Customer Reviews for

My Life with the Saints

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I heard Fr. Martin speak at a conference and immediately added his book to my list. I'm completely AMAZED at the way he puts things together in such a realist way! This book is great for anyone to read *especially young adults* His reference guide in the back is also a great tool! Thanks Fr. for sharing your gift!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Love This Book!

    This book had so much information, fun stories, and interesting anecdotes that I had a hard time putting it down. I wanted to keep reading after it ended. Some of these Saints were new to me and I felt like I learned so much. I also love that the author allows you into his own life and thoughts because it made me feel like he understands "real" life instead of preaching.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Love this book!

    I have my dog eared copy of "My life with the Saints". I read this book while on a two week vacation in Paris. Every night after seeing the wonderful sights,Notre Dame, St Eustache, filling my days and after my dinner I would plunge into this wonderful book. I am re reading it again and love it just as much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Fantastic Story of Spriritual Journey

    Fr. Martin does a fantastic job of connecting Saints of the past with his own spiritual journey. Don't stop reading before the last chapter "Holy in a Different Way: A Conclusion" which speaks to each reader individually. This books helps us to see that we are not only our journey towards holiness and becoming saints in our own way!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    About saints

    If you are interested in the saints, you will enjoy Fr. Martin's stories of how he chose his favorites and how they have influenced his life. It is humorous and very informative. A real pleasure to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Delightful journey with one person's saints

    I've read many books about saints. Most are dry, factual and boring. James Martin offers a stimulating and enjoyable journey with him as he has come to know saints in his life. He combines lively writing with spiritual awareness that leaves one satisfied and inspired. What a gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Love the Saints!

    The book is very inspirational. Fr. Martin is an excellent writer and every page reveals a gem of a story, personal insight, or historical information. The book reminds me of my own life in some ways. The heroes of this book are the Saints who remind us that we too can be close to God, each in our own personal way, and have the support of the Communion of the Saints on a daily basis.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    Good Book

    Im 12 years old and I go to a catholic school, so this book was required as my summer reading list. I thought it was going to be boring, but as I read I got interested, and pretty soon I started reading it whenever I could. It was a really good book, and I definetly reccomend it to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    a most inspirational book

    a wonderful book and very inpirational

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Very engaging, very readable

    The author does a wonderful job of weaving together parts of his own faith journey, with stories of the most ispiring aspects of the lives of his favorite saints and holy people. He artfully makes the saints seem like people anyone could relate to, and shows how people can apply this inspiration to their own lives. I'd highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I knew essentially nothing about the Saints - even who most of t

    I knew essentially nothing about the Saints - even who most of them were - prior to reading this. It was very interesting, well written, and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    I refer to this book so often when I need inspiration or a smile.

    Father Martin is a wonderful writer. His gift of introducing the saints in their humanity has been an inspritation to me. My prayer life has improved greatly through his friendly instruction. I recently read "Between Heaven & Mirth" and found it an equally valuable and entertaining experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Excellent read

    This was my first book by Fr. Martin and I enjoyed this very much. Fr. Martin writes so well and how he gives the reader insights to his own life makes this a very personal book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1