Customer Reviews for

My Life So Far

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, complex, fascinating

After reading this book, not only do I understand Jane Fonda a bit better, but I understand myself a bit better, also! Extremely well written and deeply felt, I can only say: read it and see for yourself. Wow.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

NiteOwl says it's a must read.........

If She takes the responibility for the deaths and suffering she was involved in! For example: The beatings the U.S. P.O.W.'S had to endure after she turned them into the commandant for trying to get the word out who they were and that they were still alive, to thier f...
If She takes the responibility for the deaths and suffering she was involved in! For example: The beatings the U.S. P.O.W.'S had to endure after she turned them into the commandant for trying to get the word out who they were and that they were still alive, to thier families! Is her proceeds for her book going to the families that don't have thier loved ones because of the atrocities she committed?

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    Amazing, complex, fascinating

    After reading this book, not only do I understand Jane Fonda a bit better, but I understand myself a bit better, also! Extremely well written and deeply felt, I can only say: read it and see for yourself. Wow.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    I loved this book!

    I felt that Ms. Fonda gave her all in this book. It is honest, gut wrenching and heart searing. She has gone through the fire and come out the other side a whole being. I really liked it and I really like her for her caring, bravery,and her honesty. She admits her mistakes and sticks up for her beliefs. I found this to be a profound read that is giving me hope for myself in my third act.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    all around wonderful

    This autobiography by Jane Fonda was wonderful. I could not put it down. I had never really followed her work, but was interested in her activism, but after reading it, I now want to see more of her films. The book is heartfelt, poignant, and also funny. Ms. Fonda put her heart and soul into writing this, and as a reader, you can tell right away. The book is divided in three acts, and in each one, ms. Fonda really touches you with what she has to write, from her difficult childhood, to her activism, to her marriages, to all that she does with teenagers today, and all the while incorporating the making of some of her biggest movies into the book. I would definately recommend this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    SHE is all of us

    I have not put the book down, committing some passages to memory. A word to those who detest her for her Vietnam experience. We are now trading with Vietnam, adopting their babies and they are assisting us in our search for MIA's...please 'get over it' and move on - the rest of the world has. None of us has made all the 'right' decisions in our lives.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    touching, brilliant, illuminating

    wow! what a wonderful woman! she's always been my heroin, but she seemed so distant and perfect. after reading this, however you realize she was plagued by the same sorrows (some more horrific than anyone should have to endure) pain, joy, lonliness, in other words...she's a real person! she's so blessed with her ability to reach people. i would venture to say, the only morons who are giving this a bad review are the same narrow minded, right-winged nut jobs that are too stupid to read in the first place! open your mind and your heart will follow people!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Fonda at her best

    I have always admired Jane Fonda and now even more so. 'My Life So Far' is a very articulate and honest account of her life and it is a very fascinating read. Forget about political differences (which although espoused in the book, are not its basis, nor is the book a platform for any political agenda). Read this with an open mind; the woman has experienced a lot in her life and much of her story could be very beneficial to many young people. It is clear that Fonda learned about and dealt with many of the things she discusses in the book the old fashioned way....she lived them. Miss Fonda, in addition to being an activist, actor, etc., you should have added writer to your many credits. The book was awesome.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Elegant, Honest, and Engaging

    My Life So Far is inspirational in its message. I love that this woman will not be buttonholed into a caricature of what others would make of her. Humans grow and change over the years. This is Gods gift to us--the ability to learn from mistakes, not keep trashing people-in her case she could have stayed angry with Henry Fonda, but she wisely put a moratorium on anger. In doing so she shows us to deal with the past and then move on. For those who cannot see that one person is not the center of all the good or evil in the world, reading this book might just provide a more textured portrait of another person's life. Those of us who have been abused as little girls and suffered the consequences throughout our lives commend her for using her experiences to help others and not sit home focusing exclusively on herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    'The fluttering slowed; the wings grew still. Then peace.'

    Never, in my experience, has an author so easily evoked cathartic tears and laughter as Jane Fonda has done right from the start of her book. I look forward each day to escaping into her marvelous writing style and allowing her honesty and insight to enrich me. Here is a book that embodies so very much more depth and truth than the usual memoir to which we have grown accustomed. For example, in chapter two she writes: 'It is late at night: I can't get Vanessa to sleep; I am despondent, again deep into the bulimia; I am lying on my back on the floor, with Vanessa lying on my chest. She lifts her head and looks straight into my eyes for what seems like an eternity. I feel she is looking into my soul, that she knows me, that she is my conscience. I get scared and have to look away. I don't want to be known.' Fonda's unpretentious but keen intelligence and sensitivity enthrall, enlighten, embrace, soothe, and delight like no other autobiography I have ever read (and I am an avid bio devourer...including her father's My Life, which she seamlessly cultivates into these pages as her title suggests). In addition, the photos and their captions are not only arranged to complement the text but are priceless in their self-disclosure. My Life So Far is an extremely honest, enjoyable, and moving look not only into Fonda's soul but our own. It transcends gender, class, or culture and breaks through the ego-built, interpersonal barriers of fear in regard to intimacy that so frighten each of us. And by so doing, Lady Jayne Seymour Fonda has written a remarkable hymn to the endless power of the higher self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    an intelligent, examined, thoughtful life

    i reluctantly picked up this book (i don't love celebrity bios) and ended up spending an hour and a half engrossed in it before finally buying it. I have always had an ambivalent relationship with ms fonda's public image--she seemed to veer too widely from steely determination to shallow unthoughtfulness, but this book really helps me be less judgemental of her (as if i had the right!). her candor, thoughtfulnes, and insight made for very interesting reading but i was particularly impressed by her equanimity re her life choices. as a young feminist who was disapointed by her seeming transformation into a big boobed arm ornament, i once again am (reluctantly?)entralled with her. this time i find myself coloring her a role model not just for her moral purpose or her disciplined body or her beauty or her bravery but for her mature, shrug-your-shoulders-accept-yourself-we-all-make-mistakes-and-isn't-li fe-a-great-journey equanimity. and boy, has she made some fascinating choices!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Omg!!

