Customer Reviews for

My Life with the Chimpanzees

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kinkaid Biology Year-long Reading Review

I thought that this book was the BEST biography I have ever read. I liked it so much because it was more like a novel instead of a biography. The book helped me learn what Jane Goodall really went through in order to become the person that she is today. It wa...
I thought that this book was the BEST biography I have ever read. I liked it so much because it was more like a novel instead of a biography. The book helped me learn what Jane Goodall really went through in order to become the person that she is today. It was very interesting to read about how she could not to the Chimpanzee National Park for such along time due to all of the revolts that were going on at the time. It was also very interesting in the way that Jane Goodall described all of the animals that she saw, like the leopard and the chimpanzees and the bush baby! This was a very exciting read for me and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a short, but great biography to read.

posted by Anonymous on May 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

READ THIS REVIEW

My Life with Chimpanzees was a good book in the beginning because she described her adventures with the chimps (and bush babies). Jane taught us alot about animal cruelty and the life of the animals that are suffering in Africa. I would not recomend this book to anyone ...
My Life with Chimpanzees was a good book in the beginning because she described her adventures with the chimps (and bush babies). Jane taught us alot about animal cruelty and the life of the animals that are suffering in Africa. I would not recomend this book to anyone who is easily bored and is looking for a fun, thrilling, and funny book (although the pictures were very cute!). In the end it gets very repetitive. It was more of an instruction manual then a story. The last quarter was ideas of helping the envirorment geared to little children.

posted by 2664696 on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    READ THIS REVIEW

    My Life with Chimpanzees was a good book in the beginning because she described her adventures with the chimps (and bush babies). Jane taught us alot about animal cruelty and the life of the animals that are suffering in Africa. I would not recomend this book to anyone who is easily bored and is looking for a fun, thrilling, and funny book (although the pictures were very cute!). In the end it gets very repetitive. It was more of an instruction manual then a story. The last quarter was ideas of helping the envirorment geared to little children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Kinkaid Biology Year-long Reading Review

    I thought that this book was the BEST biography I have ever read. I liked it so much because it was more like a novel instead of a biography. The book helped me learn what Jane Goodall really went through in order to become the person that she is today. It was very interesting to read about how she could not to the Chimpanzee National Park for such along time due to all of the revolts that were going on at the time. It was also very interesting in the way that Jane Goodall described all of the animals that she saw, like the leopard and the chimpanzees and the bush baby! This was a very exciting read for me and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a short, but great biography to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Good book 3.5 stars

    This was a good book but it got boring at parts like at the end she was talking about the environment and stuff that didn't really go along with the story. I got bored with it after a while and I was happy to finish it. Otherwise, it was pretty good, but parts just could of been more exciting for kids.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Imagine yourself being in Africa, in the morning, when a chimpa


    Imagine yourself being in Africa, in the morning, when a chimpanzee comes up out of the bushes and start to walk towards you, not angrily, not frightened, just content.  Then imagine the chimp standing in front of you and puts out their hand.  This is what Jane Goodall experienced in her memoir My Life With The Chimpanzees .  The memoir is about her her life starting when she was young all the way to her being famous enough to give lectures to people.  When she was young she lived in England during World War II, but it have much of an impact on her.  When Jane got out of college, she realized she had a passion for animals, so Jane got a job that eventually landed her in Africa.  While she was in Africa her colleagues searched for fossilized remnants of ancient people, but Jane soon found the living chimps of today more exciting.  So she stayed after her Colleagues left and moved to the jungle areas to research chimps.  Her findings soon made her famous and she began to travel around the world to give lectures.  Anyone could tell Jane Goodall is a scientist; for her large vocabulary, excellent variety of sentences, and interesting imagery created a very serious style that lasts throughout the book. I enjoyed this book because I am a lover of all primates, and learned so much about them in the book. Recommended for boy and girls wanting a career dealing with animals.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Daughter loves this book

    My 9 year old daughter used this book for a class presentation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A Good Biography

    An entertaining book. It kept me interested throughout, and at times, i forget i was reading a biography, rather i was reading a novel about an extraordinary woman with a passion for animal studies. She devoted her life to chimpanzees and this book shows it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    A good book

    My Life With The Chimpanzees is a good book that I would recommend to anyone who would like to become an ethologist or likes chimpanzees.It is about Jane Goodal, in her point of view, and how she became interested in Africa and chimpanzees. It is a book that I liked very much and beleive you should read too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Lowell T. Hennen whats up!!

    This book is the best book I have read about chimpanzees.It has some great facts and alot of details about them and the author.If you like cimpanzees you really need to check this book out at your nearest school or local library.Maybe someday you will go to Africa like Jane Goodall did.The first time I read this book was in my reading class in the sixth grade.All of my friends and classmates enjoyed it.At some points of the book was funny. I hope you read it and enjoy it very good.I really liked it!Please check this out and I guarantee that you will enjoy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Everyone knows that feeling of success, victory, or accomplishm

    Everyone knows that feeling of success, victory, or accomplishment; you start to sprout out of that hard shell and face towards the warmth of the beaming, bright light of the horizon. Two things I liked about the book, was how she used a man who studied and cared for ducks as a hook. The other thing that I like about Jane Goodall’s memoir: My Life with the Chimpanzees, was how she expressed how the wild chimpanzees piqued her interest, and this made her want to know more. One thing that I disliked was how she gave the chimpanzees weird names. I would recommend other readers to read My Life with the Chimpanzees by Jane Goodall, because she has an interesting childhood history and adventure as an adult. However, I would especially highly recommend it to readers who like animals and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Science Project

    This book served as a great and informative book soure for my science project on Jane Goodall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is awesome. Best atobiography ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    GREAT

    LOVE IT ITS SO GOOD I COULD READ IT OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAON

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Chimpanzee

    It was the best book in the whole world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Jane Goodall- Chimp Woman

    It is a very interesting book, if you like biography and monkey books. It is about a woman who goes to Gombe and stays there for a while, studying chimps. She tries to find out all she can about chimp behavior. If you don't really like biographies or monkeys then it might not be your kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    this booked i liked , but some parts were boring

    this book is pretty good.Jane Goodall wanted to be someone who wanted to watch animals.one day she went to Africa to watch chimpeezs.the chimps finally got used to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Jane Goodall is a book for everyone!!

    The book is really cool because it talks about animals and i like animals,mainly chimpanzees!! I know alot of people that like animals and studing them.If you like that sort of thing,then you should read this book because it is great!I want a monkey myself, my parents won't let me get one. If you are aloud to get one,take the oppertunity and get one!!Also if you have the oppertunity to get the book you should bye that too! You will like it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    a wonderful book

    Hi, my name is Chris Barnett,and I live in Pottsboro,T.X. I think that this book is the best autobiography I have ever read. I like this book beacuse it is suspenceful, has action in it ,and it is a good adventuer book.I am inspired of how she lived her life and all the chimps she saved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Goodall Goes With Her Dream

    I thought the book was great . I think every one should read this book. It is not only about her and chimpanzees but also how she started liking chimpanzees and other animals.Personally I love chimpanzees, so I was very interested in the book.If you Love chimpanzees you will love this book.If you see this book in a store window dont forget to go in and look at it atleast , but you could also buy it. Its great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    The Outstanding Book

    I think the book I picked was a very good book. It was a true story of Jane Goodall's life when she went to Gombe,Africa.She had a good job in Africa, she loved to watch the chimpanzees in the jungle. She played with the chimpanzees and discoverd and amazed by what they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2