Customer Reviews for

My Life in Black and White

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, interesting and dramatic nivel ( READ I T!!!!!!!!

Omg this is an amazing book. It is full of drama and very facinating . And just omg i highly recommend this novel. I'm 11 almost 12 and i think any age from 10-14 is appropiate (not for boys at all.) I think once u read the book u'll fall in love with it.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This novel has a pretty dramatic synopsis. Before I read it, I g

This novel has a pretty dramatic synopsis. Before I read it, I geared
myself up for a novel that is filled with pointless drama, and a
melodramatic protagonist. I didn't think that I would like it very much,
from what I could gather from the synopsis. When I started rea...
This novel has a pretty dramatic synopsis. Before I read it, I geared
myself up for a novel that is filled with pointless drama, and a
melodramatic protagonist. I didn't think that I would like it very much,
from what I could gather from the synopsis. When I started reading it
though, it was much different than what I thought it would be. Reasons
to Read: 1.Good portrayal of true friendship The novel's main focus is
the friendship between protagonist and her best friend. Flashbacks are
written so that we get to see how their friendship was before the
accident. These two are as close as sisters. They don't have a perfect
relationship, but the way that it has lasted so long shows us just how
much they care about each other. Even after the accident, it is clear
that the two still do care about each other; although neither of them
will admit it. I liked how the question of whether or not you can still
reconcile with a friend even after a betrayal was brought up. 2.Lexi's
character change At the beginning of the novel, lexi is the typical
spoiled, popular snob. The accident takes its toll on her by basically
taking away everything that made her popular. This forces lexi to
change; for both good and bad. Her development as a character flows
beautifully with the pacing of the novel. When the end of the novel
comes, you can really tell that she has changed a lot as a person
through the circumstances that she is put in. Although I did really
like this novel, I had two problems with it. Firstly, I found the
back-and-forth switch between past and present to be really confusing. I
was glad when that stopped later on. Secondly, lexi could be so whiny
and annoying at times. She whined about the smallest things. She just
expected the world to fall at her feet, though I think she was purposely
written that way to show her change in character and emphasize what she
had lost. Despite these problems, I did like this book and recommend it
to contemporary fans. ARC received from Penguin Canada for my honest
review; no other compensation was received.

posted by SweetPeaBubbles on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Amazing, interesting and dramatic nivel ( READ I T!!!!!!!!

    Omg this is an amazing book. It is full of drama and very facinating . And just omg i highly recommend this novel. I'm 11 almost 12 and i think any age from 10-14 is appropiate (not for boys at all.)
    I think once u read the book u'll fall in love with it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. I couldnt wait t

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. I couldnt wait to have time in class or at home to read it [which for me is unusual]. I think the reaction to the sincerio is what any of us would do. I praise natasha friend on this novel/

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: My Life in Black and White

    This description of this book reminded me of Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk, which a read a number of years ago. I knew it couldn't possibly be as graphic, but I was intrigued by the idea.

    My first thoughts were that everyone surrounding Lexi is completely shallow. Her whole life in been built around the fact that she's beautiful. It's such a defining characteristic for her. I felt like all a long she really wanted to step out of that aspect of herself. She wanted to be something more than just the beautiful one. She just no idea how to do it.

    The accident (and the situation leading up to it) that causes the transformation was...interesting. Lexi's so called best friend Taylor and her boyfriend getting caught in that situation would lead anybody to fly off the handle a little bit. But, the circumstances behind that accident were almost laughable. In fact, they would be if it hadn't had such dire consequences. I was more amazed at the excuses Taylor (and boyfriend) came up with. Really? I just didn't believe it. And after all of that Lexi was so miserable without Taylor that she forgave her and went back to being best friends. I think if she would have gone back to the boyfriend as well I might have screamed.

    But what really made this story work for me is Ruth, Lexi's sister. Lexi hasn't really given her sister half a chance until now. She couldn't see how her sister could possibly be happy without being popular. I also liked how everyone tiptoed around Lexi, except for Ruth. She told Lexi exactly what she needed to her. She pointed out that she needed to stop feeling sorry for herself. And, that the world was not going to end because of what happened. It was interesting to watch the transformation in both Lexi and her relationship with her sister.


    Overall, I ended up liking the book quite a bit. It had it's teen moments that made me role my eyes and thank god I'm not in high school anymore. But, it also had a really good message underneath it all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    This novel has a pretty dramatic synopsis. Before I read it, I g

    This novel has a pretty dramatic synopsis. Before I read it, I geared
    myself up for a novel that is filled with pointless drama, and a
    melodramatic protagonist. I didn't think that I would like it very much,
    from what I could gather from the synopsis. When I started reading it
    though, it was much different than what I thought it would be. Reasons
    to Read: 1.Good portrayal of true friendship The novel's main focus is
    the friendship between protagonist and her best friend. Flashbacks are
    written so that we get to see how their friendship was before the
    accident. These two are as close as sisters. They don't have a perfect
    relationship, but the way that it has lasted so long shows us just how
    much they care about each other. Even after the accident, it is clear
    that the two still do care about each other; although neither of them
    will admit it. I liked how the question of whether or not you can still
    reconcile with a friend even after a betrayal was brought up. 2.Lexi's
    character change At the beginning of the novel, lexi is the typical
    spoiled, popular snob. The accident takes its toll on her by basically
    taking away everything that made her popular. This forces lexi to
    change; for both good and bad. Her development as a character flows
    beautifully with the pacing of the novel. When the end of the novel
    comes, you can really tell that she has changed a lot as a person
    through the circumstances that she is put in. Although I did really
    like this novel, I had two problems with it. Firstly, I found the
    back-and-forth switch between past and present to be really confusing. I
    was glad when that stopped later on. Secondly, lexi could be so whiny
    and annoying at times. She whined about the smallest things. She just
    expected the world to fall at her feet, though I think she was purposely
    written that way to show her change in character and emphasize what she
    had lost. Despite these problems, I did like this book and recommend it
    to contemporary fans. ARC received from Penguin Canada for my honest
    review; no other compensation was received.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    AMAZING

    I love this bpok it is a favorite. Lexi is such a drama queen which makes the story even better i literally told all my friends about this book and they all read it and loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Was ok.

    I think the book was ok. I think that it could have not used so much detail and the language could have been cut out. I think that this book is apropriout for the High school ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Hi

    Amazing book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Help!

    Mine only goes up to page 22! Help! Why cant I read the whole book?!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow

    I just finished it and im sad it ended ;-; it opened my eyes and the protagonist is very relateable and it was a very fantastuc book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Perfect

    This book was perfect and so relatedable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    SPA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Lovely

    Despite the tragedy in this book,the writing is delicious.I couldn't put it down.Every page had me curious what would happen next.All in all,a very satisfying read that will leave you with a new outlook on tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Sparrowstar

    Res 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Wolfpaw

    Pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Greypaw

    Okay......... where is the nursery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Do not tap

    Well tapped so ea this freakin book right now also as soon as u finish read 13 reasons why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    wow this book was just amazing! its my favorite book ive read th

    wow this book was just amazing! its my favorite book ive read this year! you have to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Annymous

    From exciting twists to romance ti drama drama oh an dmore drama, this book has it all. It steals your heart gets your angry and keeps you wanting more! I love Natasha Friend and i love all her bools but this one is probably my favorite of hers! I highly reccomend the book you wont be sorry you bought it trust me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Great

    Good story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    there is only one word to describe this book..AMAZING!!! i read

    there is only one word to describe this book..AMAZING!!! i read it and i just couldn't put it down!! I would recommend this book to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3