Customer Reviews for

My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands

Average Rating 4
( 2344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1070)

4 Star

(679)

3 Star

(348)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great Girl's Weekend Grab!

I took this book with me on a girl's trip which involved days of laying in the sun by the pool. I found myself laughing out loud to the point where the rest of the girls wanted in on the fun so we took turns reading chapters out loud to eachother and were in tears laug...
I took this book with me on a girl's trip which involved days of laying in the sun by the pool. I found myself laughing out loud to the point where the rest of the girls wanted in on the fun so we took turns reading chapters out loud to eachother and were in tears laughing. Once you pick up a Chelsea Handler book, you can't put it down.

posted by 1562419 on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I read the reviews on this book and decided to go buy it based on the thought I needed a light read for what has been a stressful few months with my job. I did not find this book funny at all. At no point in my life, have I ever been able to justify demeaning others...
I read the reviews on this book and decided to go buy it based on the thought I needed a light read for what has been a stressful few months with my job. I did not find this book funny at all. At no point in my life, have I ever been able to justify demeaning others simply because I demeaned 'myself.' This careless girl DOES manage to realize at the end she should grow up, but to place a memorial to her stupidity of youth, while making fun of every individual she comes into contact with is shameful. It just is NOT funny to write about STUPIDITY while at the same time completely crossing the path to racism. In a time when we are preaching 'change' this book falls into a very 70's philosophy of sex. It's horrible.

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I love Chelsea, but this book...

    Ok as stated in my title I love, no like seriously LOVE Chelsea, I have had a crush on her since I first saw her. Anyway I read this book in a day, and found the writing top notch, it flowed smoothly and was an easy and comfortable read. However, I was not a huge fan of this book. I am guessing that it may have had something to do with the fact that I am a guy and had a huge crush on Ms. Handler and every story ended in her sleeping with someone that was not me.

    I have since read "Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea" and now suggest both books be read as a group and considered the same book. The combination of the two makes even the most stuck up guy love Chelsea even more than they ever would have known.

    The stories are fantastic. If you live even the most mild of provocitive lives (or have in the past) you will relate to Chelsea. If you are going to read one book or another, if you are a female I suggest this book, if you are a male I suggest her second book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Ok

    There were a few highlights, and easy to read, but nothing memorable in the story telling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Amusing!

    This book won't change your life or bring meaning to country music. but, it will amuse and entertain you. Wonderfully candid and uniquely raunchy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    had me rolling

    By the end it wasnt so great. But her stories had me rolling and litterly LOL its worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Short Stories for a quick Laugh

    This was my go to book for a few months when I was really busy doing other things. I could read a section of it, laugh and put it down. It never consumed my life for several days like some books to but it worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Tnreader

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Holla Chelsea

    She is hilarious, vulgar and inappropriate. Everything i look for in a friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    laugh-out-loud funny

    normally, i'm not one for guffawing and carrying on, but this book is a great laugh (and quite the page-turner). chelsea's stories are irreverent, bordering on gross at times, but always entertaining. sometimes i just need a little crass humor to make it through the day. so sue me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Funny, but too short!

    The book was good, but I got through it in about 2 hours on the beach. I like the short vignettes on her life as a single woman having a great time. Great beach read, but way too short. Very funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Its ok

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Made me Laugh

    This was a great book if you want to read stories and think that's hilarious and thank God that wasn't me.
    Stories don't have a great transition into each other. More of a compilation of stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Funny!

    Easy read that made me laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Silly Good Read

    She kept me interested and I was never bored. I came close to laughing out loud and was pleased with the ending. From a girl who is the complete opposite of Beulah...er I mean Chelsea, I learned a lot about that other side of the train tracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Entertaining

    Funny. Keeps you interested for most of the chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Recommended only if you are trying to understand

    The 1990s meaning of "Jewish American Princess". All of the best and worst of the jokes are liberally applied in this writeup by a comedienne who cannot really be as she describes herself.
    If you like "Jersey Shore" with "Housewives of New York" and "Housewives of Orange County" as a standard of behavior, then you will probably like this.

    If you are easily shocked, you won't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    This book had me laughing with every chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Decent

    Comical+read.+Love+chelsea+but+nothing+special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    An entertaining and quick read

    This is a good book for someone looking for a funny quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Funny

    It is exactly as the description says- Chelsea Handler's sex life! It is a quick and funny read and I enjoyed it. Although I'm not a huge fan of her show or stand up, it definitely pushed me to look into her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 348 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18