Customer Reviews for

My Immortal Assassin (My Immortal Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worlds collide, hearts are won over and love dances onto the pages

    Anna Grayson Spencer saw life in a certain manner until someone she loved died and willed his magic to her. Gray went from human to magekind and needed someone to help her learn how to deal with this new found life. The man for the job is Durian a warlord's assassin set up to help Gray not only by helping her embrace the magic but learn to use it against the forces of evil trying to kill off the human race but first she has to swear fealty to him - seriously?

    Gray has lost so much in her life and walked away from her family burying secrets about herself so deep even she forgot about them, but Durian is going to open and heal those wounds and keep her safe especially from herself.

    The more time Gray spends with Durian the more drawn she is to him and realizes that he is the missing piece she has been searching for. Their voyage involves fighting the darker side but even that moves them closer together as their two souls become one.

    What an engaging story and such wonderful characters that keep the excitement moving from page to page you will not want this book to end. The storyline is easy to follow and well laid out which for some is a challenge with this genre. A great author knows how to tell a story everyone can follow and Ms. Jewel has done just that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    another winner

    great ending for durain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love Jewel's Paranormal World

    When not writing, award-winning author Carolyn Jewel is a Database Administrator. Other titles under historical romances include: Indiscreet, Scandal, The Spare, Lord Ruin, Passion's Song and Stolen Love. Other titles under paranormal romance include: A Darker Crimson, My Wicked Enemy, My Forbidden Desire, and My Dangerous Pleasure (coming June 2011). Carolyn resides in northern California with her son, three cats, a border collie, several chickens, and some sheep.

    Anna "Gray" Spencer is determined to destroy the mage who ruined her life. But when her first attempt fails, Gray is now forced to seek help from a feared demon and trained assassin, Durian. Her new magic is barely under control, and she has not adjusted to being thrown from the human world into the demon realm. But she'll do whatever it takes to seek revenge on Christophe dit Menart, even if it means surrendering to a fiend whose very presence screams sex. Except Durian is sworn to protect all mages, and failing means upsetting the peace among humans, demons, and mages. He agrees to help Gray if she submits to his control. As Gray's powers intensify, so does the hunger between them. But the dark mage has secrets about Gray's past, and when he makes a play for her, Gray and Durian must become one or Christophe will end them both.

    I thoroughly enjoyed one of the other books in this series, My Forbidden Desire, when I reviewed it, and I was very much looking forward to this one. Though part of a series, these books are stand alone. The author also has a glossary of sorts on all the terminology used to define her world.

    I wasn't let down by this book. This whole series has a wicked, captivating punch to it. Not only are we escaping to a paranormal world, but the human emotions and backgrounds add a seriously powerful undertone of sadness. It makes the books hard to put down. Paranormal is difficult to write, and I have to bow down to any author able to make the unimaginable seem real. The secondary characters, both from previous books and upcoming releases, really added nicely to the storyline. Most impressive was the heroine, Gray, who was not the usual bad ass, beautiful woman we tend to see. Her flaws and insecurities made me root for her. Highly recommended.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    As soon as I finished this book, I wanted to go back and read the other two. I really enjoyed My Immortal Assassin and pictured myself as the heroine. I do that a lot:) I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book and I can't wait to see what else Carolyn comes up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    PARANORMAL ROMANCE WITH MAGIC,DEMONS,HUMANS AND LOVE!

    MY IMMORTAL ASSASSIN by Carolyn Jewel is a paranormal romance present day San Francisco,California.It is the third in "My Immortal Series"( #1 My Wicked Enemy, #2 My Forbidden Desire),but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with an engaging storyline,that is easy to follow.The characters are engaging,easy to follow and will have you wanting more.It has love, romance,magic,demons,witches,sensuality,dark evil, secrets,humans,revenge,assassin,fighting for peace between the paranormal world and humans. The hero,Durian,is an assassin for the warlord Nikodemus,sexy(superhuman sexy),sworn to protect all mages,was once a mage slave,and will train Gray to master her new gift if she will bind herself to him.The heroine,Grayson(Anna) is beautiful,sexy,was human,made into a mage,kidnapped by the evil mage warlord,Christophe,to have his children,and be his slave.She escapes with some of the evil mage, Christophe's, magic and her own new found magic. Together,Gray and Durian fight the evil mage,are attracted to each other,open themselves up to love, passion, fight to stay alive and join their bodies,mind and souls as one. This is a fast paced,action packed story with suspense,underworld drama,survival and love. If you enjoy paranormal full of magic,evil,demons and a fight for survival between mages,demons, and humans you will enjoy this one,also.Coming in June 2011 from Grand Central Publishing Book 4 in My Immortal Series "My Dangerous Pleasure".This book was received for the purpose of review from Galley books and details can be found at Forever,an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow-this urban romanc fantasy is great

    In San Francisco, thanks to Tigran the fiend, Grayson Spencer escapes from the captivity of the malevolent human mage Christophe dit Menart. Durian, a former mageheld fiend, works for Nikodemus the warlord as an assassin and protector of mages including Christophe. When he finds the hiding Gray, Durian is shocked with what she is.She is an enigmatic with duel magic "inherited" from a fiend and from Christophe. ---------------

    Durian offers Gray a deal that she considers carefully as she trusts no one. He will train her on the use of her newly acquired magic, but she must pledge her loyalty to him. Gray has one personal vow she plans to adhere to; killing Christophe, but if she succeeds she will destroy the already shaky peace that her liege is struggling to maintain.-------

    The latest "My" mage and fiend romantic urban fantasy (see My Wicked Enemy and My Forbidden Desire) is a terrific thriller as love wars with duty and avarice; and not just for the lead couple. Fast-paced from the moment Gray and Durian meet on the streets of San Francisco, fans will wonder whether love truly conquers all or the thirst for power will prove much more powerful.--------------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2