Customer Reviews for

My Friend Flicka

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    a sixth graders reveiw.... yay......

    I've read the book , listened to the audio tape on my i pod, and watched the movie to!!!! very good, very very outstanding!!!!! I've seen the sequel'Thunderhead' I just have to read it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A true classic in every possible way. My Friend Flicka is one o

    A true classic in every possible way.

    My Friend Flicka is one of my favorite works of fiction, not just because of the beautiful horses, but because of Ken. As I grew older and understood the story more, I realized how much I connected with Ken. He is just like me; bored with school, artistic, a dreamer, unfocused and a horse-lover. He is my fictional counterpart.
    As for the novel itself; while it's old and rather dated, it is quite a treat for horse-lovers (and even for those who aren't horse lovers). I must warm you, there is quite a lot of swearing and violence, as this deals with the harsh reality of living on the range. This is along the same league as "National Velvet": a classic horse story that is more adult-like, sort of hard to follow, and barley sugar-coats (if at all) a thing.
    If you want a real pleaser, read this story. It's descriptive and colorful with words, and while it can be hard to understand and seems to "wander off" from time-to-time (as more older books do), it's a real classic you shouldn't pass up. You will find out how life-like the novel is and you may find yourself emphasizing with a character, as did I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    This is a horse lovers dream!

    I love this book! A charming classic, My Friend Flicka will always be in the hearts of horse lovers. I personally love this book, as I am a horse lover. Even people who don't love horses might enjoy this book. (You at least need to admire horses to enjoy it, though.) Mary O'Hara is a wonderful author. I would like to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I love this book.........

    In this book a girl by the name of Kaite is havign truble in life.She cant find her place just like ever teenager in the world she feels like she dosent belong.She was supposed to write a paper school,she had everything in her mind.She just couldnt bring herself to put it on paper.Oh did I mintion that her parents have to pay for her to go to a private school.She knows that she is going to be intruble when she gets him so she tried to keep it to herself.That worked well utill the teachers e-mailed in a report on how she was doin in stead of saying good
    things about her like they normally get fro her teachers they got a very bad report.It said that she had been kicked out for unwillingness to do her work in school.So her mother showes her father wile she was out riding her horses.When she finaly gets back her mother is staning at the dore waiting tapping her foot at her.She knows for that momantshe is in deep truble.Her dad was very angry at her but he told her that everything would be ok that summer she would write her book report and turn it then maybe they will exept her back into school.She said yes sir.She ketp trying and trying to write it down but still yet she could only think of this.To get things off her mind she goes riding again.While her and her horse is out riding her horse all of the sudden starts to go crazy.She didnt know what was going on untill she saw it.It was a wild mountain line.All of the suden a horse came from nowhere,and scared away it away.A wild mustang.They are very dangerous.And that is when she met flicka .....I highly recomind this book to people who like horses they will love this book.It is an odd love story read it and see for yourself...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    A wonderful, whimsical adventure

    My Friend Flicka is a wonderful book about the triumphs and tribulations of taming a difficult horse. Ken learns many lessons from taming Flicka, and Flicka learns to trust people, something her mother never learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    COMMANDING NARRATION OF A CLASSIC

    Although he made his audio book debut just two readings ago, stage, screen and television actor Michael Louis Wells is in full command of the metier with his narration of the classic My Friend Flicka. Many will remember the story as a film with Roddy McDowall, as a TV series or as a current film. Wells is on a par with all of the actors who have undertaken bringing this touching tale to life. The reason for the story's many incarnations is obvious - it is one of our best-loved books and well deserves its place among others that are enjoyed from generation to generation, such as Treasure Island and Mutiny on the Bounty. Pivotal to O'Hara's story is Ken and his seeming laissez faire attitude. Where his mind is his father, Rob, certainly doesn't know. He's a young boy who would much rather just look out a window than study his arithmetic. He should have studied because his report card is so poor that he's doomed to repeat a grade. Rob undoubtedly wonders whether he'll even catch on the second time around. Their home is Wyoming's Goose Bar Ranch and Rob is working hard to make a go of it. He doesn't need a son who seems given to daydreams. Then, along comes Flicka, a beautiful chestnut filly, with a wild streak inherited from her sire. Ken is certain he can tame Flicka, and so begins the unforgettable relationship between a boy and his horse. O'Hara wrote a follow-up to her story, Thunderhead, but it never achieved the popularity of My Friend Flicka, a timeless story to be enjoyed over and over again. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Simply wonderful!

