Customer Reviews for

My Grandfather's Son: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    '' The Truth Behind the Myth '

    It's obvious now, after reading, My Grandfather's Son, why the Thomas confirmation hearings had a lasting effect on me. I applaud this great man, husband, grandson and father for going the distance. Now, when I read anything about Clarence Thomas, I will do my own editing and unscramble the opinions that get in the way of the truth. What a humbling experience reading this book. I could not put it down for three days, reading it into the early hours of the morning. Please, read this book and know this man and empathize his tough journey that took him to the highest court in our land, the U.S. Supreme Court.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    A book everyone should read!

    The only thing I remember about Clarence Thomas prior to reading his auto biography was the terrible things Anita Hill had to say about him during his confirmation hearings. Upon reading this book I don't know how he managed to keep it together, but I am sure grateful he did.
    I just take pride in being an American because men like him could come from such humble backgrounds and overcome such hardships to become a Suprem Court Justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Poignant,Informative and insightful book!

    I have always admired Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas. His memoir gives the reader insight into his youth, and the grandfather that shaped him into the wonderful and decent human being that he is today. It makes someone who did not grow up in the south or who is not black see another side of life. Justice Thomas seemed to strugle most of his life with inner turmoil. It is a truly fascinating book and I have always wanted to hear his side of the Anita Hill story. I was very suprised when I read that he really never wanted to be a Supreme Court Justice. He endured such pain and sorrow due to his public hearing and tears flowed for this decent human being when reading this chapter. I whole heartedly encourage all to read. You will not be able to put it down...I know I couldn't!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    This is a stunning book!

    I would highly recommend reading this. Clarence Thomas provides a window on his world that is both heart-rending and inspirational. I have the utmost respect for his courage and great compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Survivor of the Good, Bad, and Ugly ... in Life and Politics

    My Grandfather's Son affected me emotionally because it proved to me, once again; one can find fairness, truth, and justice ... in this land, called America. Prevalent among memorable dates in history are the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the murder of President John F. Kennedy, and the slaughter of Dr. Martin Luther King. Also, days that shall live in infamy with me ... are the confirmation hearings of Judge Clarence Thomas. <BR/><BR/>There was a certain irony (as I digress) because I remember thinking: "These should be days of joy, hope, and celebration, for all Americans ... surely this man represents the essence of the ideals promulgated by Sojourner Truth, Harriet Tubman, W.E.B. Dubois, John F. Kennedy, and Martin Luther King. <BR/><BR/>This memoir captures the anguish; Judge Thomas' family and friends had to endure. His sister was among them. Like many others kissed by the sun, she had been a life-long contributor to her party ... only to watch it disparage her brother and call him: Every name but a child of God.<BR/><BR/>I encourage everyone to explore this marvelous memoir. It is well documented, intriguing to read, and covers an important time in our country's history. Purchase it not because the author is an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court ... get it because he is the personification of a grandfather's son, an American hero, and God's child.<BR/>Reginald V. Johnson, Success-Tapes.Com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    More than yu think

    There are many reasons to read this very fine personal utterance. Not only does this inspire respect but understanding the judge's background and the manner of his work ethic makes HIS version of the Anita Hill thing absolutely believable. The critics who said this was whiney were just whining bec they could not find wrong with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Great Read!

    This story was inspiring. I have so much more respect and admiration for this great man knowing what he has achieved in life and having to endure the many hardships to get there. I would love for this story to be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Buy a copy today

    I cried, I laughed, I was angry at times, and I was just plain sad at times. This book was wonderful. Judge Thomas should write more books. He is a great writer. Thanks for sharing a portion of your life, Judge Thomas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    ANNOY A LIBERAL..........WORK HARD AND BE HAPPY!!!!

    I found Clarence Thomas' book 'My Grandfather's Son' to be a fantastic read. Clarence was raised by his grandparents - dirt poor in the deep South in post WWII America. His grandfather was a hardworking, honorable man and he passed these life lessons on to Clarence. During Clarence's early adulthood, he embraced the philosophies of the Democratic Party ..... then he 'smartened-up' and became a Republican! He felt the liberal ideas of the Democratic Party handicapped the black community. Didn't give them the incentive to work hard and make a better life for themselves. The Democratic Party made them too dependent upon the goverment. With Clarence's new Republican status, he achieved success during the Reagan administration with mid-level government positions. The first President Bush nominated him to the Supreme Court and Clarence endured so much hatred and injustice, it's a wonder that he could 'stick it out'. The seminary, Holy Cross, Yale Law School, Supreme Court Justice - truly an example of what hard work and tenacity can bring!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Must Read

    What other's intended for harm, God used for good. For every negative in Justice Thomas life there was a positive. He overcame the negative's, focused on the positives, took initiative and the end result is a man that should be considered a gift to America. Too many people quit, say they can't or expect other's to do it for them. Not Justice Thomas. He is a true American Hero. A man of principle, honest and a representative for all people regardless of age, sex or race. I beleive that he did not become a priest because God knew that we needed him on the court. Thank you Justice Thomas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Thank you for writing this book

    This book is so needed in this climate of me generation and what can you do for me mentality. Justice Thomas' life shows that in this country you can come from poverty and racism and be what you strive to be if you have the passion, perseverance, deligence, and rock solid traditional values. Should be a required reading for all middle schoolers and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    ' my grandfathers son' is one of the most amazing books I have ever read.Justice thomas is a very remarable individuel person. he was very dirt poor and was raised by his grandfather but never forgot the values that he was taught early on and I was truly touched as I was reading this book to see everything that this man had to endure both as a child and rigers of the nominating process but the book has 2 main themes :sticking with your principles no matter what the odds and taking the wisdom that your family taught you to heart . what I apprieate most about this honorable man is he is speaking to students about his life so their lifes can be better. this is truly a great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    An outstanding American

    I am so happy to be in a Country where men like this can excell against all odds. He has set a great example for all legal Americans as to what you can do if you are not lazy. You cannot live in a welfare condition and expect to be fed and taken care of and excell like Justus Thomas. I would consider it an honor to see him in person someday. May God continue to bless this great man!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    REMARKABLE MAN

    The cd is wonderful - judge thomas' story in his own words!! i could not stop listening until i finished the book! eye-opening, enlightening, entertaining, educational i hope everyone finds time to either read or listen to this book! it is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    great thinker

    its a must have book, lots to learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Inspiring

    This book should be required reading for high school students 'as well as read by the average adult'. Instead of sitting around complaining about how bad things are/were, and that the government owed him and should take care of him 'which seems to be the mentality of many people lately', Justice Thomas made something of himself. While the road was long, curvy, and bumpy, he prevailed. His grandfather, who had a 3rd grade education and could not read, is his mentor, and taught him life lessons he's still using today - simple, smart, and poignant. I admire Clarence Thomas greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a most inspiring book. I would like to see it required reading in every high school. What a great lesson this could be for our young students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Great look into the soul of a great man.

    What a great read. Only in America, from such humble beginnings could a person elevate themselves to such a position. Truly an american tail. Thank you Judge for the rare look at the possibilities available in this country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2