Customer Reviews for

My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper: A Guide to the Less Than Perfect Life

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Funny read! As someone who has no model for how an intact family

Funny read! As someone who has no model for how an intact family should function/operate, this was a great insight into how a working mother manages her household and family and how her marriage almost fell apart and how with hard work it fell back together. I will defi...
Funny read! As someone who has no model for how an intact family should function/operate, this was a great insight into how a working mother manages her household and family and how her marriage almost fell apart and how with hard work it fell back together. I will definitely re-read this book.

posted by c230_ on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Comedy Falls Flat

While I lived Gabby's interview on Chelsea Lately the other night and it prompted me to read her book I expected more. My expectation was a light FUNNY read. This book was neither light nor funny. Her attempts to be funny fall flat and I just ended up feeling sorry for ...
While I lived Gabby's interview on Chelsea Lately the other night and it prompted me to read her book I expected more. My expectation was a light FUNNY read. This book was neither light nor funny. Her attempts to be funny fall flat and I just ended up feeling sorry for her.

posted by 14637123 on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended - a must read for an independent woman with a strong-willed husband

    From the minute I saw Gabrielle Reece on the Today Show promoting this book, I knew I had to read it. Her candor and experience mirrored my own and her book offered a realistic and practical approach to happiness. I've read this book twice so far and can honestly say that it has already made a huge impact on my new marriage. I have always been dominant in past relationships. Independent, strong, and self-sufficient. My husband is the epitome of an alpha male and Gabrielle's relationship with her husband, Laird, offered key insight into the type of partnership I could see creating in my own life. It works. We are both happy. We both have what we need. This book was a big part of clarifying some key issues for me and helping me to make my own decisions on what it is I really want out of my own marriage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I did not know who Gabrielle Reece was when I saw the new title.

    I did not know who Gabrielle Reece was when I saw the new title. I read the synopsis & decided it would be any interesting read. I loved the book, the story and the honesty. I think it was very worthwhile.If you are a fan, you will really love getting to know more about this smart, funny woman, wife and mother, who is much more than an athlete. A
    very enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Over the years, I've read numerous inspirational or what I affec

    Over the years, I've read numerous inspirational or what I affectionately refer to as the "Kick in the Pants, Wake Up Call" books. Without a doubt, Gabrielle Reece's My Foot Is Too Big for the Glass Slipper: A Guide to the Less Than Perfect Life is, by far, one of the best I have read in a very long time. Lets face it. Life isn't perfect. For anyone that thinks it is, you're sadly mistaken. Anything worth having doesn't come easy...you have to work at it.

    One of the things I like about Ms. Reece's style is that she doesn't sugarcoat anything. There's no B.S.; she just tells it like it is. While I am not a mother, I am a busy working woman with a husband whom I have been with for over 25 years (married for 20), along with a multitude of things to manage in my life, including family, friends, obligations, personal projects and, believe it or not, a second career. It's not like I have a whole lot of free time; and yes, I do feel guilty (even though I don't have children) when I have neglected some things, including myself.

    The book provides a refreshing perspective on everything from marriage, children and even our relationships with other women. But the truth is ladies, this is stuff that we should already know but seem to forget when we are living in the midst of our chaotic lives. No one is going to make you happy except for yourself. I found that out a long time ago. Taking responsibility of your own life is knowing that no one is going to charge into your life wearing the cape to rescue you (my husband will get a kick out the cape reference as he is always telling me to remove the cape...more on that later!) and that yes, indeed, you have to stand up and take responsibility to do the things that will make you happy and for those of us that are lucky enough, to make our partners happy.

    But let's be clear here, what works for one may not work for someone else. At the core of Gabby's book is choice. I think that choosing how to make it all work for you is crucial to any relationship. Case in point, my husband does the cooking and shopping; in return, I wash the dishes and do the laundry. This doesn't mean that he does the cooking every night. I sometimes cook and he has been known to wash the dishes. But this is what works for us and that is what Ms. Reece is trying to say.

    Take a moment and read this book. I think you'll find it be one of the best you'll read in a really long time. I recommend that you keep it handy and go back to various chapters as an instant refresher course whenever you need a "kick in the pants, wake up call."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    A great read for all women. Her advice never comes across as ove

    A great read for all women. Her advice never comes across as overbearing, rather as someone simply stating what works for her and her family. Kudos to Gabby for writing a book that isn't afraid to say that men and women are indeed different and that "submitting" to one's husband is a choice a strong woman is free to make. Go Gabby!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great read

    This was a fun book. I read it in one sitting and loved her point of view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Comedy Falls Flat

    While I lived Gabby's interview on Chelsea Lately the other night and it prompted me to read her book I expected more. My expectation was a light FUNNY read. This book was neither light nor funny. Her attempts to be funny fall flat and I just ended up feeling sorry for her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Funny read! As someone who has no model for how an intact family

    Funny read! As someone who has no model for how an intact family should function/operate, this was a great insight into how a working mother manages her household and family and how her marriage almost fell apart and how with hard work it fell back together. I will definitely re-read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Inspiring, real, and helpful

    This is by far the best book I've read in awhile. It's depiction of a working mom's situations is right on but Gabby provides others perspective also so whether male or female, mother or father, single or married...this will relate to you also! Excellent read that I plan to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I'm only half way through this book and I love it immensely.  Ga

    I'm only half way through this book and I love it immensely.  Gabby's no nonsense talk is refreshing.  Her advice is common sense, but yet advice everyone needs to hear sometimes - and with her writing style, you feel you're getting it from a friend.  I can't wait to finish the book - I'm sure I won't be disappointed.  Happy to see she and Laird have made a conscious decision to make their marriage work and that they both appreciate each other for who they are, not for what they want them to be.  Definitely has made me rethink my own relationship and figure out how to embrace the things I love about my spouse and really think hard about the things that don't - are they my issues or his?  In taking the time to look at these things it's helped me let go of old grievances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Could Not Get Passed The Potty Mouth

    Got tired of s--t every few paragraphs, then came the "F" word. It just did not add to her story and got old fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    highly recommended

    Great, very funny quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1