Customer Reviews for

My Life in Dog Years

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A very interesting book!

This book was so cool. I always knew Gary had dogs, but I never knew that he had so many of them!!! I liked Snowball and Rex in paticular. But Josh is my favorite! I would just love to have a dog like him. he sounds so fun to live with!!! This is my favorite of all Gar...
This book was so cool. I always knew Gary had dogs, but I never knew that he had so many of them!!! I liked Snowball and Rex in paticular. But Josh is my favorite! I would just love to have a dog like him. he sounds so fun to live with!!! This is my favorite of all Gary paulsen's books.

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

This book is for anyone who absolutely loves dogs! It tells of all the stories of Gary Paulsen and his many dogs throughout his life. I highly recommend it!

posted by 10923483 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    A very interesting book!

    This book was so cool. I always knew Gary had dogs, but I never knew that he had so many of them!!! I liked Snowball and Rex in paticular. But Josh is my favorite! I would just love to have a dog like him. he sounds so fun to live with!!! This is my favorite of all Gary paulsen's books.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Good book!!!

    I've always been a Gary Pulsin fan abd even though i haven't read this book i know that it is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!(;

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    :>) ;,) :,) :)

    Great book!!!!!! I loved it!!!!! :>) :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Awesome book

    I have read this like 20 times every time wondering how cool it would be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great book, very moving!

    I've read lots of gary paulsen books but this one is about the dogs that he loves. My favorite part is the dedecation. It is ssssssooooooo moving, i never thought that a dog could be so brave! You have GOT to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    A great lesson about life and how animals can help get you thru difficult times

    We purchased this book as part of a school project/bookreport. It had to be about animals - and it was recommended by the staff at B&N. While my daughter would have perhaps preferred a Geronimo Stilton Book originally (she loves that series) - we recognized the need for more "challenging" material. What a pleasant surprise this book was!

    Although we don't own a dog (just a cat)-- we were all drawn into the stories she shared with us from the book -- and impressed at how she (at age 10) was able to relate to the author's life lessons along the way. It was sad at times, and joyful at others. But it truly demonstrated why Dog is man's best friend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Wonderful stories

    I read this to my 11-year-old son and enjoyed it every bit as much as he did. We both now look at our own three dogs with greater appreciation and adoration. I would like to point out that although Paulson wrote this using language that is accessible to his younger audience, the subject matter--especially as it pertains to his unhappy childhood--stretches that audience's zone of comfort and understanding. Kids may have trouble with the sections about Paulson's drunk and negligent parents.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    A FANTASTIC Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :o

    This book was the best book I read about dogs and pets literature. I thought that this book was the most interesting I ever read. I loved it from beginning to end. An outstanding beautifully and excellent written book. To take readers into his life. I read it 5 times for real!!!!! And recommended it and my family and friends loved it!!! If you want something about pets lives that are amazing in many ways read this book. I know you'll love it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    gary paulsen strikes again!

    this book is very unique because it's a story about his life and it's also about the animal he cherishes, dogs.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Snorzeville

    This is the worst book I've ever read. It is short but it took me a long time to finish it because it is so boring. Paulsen is a great author, but this is not his finest work. If you are looking for a book to read skip this one. I love dogs but this put me to sleep. The only reason I read this is because I had to for a book report. So I suggest save your money and your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Frany

    I love this book hope you read it XD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    This was a very unique book. I enjoyed every chapter, as I learn

    This was a very unique book. I enjoyed every chapter, as I learned about each new dog that passed through Gary Paulsen's life. All of them true stories, of course. I do like the author's writing style very much, and it's amazing how descriptive the book is.

    I'd pick it up and read it again!
    I loved each & every one of these dog's stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great book!

    This book is for anyone who absolutely loves dogs! It tells of all the stories of Gary Paulsen and his many dogs throughout his life. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great book!

    This book is an amazing book! I'm twelve and I loved this book but i think it is great for kids and adults ages seven and up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Great read for all ages

    My life in Dog Years is a great memoir about the dogs Gary Paulson has raised through his lifetime. Each chapter has a different story about one of the many dogs he has owned. In one of the chapters, Gary, at the age of seven, lived in Vietnam during the war, and there obviously weren't very many kids living there at that time. So, as you can imagine Gary was lonely and he wanted a friend, and one day found a black puppy with a perfect white circle on its side, but there was a problem. The dog belonged to a butcher and the butcher was planning on eating the dog, plus the butcher wasn't just going to give up his food without a price!

    My opinion: This is great book that is exciting, happy, and sad. I would recommend this book to any middle school student that has feelings for dogs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    READ THIS BOOK

    This book is the best book i have ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Great Book

    I think that evrybody should read this book. If you like dogs this would be the right book for you to read.He talks alot about his life and all of the dogs he had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Great book!!!

    Great book of people who like to read about the outdoors. It is about a Boy named Brian was got to see his dad and he was on a small plan. The pilot had a heart attack and Brain landed the plan. So if you like outdoors this book is for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    A Very Good Book

    This was a very good book by Gary Paulson, telling all about all the dogs that he had had in his lifetime, and how they had made an impact on him. It was very enjoyable, though sad in some parts, and it led me to read his other books. He is a great author, and I love his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Gary Paulsen reader

    This was a very good book that Gary tells about all his dogs in his lifetime. From Cookie to Josh this book was an enjoyable book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4