Customer Reviews for

My Friend Leonard

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

My Friend Leonard is the sequel to James Frey¿s false memoir, A Million Little Pieces. This is the story of his life out of rehabilitation. Now, he is serving time in jail, and waiting to be released to see his girlfriend. However, when James is released things do not g...
My Friend Leonard is the sequel to James Frey¿s false memoir, A Million Little Pieces. This is the story of his life out of rehabilitation. Now, he is serving time in jail, and waiting to be released to see his girlfriend. However, when James is released things do not go as planned with his girlfriend, Lilly. Lilly, is the girl he met in rehabilitation whom he fell in love with. In rehabilitation, he had also met an old man named Leonard. Leonard and James developed a father-son bond. Since his release from jail, Leonard has been by his side and helped him financially and socially, and providing James with the necessities to live an ideal life. In this book, there is a bigger message then how he deals with alcohol and drugs, it is friendship. If you read between the lines you will realize that the message is that friends will always be friends, no matter what the situation is. In my opinion, this book will appeal to alcohol and or drug abusers as well as people who are amongst them, also anyone else who is appealed to or interested by this subject. The author, James Frey, describes the highs and lows or being sober in a society where people drink every now and then. All the heartaches and thoughts going through his mind make this book much more powerful. Without a doubt, this book is very emotional, yet there is a disadvantage in which the author got carried away with his vivid thoughts which makes it very surreal. There are very few paragraph breaks and no speech marks which reflects a lot of emotion towards the reader and makes it much more effective. Also, this book includes very harsh language, and some violent situations that I do not recommend for children under the age of 13. Because of James's debut book A Million Little Pieces, was a clear success. It caused his sequel My Friend Leonard to be popular among the readers who read his debut book. The interesting thing that the author does and not many do is that he brings some flashbacks from his debut book, which doesn¿t require for readers to read his first book in order to understand and enjoy his second book.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What a piece of $#it sample...

It was 2 freaking pages. I'm not spending 12.99 to read this fraudsters bok.

posted by 11532171 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Great Book!

    My Friend Leonard is the sequel to James Frey¿s false memoir, A Million Little Pieces. This is the story of his life out of rehabilitation. Now, he is serving time in jail, and waiting to be released to see his girlfriend. However, when James is released things do not go as planned with his girlfriend, Lilly. Lilly, is the girl he met in rehabilitation whom he fell in love with. In rehabilitation, he had also met an old man named Leonard. Leonard and James developed a father-son bond. Since his release from jail, Leonard has been by his side and helped him financially and socially, and providing James with the necessities to live an ideal life. In this book, there is a bigger message then how he deals with alcohol and drugs, it is friendship. If you read between the lines you will realize that the message is that friends will always be friends, no matter what the situation is. In my opinion, this book will appeal to alcohol and or drug abusers as well as people who are amongst them, also anyone else who is appealed to or interested by this subject. The author, James Frey, describes the highs and lows or being sober in a society where people drink every now and then. All the heartaches and thoughts going through his mind make this book much more powerful. Without a doubt, this book is very emotional, yet there is a disadvantage in which the author got carried away with his vivid thoughts which makes it very surreal. There are very few paragraph breaks and no speech marks which reflects a lot of emotion towards the reader and makes it much more effective. Also, this book includes very harsh language, and some violent situations that I do not recommend for children under the age of 13. Because of James's debut book A Million Little Pieces, was a clear success. It caused his sequel My Friend Leonard to be popular among the readers who read his debut book. The interesting thing that the author does and not many do is that he brings some flashbacks from his debut book, which doesn¿t require for readers to read his first book in order to understand and enjoy his second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    What a piece of $#it sample...

    It was 2 freaking pages. I'm not spending 12.99 to read this fraudsters bok.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    One of the BEST books around!!

    I read this book in two days.. I LOVE this book and honestly think its one of the best i have read in a long time! I really wish this series would continue on!!! I felt like i was living in the story, true or false it doesnt matter! GREAT READING!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    perfect

    My favorite book, you cant put it down it really touches the heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book if you read it as a fiction

    The book is grea but it bring a great deal of questions about how real it can be. It is too over the top. If you agree that the book is fiction it can be a great thrilling read. Then end is kind of a let down but doesn't ruin the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I (((heart))) this book!

    One word: AMAZING. I loved it. I LOOOOVEEEDDDD IT! Million Little Pieces was great too, but this had such a more positive feeling about it. I laughed, I cried.... I felt good at the end. Whenever I've brought up James Frey to friends and family, the first things that come out of their mouths are..."It was all lies!" But come on - the guy is an amazing writer. Can't say enough praises about this book. One of my most favorites of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    James Frey once again amazes me

    It's definitely a read for those of us who know James Frey's writing style. No periods, commas - really a complete lack of all English grammar rules. It's just thoughts written on pages. And it still seizes to amaze me that he can get away with that and write such great stories. Please read "A Million Little Pieces" first if you can. It's not an absolute, but it helps with background of each of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Just ok

    I liked a million little pieces a lot better, however this was still good enough to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    I have to admit

    When i first began reading this book, i thought it was going to be dreadful. As i continued reading i realized how brilliant it was, to go inside the mind of a drug/alcohol abuser whom became not just a very dufferent form of mobster, but a overall very different person than at the beginning of the book. I praise James Frey, and if it were an option i'd give this book six stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book made me cry, a lot. I reccommend this book it made me feel like i was him. I wish they made another book, to keep on going, by so far this book is the only book i ever finished and also the book "A million little peices". I might even read it over and over. This book was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book. I read a million little pieces first amd lpved it too...dont care what oprah says....my son is an addict now in rehab in fla....hope he comes out as sensitive and caring as james frey did.. i cannot read his books fast enough...cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Another Great Book

    Like it's predecessor, this is a wonderful read. I really like the author's style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    _ Awesome!

    This book is my favorite book ad the second - if not best - book i have ever read.
    You gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    WOW

    This is an amazing, touching, comical, heart warming, book! I absolutely loved it and 'million little pieces', which must be read first. I laughed, cried, couldnt put it down, and want to read it again and again. I couldnt say a negative thing about it. Its honest, and frankly we need more of that in the world. Its about life, love, freindship, loss, and triumph. A must read that i will forever recommend to anyone i meet that enjoys a good read, a great read! It has made me proud if my life and the people in it, and motivated me to make it better and share it with as many people as possible. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    couldn't put it down .. loved it ..

    read "a million little pieces" first and thought it was okay .. good story but morbid .. i read this one out of curiosity .. wanted to see where their friendship ended up after rehab .. i laughed .. i cried .. i loved it .. great book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable.

    Lenard was a pivotal character in A Million Little Pieces, bringing a mix of essential advice, motivation, dependability, and fun. In this sequel, the reader is allowed to continue with James as he battles to make it through his time in prison away from his love Lily as well as the challenges that follow once he's released. As he look to Leonard for support, the intricacies of his one-of-a kind friend begin to surface. Throughout the experience James continues to inspires with his unbreakable will, while Leonard builds up to a shocking revelation. Prepare yourself for the journey, and don't worry, for however difficult it may seem, this duo never loses hope and neither should you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Solid read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Great+book

    One+of+my+all+time+favs.+I+wish+the+story+would+continue.+Loved+it%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Highly Addictive...

    No pun intended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11