    On the Goose Bar Ranch in Wyoming, between the World Wars, former Army captain Rob McLaughlin and his Eastern blue-blood wife, Nell, are raising two sons and an ever-growing herd of thoroughbred horses. Rob, a stern but loving father, doesn't know what to do with younger son Ken. The boy daydreams constantly, and for that reason just failed to be promoted at his boarding school. Why should Rob give small Ken a colt of his own, as he already has older son Howard, when Ken can't do anything that demonstrates he's responsible enough to be trusted? Yet a colt is what Ken wants more than anything else in the world. Until he finds out what happens to male horses when they're two years old - after which he decides he'd rather have a filly. Not just any filly, though. Flicka, born to the half-wild mare called Rocket. Flicka is faster already than her sire, the ranch's stud horse Banner, and Ken believes he'll be able to train Rocket's 'bad blood' out of the yearling. Rob thinks his son is (to use his word for it) dumb, for a lot of reasons that now include choosing this filly that Rob is sure will turn out to be just as 'loco' as her dam. Untrainable, and downright dangerous to those who try to handle her. This novel is a perfect example of the type of children's classic that, when read by adults, proves to have depths and layers its target audience never perceives. I know I read it as a young girl, and enjoyed it as both a good 'horse story' and coming of age tale. But in reading it again now, I was amazed by the detailed and multi-faceted characters of Rob and Nell. Their love story is one of the most interesting I've read, because the author not only captures the tensions between these two very different people - she also captures the way that raising their children, who are (for better or worse!) a blending of those differences, affects their relationship. No wonder this book is still in print more than 60 years after it was first published. Simply wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    The best book yet!

    This book is excellent. It on;y took me a day to read it because I could NOT put it down lol. It makes u want a colt of ur own! the chacacters are great, the plot is great, the book is great!!! i advise every horse luver to read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Horse Lover!

    hey i'm a 15 year old and i love this book. I read it because i was interested in what kind of a horse mine was named after.... and like the book boy does she have a mind of her own but like ken and flicka, me and my horse Flicka share a bond. This book is great and i incurage everyone to read it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    hello!

    i read this book because when i bought my filly back when she was one.. she had benn named after flicka the horse in the shows and the book... i wanted to know more about this horse so i read the book.. it's a good book i think i cried maybe 2 or 3 times... its about this boy that has always wanted a colt of his own to train.. so his dad gave him a filly hoping it would make him learn some responsibility... and let me tell you this horse is a brat just like my flicka.. what a coincidence! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    An Old Favorite

    A long time ago I read this book when I was like eight or nine and now I'm thirteen and I only just now remembered it but I remember it used to be one of my favorites and I love Flicka what a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    excellent!

    this was an excellent book!i am the biggest horse lover than anyone else and i was just so in love with this book! i mean the characters were great and it really got into how the horses thought of people and how it gave u a real outlook on wild horses on how beautiful they are & it made u care for them even more!this is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Awesome book!

    A very touching book! I could NOT put it down, and it does make you day dream about having a foal/horse of your own... great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    My Friend Flicka

    I REALLY loved this book, it was really touching and i couldn't put it down, a must read book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    One of my best friends

    This book is one of my best friends. It is one of my favorite stories and I'd recomend it to anyone of any age. It will make you daydream about having your own filly one day or take you back to the time when you believed that only you could tame a wild horse. I loved this story so much that I named my own horse Flicka... and wouldn't you know it.. she's got a mind of her own too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    The best book for horse lovers out there

    My Friend Flicka is an outstanding book for all ages .It tells about the good times and the bad times with Flicka. When Flicka was captured Ken's mother and father were'nt sure if Flicka was the right horse for Ken ,but Ken put his heart to it .When they went to go halter break Flicka she was fine but when Ken wanted to ride Flicka she was loco (means not able to ride )Find out if Ken is able to ride Flicka.In My Friend Flicka By Mary O Hara.I enjoyed this book and I know you will to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    a great book

    can't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2000

    A book written with real feeling.

    When I read this book I cried, but I loved it. I couldn't put it down. You get the feeling that this could really happen, what people could really feel, like the bond between a boy and his horse, Flicka.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Tears of joy

    In this wonderful tale of emotion and growing up you will meet a child, Ken, that disappoints his father every time he turns a corner. His young colt Flicka helps him to grow up and face his problems and the facts. His father learns to respect Ken as Ken learns to respect his father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Captivating!

    This is a moving book that will capture the heart of anyone who reads it. It is one of the many good books I have read. It's beautiful setting in Wyoming and captivating characters will delight the mind of readers young and old alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2