Customer Reviews for

My Lord Vampire

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great

Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring...not even close to her best work.

I don't normally leave bad reviews but this book was boring. I honestly wish I could get my $4.99 back. It is only 150 pages long but it was so tedious it felt like 300 pages. The plot line is non-existent and the characters leave more than a little something to be desi...
I don't normally leave bad reviews but this book was boring. I honestly wish I could get my $4.99 back. It is only 150 pages long but it was so tedious it felt like 300 pages. The plot line is non-existent and the characters leave more than a little something to be desired. I will not be purchasing the other books in the trilogy and possibly nothing else from this author for wasting so much of my money on this "book". It got 1 star b/c I could not post a review without one. Otherwise it wouldn't have gotten it.

posted by 3346565 on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Boring...not even close to her best work.

    I don't normally leave bad reviews but this book was boring. I honestly wish I could get my $4.99 back. It is only 150 pages long but it was so tedious it felt like 300 pages. The plot line is non-existent and the characters leave more than a little something to be desired. I will not be purchasing the other books in the trilogy and possibly nothing else from this author for wasting so much of my money on this "book". It got 1 star b/c I could not post a review without one. Otherwise it wouldn't have gotten it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Not nearly up to the standards of her previous series. I purcha

    Not nearly up to the standards of her previous series. I purchased all of those titles, but the plot was so thin on My Lord Vampire, that I think I will skp the rest of this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    During the last two hundred years, vampires living behind the Ve

    During the last two hundred years, vampires living behind the Veil have endured in ultimate peace, content that their only thirst has been the insatiable thirst for knowledge. The Veil, created by the great vampire Nefri with the power of the Medallion now stands threatened, as fear that three powerful vampires have stepped beyond to venture back to the land of the mortals. The results in doing so would welcome once again, the powers of bloodlust that ruled their kind. Through orders made by the Great Council, Gideon Ravel along with fellow vampires, Lucien and Sebastian must travel beyond the Veil to the land containing human-kind they had so long ago left behind. The assigned task to protect from danger presented by the traitorous vampires, the three maidens Nefri has bestowed with the coveted components of the precious Medallion the traitorous vampires seek. Gideon will soon find Nefri has chosen well in appointing Simone, known as the “Wicked Temptress” for Lady Gilbert who while unknowingly in possession of the precious amulet holds close a secret all her own. Will the unwanted, underlying attraction between them help bring forth the trust that will be required to protect them against the danger lurking so very close at hand?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Very enjoyable read! It’s been two hundred years since va

    Very enjoyable read!

    It’s been two hundred years since vampires have retreated behind the Veil to live a life pursuing knowledge instead of humans. Now, that peaceful existence is being threatened by three rogues who have decided they should be out there doing what vampires do best, hunting and killing the nasty lower life forms called humans and gaining power.

    Gideon Ravel and two others are sent back to the world of the humans to find three maidens, each entrusted with a piece of the Medallion used to create, hold and protect the Veil. Gideon is in search of Lady Simone Gilbert and he must find and protect her before one of the rogues gets to her. Let the hunt begin!

    A very enjoyable read. Well-written, smooth-flowing with well-fleshed characters and an interesting plot. I loved the idea of vampires retreating behind the Veil and then the Veil being in jeopardy. Gideon was too arrogant for my liking, but I love seeing an arrogant man being brought down later by the heroine. I really liked Simone. She was intelligent, not easily fooled and a survivor.

    This is the first book by Alexandra Ivy that I’ve read, but it won’t be my last. I look forward to reading more by her.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    highly recommend

    love the book so much i had to buy the other two that go with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Boring It was slow to start off with and the ending was just bl

    Boring

    It was slow to start off with and the ending was just blah. This was differently not her best. Not worth the read, and I have all of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Wtf

    So boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Loved it

    I love how Alexandra Ivy writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This book is the beginning to a very good vampire series... Can't wait for the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The vampire Nefri divides the magical Medallion that created the

    The vampire Nefri divides the magical Medallion that created the Veil (a utopia for all vampires) into three pieces and places them into the care of three women for safekeeping after rogue vampires decide to go after the Medallion’s power. In My Lord Vampire, we follow the arrogant Gideon Ravel on his rescue quest of one of the woman holding the Medallion, Lady Simone Gilbert. Simone has a dark secret of her own and there is a reason she wants everyone to believe she is the “Wicked Temptress” and remain apart for others. The first vampire traitor, Tristan, has located Simone and it is Gideon’s mission to protect her from him. Gideon is instantly attracted to Simone which makes protecting her just that much easier.

    This first installment of Ivy’s republished Immortal Rogues trilogy fell short for me. There is little romance and the characters just weren’t strong or unique in my mind. I did think that the premise of having the vampires living behind a Veil different but the story doesn’t touch on this alternate world much. If you are looking for a light, quick paranormal read with the standard mysterious vampire then I think you would enjoy this.

    (book was provided by publisher for an honest review)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    3.5 Stars - This is a sweet story with a little bite. Vampires

    3.5 Stars - This is a sweet story with a little bite.

    Vampires left the human realm almost two hundred years ago for the Veil. The Veil is a place where vampires can live in peace. In the Veil, they have no fear of being hunted and they are no longer slaves to their primal hungers. Now traitors are threatening their calm existence. Gideon must cross back over to the human realm to find a maiden who has unknowingly been entrusted with a portion of the medallion that protects the Veil. He must not let the medallion fall into their hands, at all costs.

    Gideon is an ideal vampire; confident, arrogant and sexy. He starts his quest with a conceit that gets blown out of the water. Vampires believe they are more intellectual and have a sense of superiority. Gideon brings that persona with him when he returns to the human realm. While he continues with his supremacy view of himself throughout most of the novel you can see Simone chipping away at his perceptions.

    Simone, Simone, Simone…What to say about her? She had a quiet strength, but there were many times I wished she would grow a spine and stand up for herself. I will concede though, that considering the period that the novel takes place in, she was much stronger than most. Ms. Ivy didn’t fall into the trap of making her a woman of that era, stronger than they really were. But like I said my modern self had troubles with that simply because of my makeup and had nothing really to do with the book.

    Gideon and Simone’s romance is hot, but in a sweet way. This book does not have explicit sex scenes, but their attraction is well described. I found myself pleasantly surprised. While the plot was not “grab your britches” enthralling, it was a nice change of pace. It had moments of greatness and I can’t wait for Lucien and Sebastian’s tales.

    If you are trying to figure out what the hype is all about, in regards to paranormal novels, My Lord Vampire might be a good starter book for you. It had more of a historical feeling to it, so you are not inundated with alternate realities and monsters. Ms. Ivy didn’t saturate the novel with vampire lore, but I do have to say that I wish she would have explained her vision of vampires more. She has developed a unique universe and I hope to learn a bit more about it in the next book.

    The next novel: My Lord Eternity is scheduled to be release late 2012 and I can’t wait to see what is in store next for these Immortal Rogues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    ?..

    Good read liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    good

    it was a good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2