    You know how you read a bio and you have to read thru the early years to get to the good stuff? Not here!!!! This book had me from page 1. She has had a very full interesting life and you should read about it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Very Interesting

    Jane gives an interesting view not only into her own life, but offers insight into the challenges many women face. This book would be especially interesting to independent, mature women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fearless Fonda

    I have been mad at Jane Fonda for years but I was wrong. She tells us the true story of Hanoi Jane. Plus she's smart beautiful talented and has had a very interesting life..so far! A fantastic read and the most interesting is that she's very down to earth, a regular Jane, with the same problems and frustrations and cheating husbands as the rest of us and she shares it all with the reader. Loved It!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    A must read for any woman

    I didn't know much about Jane Fonda before I read this book. I can only say that it is one of the most significant books I have read, not from a literary standpoint, but from a woman's perspective. I was awed by the scope of Jane's life situations and experiences, which she shares in great detail and candor. I couldn't have imagined her story would be so wonderful in so many ways. I think men will also be interested in a real woman's story of her real struggles and triumphs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Honest, insightful, brave...I could go on....

    I just could not put this book down. I have always loved Jane Fonda. I admire her energy, enthusiasm and humanism (we sure all make mistakes in our lives) also her talent and beauty (inside and out). I could identify with so many issues she addresses in this book. As a woman who also grew up during that time, I really admire Jane's attempts to reach out, learn, and act (the key word) on her beliefs. I remember so well the Vietnam era, Nixon, Watergate, but what this book has helped me identify, is that I just listened on the surface and really didn't take the time to dig down to truly learn all sides. I do remember how I cried when I first saw Tom Cruise's scene in 'Born on the Forth of July'....'But Mom, thou shalt not kill'. It hit home and I have always felt such empathy for our boys in the armed forces, especially, the disregard and poor treatment of Vietnam Veterans. I was riveted to read Jane knew Ron. This book has helped me to realize that I must pay more attention to the issues and be more involved. Thank you Jane. Loved your honesty and humanism. You are a beautiful woman. Make more meaningful movies, please.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    amazing

    I had stumbled upon this book just looking to learn more about people I've only vaguely heard of. I was blown away, not only by Jane's story, but by how suprisingly well written it was. Since then I have morphed into a HUGE Jane Fonda fan and this book is the reason why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    An Artist?

    I could careless about reading an actress's bio. What do I have in common with Jane Fonda? I went to hear Jane Fonda speak (a friend dragged me)-- FASCINATING -- then I shook her hand -- WOW, I could sense the energy inside her. Went home, I did some research on her (I did know a little) and bought the book -- actually read it -- SHOCK! -- IT'S FANTASTIC! After all, acting is a form of art & just one of her many callings. She uses it as a vehicle to the bring other facets of her life into play. Then it dawned on me -- GOSH, this woman has done so much for women (men too), she does not even know. She is an ICON! Weather you agree or disagree with her -- she has passion for her views & that is to be admired. She writes about her past which gives the reader an understanding of her choices in her journey. The one thing that makes this book so outstanding, she brings issues to the forefront that people mask from their everyday life. Amazing -- you'll find yourself relating to her on so many levels (at least I did). And in the end you will realize if only we all could be so TRUE. She is an artist. I would definitely go listen to Jane speak again (actually wished she had spoken longer) & I would read another book she writes -- Jane Fonda has so much information to pass on.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Very introspective and thoughtful biography

    This probing and articulate memoir follows Fonda's quest for self-discovery: 'To have a good third act you need to understand what the first two have been about. I don't want to die without knowing who I am.' With unsparing honesty, she admits to 30 years of bulimia and anorexia, dissects three failed marriages and details her cathartic, four-hour meeting with Vietnam vets in 1988 as a 'raw, angry, emotional exorcism' of the myth of Hanoi Jane. Trust someone who has actually read the book rather than someone who still blames the Vietnam War on Jane Fonda and tries to keep urban legends about her going. I wish those so-called patriots were as concerned about our brave soldiers currently at war. Unfortunately they don't have an actress to blame this war on and quake at the thought of actually holding Bush accountable. A truly inspiring book that should help a lot of women with similar issues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    very interesting

    i couldnt put the book down after i started it,we are the same age and went thru the same lonely childhood.i am also shy and do what others always want so the book really hit home.i highly recommend it for good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Interesting Story - Great Interpretation

    Jane Fonda, a global legend, has come to write her memoirs in a candid portrayal of her life so far. Although I disagree with her politically, it was an interesting read and I enjoyed her feelings and writing. The ending (Leaving My Father's House) was good but lacked because she could of ended with emotion instead of politics but it still was a great autobiography. The epilogue was amazing, simply because she discovered herself later in life. I do believe that she is not a bad person but still agree with the New York Times who closed with, 'If only Henry Fonda had been a hugger.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Jane Fonda has a lot to say

    I enjoyed this book because it's so candid, just like the lady herself. I don't always agree with everything she has done or said but I admire the way she has led her own life and been so outspoken. This book tells an awful lot. It's a huge book but that is because she has had a hugely full life. I enjoyed it very much. I especially admire Jane's honesty. She doesn't paint herself as a victim or an angel--she is a complicated person. Superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2