Customer Reviews for

My Life

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Inspiring

    I didn't know what to expect when I first began to listen to this book. At the end I realized just how much I didn't know and wished I had about President Clinton. His life is proof that you can make of your life whatever you wish. He shows that making mistakes, even for someone in the public eye, doesn't make you unforgivable - it makes us human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great! Read over and over

    Wonderful read! He is human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Truly great read!

    You can't put this book down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating! You won't want to put the book down!

    This book was a wonderful read. The book is a little long but well worth it. It will give you a good idea why he believes in the polices that he does or a glance into his and Hillary's personal life. The part of this book that stood out to me, that shows why he believes in the polices that he does is the story of his grandfathers grocery store. His grandfather would black out the receipts of the customers who couldn't pay because his grandfather believed that if you're trying to feed your family and can't afford to, you need a break. Bill went on to say this is why he believed in food stamps. But what I think is the crux of the book is when he was elected to governor. A man who was on PCP had gotten a railroad tie and knocked down the door to the governors mansion. It took 3 very large secret service members to seduce the crazed man. I love this book and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good read. There were a few parts of the book weren't that well written. A good chunk of the book is filler. They are very bland and boring parts that are just there to fill the book. There are parts of the book that are just back and forth between him and someone he knows. This I a very well written and interesting book that gives a glimpse into this political and private life. If you liked this book you would also like the book written by his wife Hillary Clinton or our current president Barack Obama's book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    A Life Not Yet Over

    My Life by Bill Clinton (957 pages) is immensely enjoyable - it would have been a great read even if it wasn't written by a former President of the United States. Besides the glimpses it offers into the Presidency and Mr Clinton's private life, it offers a guide for success: Start early, stay committed, rise above yourself and your circumstances, and persevere. The book is lucid, well written, and instructive. Mr Clinton, for example, discusses some of the people and lists several of the books that have been influential in his life, including Red Star Over China (Edgar Snow) and You Can't Go Home Again (Thomas Wolfe). He also serves to remind us that life consists of both successes and failures. For the former President, a balanced federal budget is a particularly relevant success story given the current climate of economic uncertainty, while the failure to broker successful negotiations between the Israelis and Palestinians continues to breed instability and human suffering. My Life is a gold mine of political ideas and personal lessons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    president clinton tells all from the day he was born to his final day in the white house.

    former president bill clinton tells a true american story. he reveals a side of himself that was closed off to the public his entire eight years in office. he tells his story with enthusiasm and his own unforgetable charm. he leaves nothing unsaid in his journey coming from a middle class family in hope, arkansas to being presidant of the united states.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    One of my favorite president

    A really good read this is how a book should be done





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Love

    <3 this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great

    Like it storm cloud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Mosstar

    I lov it. Wher will the next chapter b?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Spikes room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Bill clinton my life

    Loved review January 11, 2006 exactly how I feel about that president of ours! What a fraud he is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    ?...................~|¿¿the warrior newspaper¿¿|~

    ?....................................some clans.................................................. a new clan tha been trying to be stable. Poolclan. This clan led by PoolStar has been trying to get ative cats to join. More infonation will be held at pool flame join only if you haveno powers and your active.... a old clan that i found active. HorseClan. Led by BraveStar it has been through think and thin. Join at burning woods

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great book by a great man.

    I loved reading this great book, it told me a lot about the man, i loved it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    great read for all

    i would recommend this book to anyone. its a really enjoyable book that will keep you wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    My Life by Bill Clinton

    When faced with impeachment after Monica rumor became The Story, President Clinton, to whom ambiguity was never part of his nature, took the worst situation to mean retreat from Office, which would not have relieved his soul. <BR/>This autobiography is informative and tender in every corner. At times the ex-President aggravated his bitterness and despair; not a pleasing prospect for a vigorous man with an appetite for distinction. His excessive passions, one for his wife and the other for his daughter, at the end of the day had caused Miss Lewinski and partners to be removed from the White House. I believe the young lady was also a victim of irrational exuberance (Excuse me Mr. Greenspan) <BR/>At times there is always some sort of melancholy demeanor than can grow daily more somber in high offices. President Clinton is telling us he could not possibly have been entirely impervious to the mounting evidence against him, such signs were motivated by political reasons from rival factions with nefarious ends - to hurt the Democrats from within. <BR/><BR/>Clinton, once known for his vivacity, was now showing the strain of the shameful events. <BR/><BR/>Clinton, the deep-rooted optimist who found it temperamentally difficult to resign from trouble, has had his face already sagging with worry as daily attacks compounded his sense of doom... <BR/><BR/>At 55 he left office with a 65% approval rating. (One of the highest after WWII) <BR/>However, the charismatic President looked a narrow-chest man with the face of a person much older in age. That did not at all resemble him nine years ago when he took that Office.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Great Book

    This is an outstanding book and was beatifully written by Bill. He tells us many great stories about his childhood and the ups and downs of his presidency. If you liked Bill as much as I did you will definatly enjoy this book. I think he has done many of great things for his country and he tells you all about it here. And also the downs of his presidency were the mistakes being made like the affair with Monica and whitewater. But everybody makes mistakes and I'm not like the hypocrite republicans and is concerned about his personal life. This was an enteresting and exciting book and like I said if you like Bill you will enjoy this really fine read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    An Interesting Book About a Special Time

    Back in 1992, I did not vote for President Clinton, being a conservative Republican. However, the 1990s were a very special time, with massive budget shortfalls being turned into surpluses as far as the eye can see, welfare programs being modified to encourage work, peace arising among nations, and unmatched economic prosperity for all classes of people. This book discusses these and other accomplishments while the president faced a strong headwind from congressman Newt and his buddies, along with Special Whitewater prosecutor Kenneth Star. Of course, President Clinton's major error in judgement with Monica is discussed with candor. He give appropriate credit to his critics at times. My sense is this is a pretty good account of this time frame from Mr. Clinton's standpoint . . . and it is interesting and entertaining. Now, I'm hoping he can contribute to getting the U.S. out of the deep ditch his successor has put us in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    Great Read!

    I had heard this book was long-winded and thought I would not like, but it was possibly the most interesting and gripping book I've ever read. If you have a passion for history, politics, the presidency, etc., than you'll love this. Clinton writes beautifully and with a great amount of candor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Bill Clinton My Life.

    The title of the book is Bill Clinton My Life. The author of the book is Bill Clinton, our 42nd President of the United States of America. The genre of this book is a Biography. The major theme of this book is to learn about Bill Clinton¿s life, and how it was when he was a kid and how it was when he was growing up. The only main character in this book is Bill Clinton. The setting of this book is in a town called Hope, in Arkansas where Bill was born on August 19,1946. The point of view of this book is first person because it is a biography, and I think it is important because without first person point of view the book will not be the same. If the book would have been second or third person the book would have been an autobiography. The book wouldn¿t have had the same excitement as it did when Bill Clinton was telling it. Bill did a very good job explaining his childhood, his school years, and the friends he met throughout his young life and some that ended up working along with him during his presidency. There was a moment of suspense that I thought that was kind of funny but it had me concerned to. One day Bill was mowing the grass and he discovered that it became a nesting place for bumblebees. They swarmed him flying all over his body, his arms, and his face, but not one of the bees stung him. He ran off to catch his breath and about ten minutes later he went back to the bee hive. He didn¿t even go ten yards and they swarmed him again and this time they stung him all over his body. One bee got stuck between his belt and his belly button and kept stinging him over and over. He was delirious and had to be rushed to the doctor. Bill learned a valuable lesson about bees, life, if you get out of danger once, don¿t go back to the scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4