Customer Reviews for

My Friend Leonard

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

My Friend Leonard is the sequel to James Frey¿s false memoir, A Million Little Pieces. This is the story of his life out of rehabilitation. Now, he is serving time in jail, and waiting to be released to see his girlfriend. However, when James is released things do not g...
My Friend Leonard is the sequel to James Frey¿s false memoir, A Million Little Pieces. This is the story of his life out of rehabilitation. Now, he is serving time in jail, and waiting to be released to see his girlfriend. However, when James is released things do not go as planned with his girlfriend, Lilly. Lilly, is the girl he met in rehabilitation whom he fell in love with. In rehabilitation, he had also met an old man named Leonard. Leonard and James developed a father-son bond. Since his release from jail, Leonard has been by his side and helped him financially and socially, and providing James with the necessities to live an ideal life. In this book, there is a bigger message then how he deals with alcohol and drugs, it is friendship. If you read between the lines you will realize that the message is that friends will always be friends, no matter what the situation is. In my opinion, this book will appeal to alcohol and or drug abusers as well as people who are amongst them, also anyone else who is appealed to or interested by this subject. The author, James Frey, describes the highs and lows or being sober in a society where people drink every now and then. All the heartaches and thoughts going through his mind make this book much more powerful. Without a doubt, this book is very emotional, yet there is a disadvantage in which the author got carried away with his vivid thoughts which makes it very surreal. There are very few paragraph breaks and no speech marks which reflects a lot of emotion towards the reader and makes it much more effective. Also, this book includes very harsh language, and some violent situations that I do not recommend for children under the age of 13. Because of James's debut book A Million Little Pieces, was a clear success. It caused his sequel My Friend Leonard to be popular among the readers who read his debut book. The interesting thing that the author does and not many do is that he brings some flashbacks from his debut book, which doesn¿t require for readers to read his first book in order to understand and enjoy his second book.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a piece of $#it sample...

It was 2 freaking pages. I'm not spending 12.99 to read this fraudsters bok.

posted by 11532171 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    LOVED IT!!

    Read this book last month. Loved everything about it, there has been some issues about the book being fiction or non fiction but either way i loved it. it will definitely make you cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    '[Life] is what you want it to be'

    This book really went for the jugular. I cried like a baby from reading this. Such a beautiful work of contemporary literature!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    recommended

    I read Million little peices and this one was just as good. I found that I couldn't put it down, I read it in about 4 days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Amazing Book.

    I read A million Little Pieces and thought that it was a great book. I then read My friend Leonard. I liked My friend Leonard better out of the two. In my opinion you should read both books to get the full story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    He did again, another mind blowing book

    The follow up book to a million tiny pieces. O'h the heart ache you'll feel for him and his new life. There are times you want to cry, and times when you go wow didnt see that coming. Just read the book you wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Great Read!

    After reading A Million Little Pieces, I was taken in by James Frey's writing style, one of which would not allow me to put either book down. His descriptive yet witty writing style sold me from the first page. Even though I feel sequels don't compare to their predecessors, in my humble opinion, My Friend Leonard was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book will leave you in tears and will stay with you the rest of your life. An amazing story written in two amazing books. If you've only read A Million Little Pieces you haven't read the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this novel over a year ago, and yet I still vividly remember how profoundly it moved me. James Frey maybe a liar, but I don't care cause he is a lovely storyteller and went straight for my jugular! His prose is eloquent and believeble. He puts his readers in the moment and one really doesn't let go..ever. These characters and their story has stayed with me. this is a good book, but must read A Million Little Pieces before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Wonderful

    This book is great. After reading A Million Little Pieces, and after falling in love with that one as well, was really interested in reading the rest. I was right, this book is so much better. I often think of what would become of Lilly and James if that one incident wouldn't have happened. Any type of reader would enjoy this book, no matter what you're into, it's a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    great book

    This book is a keeper. You will never read a book like it. This book sucks you in once you start you dont want to stop. it is the greatest sequal to any book i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    Most outstanding book!

    I just purchased this book, though i am not finished, what i have read so far is so amazing! i've never read a book like it and it's honestly the best book i've ever read. I am very picky towards books as well, so it's hard to find a real interesting book for me. This book sucks you in and never wants to spit you out! Once you start this book, it's very hard to stop! I love the Author's style!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    It Doesn't Matter

    I read 'A Million Little Pieces' several months ago and had purchased 'My Friend Leonard' shortly afterwards. It is now 1/31/07 and I have finished reading 'My Friend.....' I laughed, cried, and thoroughly enjoyed. I could not care less if it is factual to a tee. Frey was who he was and improved his situation tremendously. It was not easy. This I believe to be fact!! The rest is just a lot of good reading. There is no way anyone could read the two books and not see the growth of James Frey, as a person and as a writer. Thank you, James.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    WOW

    I absolutly love this book.It is very amazing. && teaches some good leasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A Great Book!

    I read this book after AMLP. I had AMLP before all the contraversy went on and I was disappointed to find out some of it was false. But it is still a good book. My Friend Leonard was also a great book, and since we knew some of it was fictional to begin with that didn't come in the way of me enjoying it! Recommend it to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    loves it

    I hate this book because after reading it, I was so sad. That's what made it such an amazing book. Just like A Million Little Pieces, Frey captures your attention and makes it hard for the reader to put the book down. GREAT. Absolutely amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    GO AND BUY THIS BOOK NOW!

    I finished this book the day I purchased it and was absolutely pleased by the way it ended! The entire book from start to finished did not bore me one bit. And the ending just rounded the whole book out! It will make you laugh and cry! Many people who have read it agree with me and they loved it also! A great buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Incredible

    This story was an amazing follow-up to a Million Little Pieces. Frey's style is eloquent, and his story about his friend Leonard whom he met in rehab made me laugh, and cry. I read his books and think whether they are fiction, or non-fiction, memoirs or whatever, Frey is a talented amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Terrific story!

    I really don't care what the media says about this author. I will read anything he writes. I find his writing a close match to the way I think and feel about many of my own life's matters. Frey's repitition and grammar are as refreshing as his passion and whit. Keep on writing and talking, James Frey, and I'll keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Even better

    I am so glad that I found a summer book to read that was really worth reading and I actually enjoyed it!!!!!!! Very good book!!!! I dont care what the media and 'Oprah' say about this author.....he is a good writer. I actually think this is better than 'A million little Pieces'. Its a book you cant put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    a must read

    GOOD LORD this is probably the best book I've read in a long time. It tells a rather heartbreaking story of a gradual relationship between Leonard and James, two recovering coke addicts that met in rehab in James Frey's previous novel, A Million Little Pieces. Leonard teaches James that life can be what you want it to be if you just hold on to whatever you need to hold on to. James begins to understand that life can be enjoyed without drugs and alcohol, but just when he's getting better, things go downhill from there. READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8