Customer Reviews for

My Immortal (Seven Deadly Sins Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mesmerizing

I've read previous Erin McCarthy books and this story surprised me. It had a dark twist which her other books did not. I must say it did capture my attention. Perhaps some folks prefer the characters to be perfect in every way but once in awhile I don't mind reality, th...
I've read previous Erin McCarthy books and this story surprised me. It had a dark twist which her other books did not. I must say it did capture my attention. Perhaps some folks prefer the characters to be perfect in every way but once in awhile I don't mind reality, the character who is truly flawed. None of us are free of sin and Damien is a reminder of how being young and rich doesn't make you smart, considerate or mature. He was twenty four when married, used to getting his way and thrown to marry a woman equally young and immature. He didn't know or love Marie in the beginning but knew his obligation. There actually were two stories being told, Damien's life before being a demon and after thru his agonized memories and thru Marie's heart wrenching letters. I truly believe a person can have alot to contemplate in their lives over two hundred years and Marley showing up when she did was perfect timing when Damien was feeling his loneliest and vulnerable. The same could be said of Marley. She was selfless to his selfishness. Opposites do attract and I can't help but wonder if Marley was a present day Marie and the reason she captured Damien's attention unbeknownst to him. I am an advocate of second chances and any repentive soul deserves forgiveness including a demon.

posted by Maggie7 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Makes you catch your breath

I really didn't know what to expect with this book but was actually good to read. The book is sexy and explicit in some parts (makes you look around your shoulder to make sure no one is around, and keep your breath even and steady). I love Erin McCarthy and I purchased ...
I really didn't know what to expect with this book but was actually good to read. The book is sexy and explicit in some parts (makes you look around your shoulder to make sure no one is around, and keep your breath even and steady). I love Erin McCarthy and I purchased this book to begin the "Seven Deadly Sins" series. After reading this first one I will definitely read the other books.

It is a different kind of supernatural than vampires and werewolves and all that stuff- so that is refreshing.

The feeling you have when reading the "confession letters" makes it different from other books, because it is someone telling a story within a story. It is touching and those letters scattered throughout the book make you want to read the next letter. The story of Marie keeps you wanting to know what happened to her and Damien.

posted by SelenaVL on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mesmerizing

    I've read previous Erin McCarthy books and this story surprised me. It had a dark twist which her other books did not. I must say it did capture my attention. Perhaps some folks prefer the characters to be perfect in every way but once in awhile I don't mind reality, the character who is truly flawed. None of us are free of sin and Damien is a reminder of how being young and rich doesn't make you smart, considerate or mature. He was twenty four when married, used to getting his way and thrown to marry a woman equally young and immature. He didn't know or love Marie in the beginning but knew his obligation. There actually were two stories being told, Damien's life before being a demon and after thru his agonized memories and thru Marie's heart wrenching letters. I truly believe a person can have alot to contemplate in their lives over two hundred years and Marley showing up when she did was perfect timing when Damien was feeling his loneliest and vulnerable. The same could be said of Marley. She was selfless to his selfishness. Opposites do attract and I can't help but wonder if Marley was a present day Marie and the reason she captured Damien's attention unbeknownst to him. I am an advocate of second chances and any repentive soul deserves forgiveness including a demon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Sexy read

    Loved it, couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    Makes you catch your breath

    I really didn't know what to expect with this book but was actually good to read. The book is sexy and explicit in some parts (makes you look around your shoulder to make sure no one is around, and keep your breath even and steady). I love Erin McCarthy and I purchased this book to begin the "Seven Deadly Sins" series. After reading this first one I will definitely read the other books.

    It is a different kind of supernatural than vampires and werewolves and all that stuff- so that is refreshing.

    The feeling you have when reading the "confession letters" makes it different from other books, because it is someone telling a story within a story. It is touching and those letters scattered throughout the book make you want to read the next letter. The story of Marie keeps you wanting to know what happened to her and Damien.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A well written paranormal romance

    In 1790 in River Road, Louisiana, wicked plantation owner Damien du Bourg makes a devil¿s bargain with a fallen angel in exchange for his loyalty, he receives immortal life. Two centuries later, he still lives while bringing converts to his master by spreading lust to anyone who comes in contact with him.================== Marley Turner knows her sister vanished somewhere near New Orleans. When she finds Damien's plantation, she is shocked by the lewd decadence of the place. Yet she also sees inside the heart to the soul of the owner to his agonized vulnerability. To his shock, for the first in two hundred plus years of life, Damien wants a woman. However, besides his owner, Damien knows his two plus centuries of sins makes him unworthy of the angelic woman he loves.==================== Though a well written paranormal romance, MY IMMORTAL goes much deeper as Damien believes he is unworthy although he risks his existence for what he assumes is his only redemption, keeping his beloved safe especially from the owner of his soul. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action as the audience anticipates the confrontation with Damien being pulled by good and evil. His muses on responsibility and accountably for one¿s actions and paying the price for one¿s deeds with real sacrifice is a stark contrast to the neo DC of reaping the benefits while someone else is BLED DRY. Erin McCarthy provides a thought provoking fabulous supernatural romance.=============== Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Not yet: a poem

    We dated. We huged. You broke my heart<p> A month later, i asked you out. Hesitation didnt exist when you said no. <p> you looked scared, like i had a knife.<p>Thats what broke my heart....again. (breaking up was the first.)<p> My friends say my heart was frozen all over again. That you made me silent once more. And its true.<p> but whats also true is that i still love you. And i mean it like that. So you want me to get over you? Heres my answer:<p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    ok

    Typical urban paranormal romance not very original. Typical insecure, lonely, naive heroine who resists the hero a little due to insecurity shaking his whole world. He gets crazy possessive they fall in love after a day then into bed. Shallow lust story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Recommend

    Good read. I am looking forward to reading more of this series. Recommend Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Good read.

