Customer Reviews for

My Life Outside the Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    A must Read book even for a non Fan.

    Let me first start this review by saying, i have grown up watching hulk wrestle from an early age and although i did enjoy wrestling from my younger years im not fanatical about it like some people i know.What i really like are autobiography type books that really pull you in and wont let you go easliy and i must say this is one of them.After reading this you will look at hulk and your own self a bit differently. I really never thought i would be so inspired by a wrestler for crying out loud and after reading this you will to.

    You will learn some pretty personal things from the man himself.You will see what a great father and person in general he really is.I was suprised i thought hulk in real life was some kind of super mean and overly tough guy, he is actually just the opposite. Just a gentle softhearted giant.

    I especially enjoyed the chapter titled Going Home.Boy does it tug on ones heart strings.All i can say is, if you are even remotely thinking of buying this book i dont think you will be disappointed.And you will definately have a hard time laying this book down that is unless you are a speed reader and can finish it in one night.....Hulk i wish you the best of luck pal on your ongoing troubles and trials.And this book is truly such an inspiration to me.Thanks for sharing your times of joy and pain with us.

    If you buy the ebook version such as i, dont expect to see any pictures they are only in the paper version.This really sucks.I actually went to a local target store to actually see and sneek an inside peek at the pics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Im still thinking about it

    Wow. Very interesting life. I finished reading it and still want more. I hope he writes a continuation of what has happened after he finish this book. You can feel he really is talking to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    nWo

    Hulkamania

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great Read

    A suprisingly fascinating read....much more in-depth than Linda Hogan's bio.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Hulkster will live on

    Even though King Kong fatso pummled Our hulkamania, he still fought! COZ HE WAS TOLD HULKAMANIA WILL LIVE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Terry, Is "Coach Hatch" by chance Coach Shook? I remem

    Terry, Is "Coach Hatch" by chance Coach Shook? I remember being forced to run those goal posts at Ballast Point, so many years ago...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    And neeeewwww champion.....

    This book is everything a Hulk Hogan fan would want, great stories, awesome pictures, and no ties to the WWE. The last book had that little WWE logo which means they dipped their hands in to control the accounts and story. Finally an honest true story. What ya gonna do when the truth comes out on you. Brother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    2 down

    The rock does have a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Does rock have a book?

    Does the rock have a book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Hulk Lives

    Its quite different from his first book that he put out telling the story of his life "inside the ring". It really gives you a different perspective on Hulk and the obstacles that he's had to overcome over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Honest and heartfelt memoir

    This book was fantastic. I was shocked to read the details of his exciting life. I was moved by his ability to overcome such obstacles and seem to take the high road. This book was touching and has helped me understand the power of positive thinking. The stories about his children and the unconditional love he had for them is so evident in the lines in this book. Fantastic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Whacha Gonna Do Brother...

    When You Find Out This Book is For You! Great inside look of HH's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Not What I expected

    This is a very surprising and revealing book by Hulk about his personal problems and how he is overcoming them by changing his thinking and belief systems. It is brutally honest, and paints a picure that no one who is only familiar with his in ring persona would expect.
    The first half of the book is about his wrestling career, and mostly retreads stuff we have read about in his first book. The really interesting part of it is the 2nd half of the book dealing with Nick's tragic car crash, his wife's treatment of him over the years, his divorce, and how his life was changed by the book, "The Secret". I was most impressed with how Hulk has been able to forgive all those around him who have hurt him to the point where he was contemplating suicide.
    Well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Suprising Book!

    I have been a Hulk Hogan fan since I saw "Thunderlips" in Rocky III. I'm glad the Hulk was very open in the book. I remember the media reports that came out after Nick's accident and they didn't look favorable. But in the book Hulk doesn't make an excuse, but tries to improve himself and everyone around him. I feel sorry about is marriage, but it seems like he came our the other side a better man. I thought the book had a great balance of all the things he has been through in life. I wish the Hulk luck with the rest of his endeavors, and I would recommend this to anyone who would like a good, fast, and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    Must Read even if you are not a wrestling fan

    This book was a pleasure to read. I am a huge Hulk Hogan fan and found it to be very interesting, however I think anyone would enjoy this book. It is well written, heartfelt and has bits of humor mixed in. It shows a side of Pro wrestling and fame that many might not understand. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    My Side of the Breakup of our Superstar Marriage

    Hulk Hogan is greatly known for his image as a professional wrestler. What he's not known for is discussing his private life. Mr. Bollea's account of the details of his wrestling professional career is just that, his account in the book. He gives details and actions that he took when his son had an accident a couple of years ago. He writes about his own weaknesses of infidelity.
    If you know of Hulk Hogan,Terry Bollea, you would automatically want to sympathize with him on any point. This is because up until now he the public has known little about his private life. Who would have thought that he even has a private life anyway?
    The pictures are awesome. What details Mr. Bollea gives about his family,career, and spiritual life may be details of his account alone. It's something else when you're the good guy and everyone else are the "bad people".
    Yet,I read the whole book and enjoyed it throughly. Though I must be careful not to judge those that Mr. Bollea speaks of. I have no way of knowing what their side of the stories are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    Well Written and Very Inspiring

    This book was def a good read. Really takes you inside the man Hulk Hogan is and has become. While it did talk a decent amount about his wrestling career it really focused on his most recent troubles with his divorce, son's accident and his suicide attempt. He talks about how his life has changed and how he has become a more positive person.

    I am a huge Hulk Hogan fan and yet I was able to learn a lot of new interesting things. I feel he really did open up in this book and left it all out on the table. This book has given me a better understanding about life and a more positive outlook. Hulk also talks about a book called The Secret which changed his life. I think I will be giving that a look next. This book really does take you on a wild ride that only the biggest name in professional wrestling can. Hulk thanks for everything and I know the best has yet to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2