Customer Reviews for

My First Five Husbands...and the Ones Who Got Away

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Edge of your seat!

Being a HUGE fan of the Golden Girls, I was very excited to hear about this book and went out and bought it right away. I went to the autograph signing and met her and she was just the sweetest lady. But during the Q & A portion, she mentions that while she loved playin...
Being a HUGE fan of the Golden Girls, I was very excited to hear about this book and went out and bought it right away. I went to the autograph signing and met her and she was just the sweetest lady. But during the Q & A portion, she mentions that while she loved playing Blanche Devereaux on TV, one of the reasons she wrote this book was so that people could get to know the real Rue and not just see her as 'Blanche.' Reading this book does just that: it is a comical, witty take on her life from birth to present day and keeps you at the edge of your seat with her 'don't-leave-me-hanging-like-that!' chapter endings. You feel like you are just hanging out with an old friend you haven't seen in a while and catching up on old times. She tells of her childhood, growing up in OK, her struggles to make it in Hollywood with and without her son, and the many men she 'fell in love with' before she met her true soulmate. It's a very heart-warming, comforting book that makes me no longer see her as 'Blanche' but as Rue McClanahan.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read for all Rue,Blanche,or Golden Fans...

A great read with lots of personal information about the life and loves of Rue McClanahan. There are so many little interesting stories and tid-bit's that grab your attention and keep you reading. This book left me wanting more from Rue. I would love to see an update or...
A great read with lots of personal information about the life and loves of Rue McClanahan. There are so many little interesting stories and tid-bit's that grab your attention and keep you reading. This book left me wanting more from Rue. I would love to see an update or part two of what has happened in her life since she completed this book. Rue is not only an A++++ actress but a skillful writer as well.

posted by Cozeck on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Edge of your seat!

    Being a HUGE fan of the Golden Girls, I was very excited to hear about this book and went out and bought it right away. I went to the autograph signing and met her and she was just the sweetest lady. But during the Q & A portion, she mentions that while she loved playing Blanche Devereaux on TV, one of the reasons she wrote this book was so that people could get to know the real Rue and not just see her as 'Blanche.' Reading this book does just that: it is a comical, witty take on her life from birth to present day and keeps you at the edge of your seat with her 'don't-leave-me-hanging-like-that!' chapter endings. You feel like you are just hanging out with an old friend you haven't seen in a while and catching up on old times. She tells of her childhood, growing up in OK, her struggles to make it in Hollywood with and without her son, and the many men she 'fell in love with' before she met her true soulmate. It's a very heart-warming, comforting book that makes me no longer see her as 'Blanche' but as Rue McClanahan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book for all GOLDEN GIRLS fans

    I laughed I cried and took it in slowly so not to finish in a hurry Rue has lived and struggled and then came the "Golden Girls".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Rue is so funny!

    I have been a fan of the Golden Girls since I was 13 and I was so excited to read about the real Blanche's life. She's a hoot. Rue is not exactly like Blanche, nor is she a 'slut' like the character, but Rue never lacked attention and affection of men. And there's nothing wrong with that. She is a beautiful woman and always has been. She seems like a truly wonderful person, and she has had an eventful life. Love you Rue!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Interesting!

    I just finsished reading this book and would recommend it to anyone that is a fan of Rue or not! This one captured me at the start and kept me until the end. Kudos to Rue and her determination.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    boring!

    what a waste of money. can't get through the first 20 pages.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for all Rue,Blanche,or Golden Fans...

    A great read with lots of personal information about the life and loves of Rue McClanahan. There are so many little interesting stories and tid-bit's that grab your attention and keep you reading. This book left me wanting more from Rue. I would love to see an update or part two of what has happened in her life since she completed this book. Rue is not only an A++++ actress but a skillful writer as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Fun Read

    Quick and fun read if you like Rue & the Golden Girls. Not challenging and not deep...perfect fun though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Recommended

    Great book. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    This book is a MUST read...Delightful!!!!

    Its a delight to give my "take" on this book; I read slowly as not to get finished too quick and have to say goodbye once again to Ms Rue. I laughed, and even cried, but enjoyed the book to the very end. Its so
    refreshing to read an autobiography of someone who can be honest..a bit irreverent..and funny all at the same time. The book gave me insight on
    how Rue/Blanche became one. Loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Not what you'd think

    I read a lot of celebrity autobiographies, mostly because I'm amused at how into themselves they can be. Rue masks her centric-focus, but it still spills forth, especially when her son is having rabie shots and she doesn't run to his side. Really! Overall, a candid look at the celebrity and the famous and not-so-famous people in her life. She tries not to reveal her dislike for certain directors and actors by excusing their behavior, but her dislike is evident. If you like autobiographies that are, if nothing else, honest - this will work for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2