    Just didn't hook me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Fantastic

    A fantastic book with great characterization and a great plot. I always enjoy Erin McCarthy's books and this one will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Love It Cant put it Down!

    Love the setting of the this book! If you have never been Louisianans Plantation Road it is a must. I have been to the Plantations many times and love them This Plantation sounds like a mixture of Laura's Plantation and Oak Ally. Which is a Perfect combo for our Marley and Damien Du Bourg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Excellent quick read!!!

    Sexy and sinful!!! I loved every moment of it!! It had me from the very beginning and never dulled in the least bit. Great quick read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    fun and quick read

    Easy and quick read. Bought because I enjoyed her other books so much...ended up really liking this one too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    Good girl finishes ahead

    I am used to Erin's Vegas novels and thought I would give these a shot. The premise of a corrupt man get his is a good one. I also like that the protagnist is portrayed with an unswerving sense of who she is from start to finish. She doesn't sell out. The romance that emerges between the two is touching. She makes him better and he allows her to know herself better. It was sexier than I expected, but tastefully so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Erin McCarthy pens a deeply sensual and dark tale in My Immortal. ___________ Marley Turner has always looked after her younger sister Lizzie. When her sister goes missing. Marley goes to New Orleans since that was the last place her sister talked about in her email. Marley heads to the plantation of Damien Du Bourg, Rosa De Montana is know for its wild no hold bare parties. ___________ Damien Du Bourg's bargain for immortality after 200 years has worn thin. Meeting Marley is making him yearn for something more then just throwing those parties. Damien agrees to help Marley find her sister but it comes at a price. He is intrigued by Marley's reaction to the sensual parties at his home. ______________ Marley is drawn to the turmoil she sees in Damien's eyes. As they grow closed and she comes to realize there is more to this man then she knows. __________ My Immortal is different from Erin McCarthy's previous work. It's haunting, sensual and moving. You are drawn into Damien's world and threw letters from the past, you come to know how he ended up the man he is today. This book will stay with you for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Interesting but not fulfilling

    While the background story proved interesting I don't believe McCarthy managed to balance the erotic and the romantic here. The story had interesting elements but didn't mesh to create a rounded and balanced plot that drew me in or convinced me was likely. Much of the sexuality in the novel is there to be there it doesn't do much to set a mood. In fact, the reason for the sex parties was poorly established as was the heroes original behavior. There was little connection between who he was and who he became later. They were two different characters altogether and the dramatic transformation of one into another is ill explained or rather, the explanation does not suffice given the dramatic contrasts in character. lso a problem is the lack of chemistry between the two characters. They weren't a great pairing. Their relationship just seemed unlikely and lacked depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Romantic Excellence

    When Marley Turner¿s sister Lizzie disappears in New Orleans, leaving a vague message that she¿s recently been to an adult party at the home of Damien du Bourg, Marley begins her search for her sister at his property. Marley finds Damien very distracting, very seductive, and very dangerous a combination that has her instantly wary, but when Damien generously offers to assist in her search, she has no choice but to graciously accept. Damien¿s first course of action is to have another adult party, where anything and everything ¿ anywhere ¿ goes, but he forbids Marley from attending. Marley, in her desperation to find her sister, sneaks in anyway, witnessing sexual deviancy that she never could have imagined. Surprisingly, she also found herself undeniably aroused. When Marley and Damien begin a romantic relationship, she soon discovers that he has been living under a curse since the eighteenth century, a story so incredulous that she can barely get her mind around it.****** Damien has been cursed to inspire pleasure to those around him, and as miserable as he has been through the years, he has never regretted it as much as after he meets Marley and finds himself actually picturing what a future with her could be. She is everything a man could possibly want in a woman, beautiful, kind and considerate, passionately sensual simply too sweet to be true. He regrets that he can only dream of being with her, and once she finds out the truth about the curse, he knows their relationship is doomed.******* MY IMMORTAL is one of those books that stay with you long after you finish. I didn¿t start another book for about three days after finishing, while absorbing and thinking about the beautiful story. It is darkly erotic, sizzling with steamy sensuality, and visits into the past by way of a packet of letters provide insight to the man Damien was so many years before. Erin McCarthy has written a brilliant story with MY IMMORTAL, and while Damien¿s curse is certainly cruel, the story wrapped around it is irresistibly sinful and arousing.******* I can easily recommend this book to all romance readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2