Customer Reviews for

My Happy Days in Hollywood

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Mark O. loved it...

    As soon as I saw the book in my local B&N I knew I had to get it. Being a fan of Mr. Marshall's and his work for many years, I just had to read this book. And I knew I would not be disappointed. Full of great stories and anecdotes from his long and illustrious history. It was truly a pleasure getting to know more about this truly wonderful person. I loved reading his story and went through it in two days. A sign of a great read is not wanting to put it down and this memoir definitely was that and more. A great read about a great guy from Da' Bronx
    Loved it!
    Mark Ortiz

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Happy Days of Reading!

    Garry Marshall is first and foremost a writer. His book is a great glimpse into the wonderful career and creations of Garry Marshall, told with the flair of a writer who knows what he is doing. If you have ever enjoyed any of Garry Marshall's shows or films, this is for you. And if you are too young to have enjoyed them the first time around, this will show you the wonderful "Happy Days" that are part of our world still today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    If you grew up watching these shows, this book is a must have! Mr. Marshall gives you the back scoop (without being mean or vicious) on the happenings behind your favorite shows. I couldn't put this book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Fast, interesting read!

    Garry Marshall is quite an interesting person. I really enjoyed this book so much. It's one of those books you don't want to put down until you finish reading it...then you wish there were more to read. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes biography. This is a good one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Behind the scenes in Hollywood (and other places)

    I always thought I liked Garry Marshall's works, from what little I knew about him. Now I like him even more. From Happy Days, to Pretty Woman, to Princess Diaries, he knows how to mix sometimes serious issues with good humor. You will learn how he came up through the ranks in show business to become a comedy writer, an actor, and more importantly a director. You will learn about his friendships and acquaintances, how he overcame an enormous bad investment, and how much friendship and family mean to him. I also like that he tries to make his sets fun, often filled with practical jokes. He tells both the good and the bad in a simple and honest way. He describes how he mediated problems with the actors and crew on the sets. I found this book both interesting and informative. Thanks Garry. You are someone I would have liked to have been friends with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I like yall name trey &sam yall boys

    Text back if yall r

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Very Entertaining and honest

    This book seemed to me to be an honest and amusing account of Garry Marshall's life and times. There were parts that made me laugh out loud and others that I found touching. I would definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Sam

    *Cartwheels thru th door.* .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    great book

    Iliked the bookit was great it keeps you enterrained i hope he writes another one .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Excellent retrospective....hilarious

    Love this book. Very down to earth and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Charli

    Walks in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Trey

    Sam! Got to next res.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    I recommend this book

    If you grew up in the 70's or just enjoy shows like Happy Days and Laverne and Shirley you will like this book. This ,book, written in Garry Marshalls own voice, chronicals his writting, producing and acting credits and is also funny. From the Odd Couple to New Years Eve to movies such as Beaches and The Princess Diaries, he talks about behind the scenes stuff in a positve manner. Very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I loved reading about how Garry's showbiz life began and how my favorite tv shows and movies were put together. I also love his humor and knack for pranks. I'm inspired by his desire to keep working even when he faced major health problems. Basically, I enjoyed reading his story about how a sickly kid made his way from the streets of New York to Hollywood never losing his great attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Great book!

    Fascinating look at behind-the-scenes of television and film. Funny, sincere, humble -- Garry Marshall is an American treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    With Reservations

    Garry Marshall is a very nice man and this is a very nice book. He's gracious to everyone he's worked with and their families. He shares his career and family highlights with a humbleness. I must say that it has always distressed me that he, Julia Roberts and Richard Gere had a blockbuster hit with the storyline of Pretty Women. I just wish there would be some insight into the plight of people on the fringes of society that are exploited by the sex trade. Yes, it the oldest profession-but is it a deplorable existence. Sanitizing the story of those who trade their bodies for food, shelter, drugs and money is horrid. I just hope that they all pull out their checkbooks for those very people that struggle because it isn't pretty and they should have known better.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful book for anyone from the Bronx, who loves Movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    My Mom could not put it down.

    Gave it to my Mom for Mother's Day. She really enjoyed it. She said it was a fun read and not boring like some other autobiography's. It was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2