Customer Reviews for

My Invisible Boyfriend

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Great

    I completely loved this book, the writing was fantastic and the characters were intriguing. its a book that's worth buying.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Invisible Boyfriend Shines

    I had certain ideas of what this book would be like at first and now that I am through the book I can say that it was nothing like I expected. The main character Hedi is a very likeable girl who is trying to fit into the boarding school she is thrown into, not becuse she is a bad student, but because her parents work there. You quickly see that she not hated, but she isnt invited to any cool parties either. She sits on the fringe, but gets to see everything that happens.
    But that changes when she makes up an imaginary boyfriend(Ed) and creates him in the virtual world of internet chats and emails. Turns out, her friends are growing more and more attached to the virtual Ed than Heidi realizes.
    The funniest secnes are in The Litte Leaf, the cafe she helps waitress, and the drama club putting on a new version of Twelfth Night, but making it in the 80's.
    Overall, the book is really good and the ending seems too quick to me, but its satisfying and really makes you wish for another book to continue the story of Heidi.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    After a whole summer away from her friends, Heidi is thrilled for the start of the term and the chance to be one of the gang again.

    But before she can say "frog girl" Fili has found the only other Goth at the Finch, Ludo is snogging a guy with piercings and peroxide blonde hair. Big Dai isn't even big anymore. After a summer of intensive training he's downright svelte. And dating Henry Kim.

    Heidi is exactly the same except for her awesome, slightly dodgy looking, new trench coat. It's kind of quirky and it looks exactly like something Mycroft Christie* would wear on Mycroft Christie Investigates while running about with the dashing Jori Song.

    Heidi is fifteen. She isn't very dashing. She didn't have an exciting, transformative summer. She spent the summer working at The Little Leaf with her crazy boss while admiring her boss' beautiful son Teddy from afar. Heidi is very single.

    When Ludo assumes Heidi's coat is from a boyfriend instead of the rubbish bin things start spinning out of control. Before Heidi can say OHM EYE GOD the assumption has become a rumor which has run off and become fact.**

    Which leaves Heidi two options: Fess up and admit she's the same, boring Heidi and say goodbye to her friends. Or she can make a boyfriend who is conveniently far away and solve all her problems.

    Well, honestly, what would you do?

    It's not like a whole imaginary person can create that many problems. That is, until he does in My Invisible Boyfriend (2010) by Susie Day.

    My Invisible Boyfriend is a comedy of errors in the truest sense of the phrase, which is actually appropriate since one of the big plot elements is Heidi's involvement in a school production of Twelfth Night: The Musical (set in the 1980s). Over the course of the story Heidi's made up boyfriend learns secrets, solves problems, and starts talking back to Heidi.

    This is a funny book that moves really fast. Heidi is almost as adorable as the dashing Mycroft Christie she talks with in her head throughout the story. The other characters, sadly, are less compelling as they verge into one dimension with their EMPHATIC (and capitalized) talking or seemingly random jealousies.

    Day blends a lot of fun elements together in a recipe for humor if not for the most well-developed plot. The fun premise suffers in the last quarter of the novel as Heidi almost literally flails trying to find out who knows her secret (and has started emailing her as "a real boy") in all the wrong places. The plot is very true to traditional Shakespearean comedies but sadly lacking the voice of a wise fool to balance all the crazy and and a touch more depth to the characters.

    *Mycroft is a made up character on a made up show (that I sooooooooo wish was real, even with the Horrible Beard and awful dead wife). As far as I can tell he is a cross between The Doctor, Captain Jack Harkness, and Sherlock from the new 21st Century remake. (Am I showing my geek cards by mentioning this?) Mycroft might have been my favorite character in this whole zany story.

    **This sounds totally improbable as a premise except . . . it actually happened to me once. I have this boxy jacket that used to be fitted. But then I lost some weight and it was too big. And one day a woman at work saw me with it on and asked if it was my boyfriend's. Being an idiot, I said yes before I understood the question. Of course I didn't even have a boyfriend at the time. Not even a made up one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    I love this book!

    This was probably my favorite YA rom-com of last year. Totally charming and funny. Just good clean fun, with plenty of quirkiness to keep it interesting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A gift gone right

    I got this boik as a gift and i loved bit!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Bad

    really bad book i coyld barely get passes the first chapter i rwally couldnt finish it and al that gay british humo isnt fnnty

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Happy

    I have invisable boyfriends too so i relate to this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1