Customer Reviews for

My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands

Average Rating 4
( 2344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1070)

4 Star

(679)

3 Star

(348)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great Girl's Weekend Grab!

I took this book with me on a girl's trip which involved days of laying in the sun by the pool. I found myself laughing out loud to the point where the rest of the girls wanted in on the fun so we took turns reading chapters out loud to eachother and were in tears laug...
I took this book with me on a girl's trip which involved days of laying in the sun by the pool. I found myself laughing out loud to the point where the rest of the girls wanted in on the fun so we took turns reading chapters out loud to eachother and were in tears laughing. Once you pick up a Chelsea Handler book, you can't put it down.

posted by 1562419 on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I read the reviews on this book and decided to go buy it based on the thought I needed a light read for what has been a stressful few months with my job. I did not find this book funny at all. At no point in my life, have I ever been able to justify demeaning others...
I read the reviews on this book and decided to go buy it based on the thought I needed a light read for what has been a stressful few months with my job. I did not find this book funny at all. At no point in my life, have I ever been able to justify demeaning others simply because I demeaned 'myself.' This careless girl DOES manage to realize at the end she should grow up, but to place a memorial to her stupidity of youth, while making fun of every individual she comes into contact with is shameful. It just is NOT funny to write about STUPIDITY while at the same time completely crossing the path to racism. In a time when we are preaching 'change' this book falls into a very 70's philosophy of sex. It's horrible.

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 118
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read the reviews on this book and decided to go buy it based on the thought I needed a light read for what has been a stressful few months with my job. I did not find this book funny at all. At no point in my life, have I ever been able to justify demeaning others simply because I demeaned 'myself.' This careless girl DOES manage to realize at the end she should grow up, but to place a memorial to her stupidity of youth, while making fun of every individual she comes into contact with is shameful. It just is NOT funny to write about STUPIDITY while at the same time completely crossing the path to racism. In a time when we are preaching 'change' this book falls into a very 70's philosophy of sex. It's horrible.

    34 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Girl's Weekend Grab!

    I took this book with me on a girl's trip which involved days of laying in the sun by the pool. I found myself laughing out loud to the point where the rest of the girls wanted in on the fun so we took turns reading chapters out loud to eachother and were in tears laughing. Once you pick up a Chelsea Handler book, you can't put it down.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I enjoyed this one. Excellent for the hot summer days!

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thanks for the laughs, Chels!

    Much like "Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea," "My Horizontal Life" made me laugh out loud at Chelsea's hilarious anecdotes and ability to tell humorous stories. I read her 2nd book first and her first book second, but it doesn't really matter. Each is a collection of random stories over the course of her lifetime, so there's no particular order that readers have to follow to get terrific enjoyment from Chelsea's miseries. You just have to love reading about sex, alcohol, and mishaps. Oh, and midgets. And an occasional skidmark. Hehehe... I look forward to Chelsea's third book! Keep 'em coming, girl!

    Note to publisher: do you need an editor? I noticed a lot of grammatical typos that were obviously overlooked during the printing of this book. If so, tell me where to send my resume. Thanks!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Racist and Offensive

    This book is meant to be funny, but in fact is racist and offensive. This author seems to believe she is superior to everyone she encounters, despite the sad fact that at the end of the day, she can best be described as a promiscuous, dishonest alcoholic. Her offensive comments are directed against everyone who is not white and is somehow different: African Americans, Latinos, midgets - You name it. After reading this book I promptly threw it in the trash - where it belongs.

    10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Very funny. If you love Chelsea, you must read this book

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    ONE OF THE FUNNIEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ

    I now know more about Chelsea's sex life than I do my own. I read this book for three hours straight, unable to leave Chelsea's witty comments and hilarious adventures and thoughts. This book is definitely a fun, guilty pleasure read and down right fantastic.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The life and times or I should say one-nights stand of one of my favorite comediennes

    From her walking in on her parents, to her desperately trying to hid a dirty pair of panties, to here encounter with a eight-teen year old boy, this book will keep you smiling and laughing form start to finish.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Insincere & Disgusting

    I found this book to be offensive, which I had braced myself for since it was about sex. But it goes beyond that. She also bashes and makes fun of every person she comes into contact with. (While she, on the other hand, is apparently perfect.) I never realized some people's goals in life came down to getting drunk & laid.

    This is supposed to be a memoir, but it's obvious a lot of it isn't true, but just made up to be more amusing. I just don't know who actually finds this funny.

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I love Chelsea, but this book...

    Ok as stated in my title I love, no like seriously LOVE Chelsea, I have had a crush on her since I first saw her. Anyway I read this book in a day, and found the writing top notch, it flowed smoothly and was an easy and comfortable read. However, I was not a huge fan of this book. I am guessing that it may have had something to do with the fact that I am a guy and had a huge crush on Ms. Handler and every story ended in her sleeping with someone that was not me.

    I have since read "Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea" and now suggest both books be read as a group and considered the same book. The combination of the two makes even the most stuck up guy love Chelsea even more than they ever would have known.

    The stories are fantastic. If you live even the most mild of provocitive lives (or have in the past) you will relate to Chelsea. If you are going to read one book or another, if you are a female I suggest this book, if you are a male I suggest her second book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Hysterical

    I think Chelsea Handler is hysterical on her show Chelsea Lately, and this book is no different. It is over the top, crude, and innapropriate in every way. This book is not for the easily offended. I found myself laughing out loud the whole time, and was left wanting more. I definately reccomend this book for an easy read and lighthearted read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious!

    This book is excellent! Chelsea Handlers humor keeps you yearning to turn the next page (even though you have tons of other things you should be doing!). There isn't quite another writer/comedian like Chelsea. She writes what most of us think about, yet she has the Chutzpah to let the world know. I found myself at times laughing out loud, while reading, completely involved in the book, while onlookers stared. It was a perfect blend of raunchy humor one might expect from Chelsea Handler. A great follow-up to her first book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you didn't laugh you have zero sense of humor!

    Maybe I am just an immature 29 year old or maybe I laugh out loud nonstop at this book because it reads like my life, minus the sleeping around; I can relate to partying all night and foolish stories. I consider her show and live stand ups are very comical, but her writing is flat out hilarious. I read this book on the beach and got many stares due to my roaring laughter, and found it funnier than her first book. If you enjoy inane authors like David Sedaris and even Augusten Burroughs then Chelsea is the female version for you. She's crude and offensive but also genuine and warm. Keep writing Chelsea because books like this make me laugh all day, and we need to laugh more in this world!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Had to stifle my laughter!

    I read this book while sitting in a Barnes & Noble and kept getting looks for laughing out loud. Chelsea cracks me up...her writing is hilarious and I can relate to a lot of these stories.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Not very funny :(

    I had expected mire, but it was unfunny and kinda boring. It was a waste of my time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    On the fence with cheksea on this one

    Written and easily read. I read this in one day and probably got less than a handful of laughs by it. I love Handlers show, yet even so I found her sexual escapades very repetitive at best. Some things are funny but i wasnt cracking up like in the show. The first story you read in the sample is by far the funniest in the entirebook. This book is 171PAGES and while i dont regret reading it. I do regret paying 8.87 for it. Hope this helps someone.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Flat out crap

    Just garbage! And i ,ibve her late show

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Boring.

    Could not finish it because it bored me to tears.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Lowlife comedy

    Read only if nothing else is available, Could not get more than half way before looking for something more interesting, Some humorous expressions,

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    If you like funny....

    Hillarious.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 118