!!!


    Scottish Highlands, 1618

    Gwyneth has been sent to the Highlands with her son so she won't bring dishonor to her family. She is out gathering herbs one day when she comes upon the aftermath of a fight between two clans. She finds one man still breathing but unconscious and drags him to safety and nurses his wounds. She finds he is a MacGrath and hides him from the MacIrwins when he just up and disappears one day. She can only hope he's made it safely back to his clan. Laird Alasdair MacGrath is enraged that he and his men were attacked by the very ones he was going to sign a peace treaty with. He tells his clan of the woman who saved him.

    His men are out one day and find a woman and her son running from the MacIrwins and they rescue them and take them to safety, finding that the woman is none other than the lady who saved their Laird. Alasdair takes them in to repay her kindness for helping him. Gwyneth finds herself having to make an awful decision that brings about changes for everyone and with those changes, danger. Will the love she's found be enough to defeat that danger? Pick up the story and dive into something that will leave you forgetting everything until you turn the last page. MY FIERCE HIGHLANDER is full of learning to trust and new found love, clashes with enemies, and adventure. It left me in stitches at times with the banter between these loveable characters and almost to tears a few times too. I'm anxious to read the others in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read

    Vonda Sinclair is a new to me author. I'm always leery of trying new authors out so I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this book. I can honestly say that I liked this book. I liked it enough that I already bought and read the second book in this series. :) The book did start off a bit slow for me and it took me awhile to get into it. The action does start to pick up and things went smoothly from there.

    Alasdair is a fine hero. He protects Gwyneth at every turn either from her clansman or from his fellow clansman. He is instantly attracted to her for her strength but knows that she is a lady and fights his baser instinct. Once he realizes there is no hope of ever getting over her he sets about to thoroughly seduce her and seduce her he did. As for Gwyneth she a bit more complicated. She is torn between her growing feelings for Alasdair and her wish to find a better life for her son away from the Highlands. There were moments that I enjoyed Gwyneth's strength and than she had her moments of blind stupidity that just made me want to smack her at times. LOL!

    As a couple these two fit together and the scenes where they interact is filled with major sexual chemistry. Their story moved at a believable pace and the dialogue kept me reading. I loved the secondary characters in this book. Lachlan, Alasdair's younger brother was such a flirt and a man whore. I couldn't help but love him. Rory, Gwyneth's son was an absolute cutie. Usually kids in books annoy me but I thought Rory's character was well written and added to the storyline. The bad guys were literally bad. Rory's real father, Southwick and the Laird MacIrwin provided the right villainous conflict to keep the story moving nicely.

    Overall I enjoyed this book. I definitely would recommend it for lovers of Highlander stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Who doesn't love a Scottish Highlander?

    [The author sent me a copy of this novel to review for my blog Historical Fiction Obsession.]

    I love reading books that are set in Scotland or Ireland, so My Fierce Highlander by Vonda Sinclair immediately appealed to me, obviously because of its title! When an author takes the beautiful terrain of Scotland, adds a love story, and historical elements I'm happy. My Fierce Highlander started off a little slow for me, and for the first couple of chapters I struggled a little bit to get into the book. However, I liked her descriptions of the terrain of Scotland's Highlands, and the characters were believable enough for me to become involved in their story, and once I was involved in the plot the book was hard to put down.

    To me Gwyneth was definitely a more believable character to me than the main male character, Alasdair. She was a woman in the 1600's who was sensual, but yet sought to hide the sensual side of herself, and felt guilty due to it, because it was not acceptable for her to express herself sexually. It's changed quite a bit since then obviously, but as recently as 60 or so years ago it was still not really considered acceptable for woman. The only reason Alasdair is not as believable for me, is because he seems almost too perfect. His wife had died two years previously and he had yet to remarry or to even enjoy sex. Gwyneth helps to bring him "back to life" in a way. He is the Chieftain of his clan, and I guess I just found it a little unbelievable that he had not remarried in order to have heirs to follow him. In the 1600's it seems like that was one of the main goals of men who were noble or wealthy, and it did not matter whether love came into the equation. Alasdair does gain the reader's sympathy though, because he comes across as such a romantic hero, willing to risk his life for Gwyneth and her son. Gwyneth definitely comes across as the one with faults, and Alasdair occasionally comes across as clingy or needy when expressing his desire to wed Gwyneth. Overall I enjoyed reading the book, and it was a quick, fun read. I definitely recommend it to those that are fans of Historical Romance
    Novels, because I doubt you will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1