Customer Reviews for

My Lord Wicked (Historical Romance)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Regency romance with a twist

My Lord Wicked is Regency romance with a few twists. When Miss Freddie Lambeth arrives at the isolated North Country home of her guardian, Lord Stacks, he is most disconcerted. All he knew of his ward, the child of his old Oxford friend, was the name Freddie; he is expe...
My Lord Wicked is Regency romance with a few twists. When Miss Freddie Lambeth arrives at the isolated North Country home of her guardian, Lord Stacks, he is most disconcerted. All he knew of his ward, the child of his old Oxford friend, was the name Freddie; he is expecting Frederick, not Fredericka. Far from a society beauty, Freddie has spent her eighteen years in the country, assisting her late father with his surgery practice, mixing herbs and medicines for him. Drawn to Lord Stacks by his considerate manner--and his botanical knowledge--she refuses to believe the rumors about his wicked past. Lord Stacks takes those rumors, and the memory of his late wife's tragic and unexplained death, all too seriously, and for the sake of her reputation he plans to send Freddie back to her life as the poor relation in her uncle's household. But somehow those plans prove all too difficult to act upon. Despite the difference in their ages--and the local suitors for Freddie's hand--guardian and ward are kindred spirits. But the mystery of Lady Stacks' death threatens to keep them apart forever. The author's deep knowledge of the Regency period provides a fascinating picture of country life, far away from the typical London society setting. Her characters remain true to their time and place, and her plot adds a Gothic twist to the romance. My Lord Wicked is another highly enjoyable read from Cheryl Bolen.

posted by Kay_Hudson on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Freddie Lambeth has just arrived at Marshbanks Abbey, the home o

Freddie Lambeth has just arrived at Marshbanks Abbey, the home of her ward. After the poor treatment received at the hands of her aunt and uncle, she hopes to have a more comfortable home than the one she’s just left.

Lord Stacks, Freddie’s guardian, is und...
Freddie Lambeth has just arrived at Marshbanks Abbey, the home of her ward. After the poor treatment received at the hands of her aunt and uncle, she hopes to have a more comfortable home than the one she’s just left.

Lord Stacks, Freddie’s guardian, is under the impression the child he has been writing to for years is a boy. The arrival of the poorly dressed waif throws him into a spin when he realizes he cannot have a young woman living with him without a chaperone. Especially since he holds a deep dark secret that makes him unfit to spend time with an innocent.

My Lord Wicked by Cheryl Bolen was an enjoyable read, but I did have a few problems with it. Nothing annoys me more than a heroine who will believe lies about the hero that someone she knows has an agenda tells her. I also object to the hero and heroine being in conflict over something that a simple question would resolve. Additionally, the ward being a contemporary of her father left me a bit squeamish.

Aside from that, which are my own personal peeves, My Lord Wicked is an interesting and entertaining read.

posted by Callie_Hutton on August 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Regency romance with a twist

    My Lord Wicked is Regency romance with a few twists. When Miss Freddie Lambeth arrives at the isolated North Country home of her guardian, Lord Stacks, he is most disconcerted. All he knew of his ward, the child of his old Oxford friend, was the name Freddie; he is expecting Frederick, not Fredericka. Far from a society beauty, Freddie has spent her eighteen years in the country, assisting her late father with his surgery practice, mixing herbs and medicines for him. Drawn to Lord Stacks by his considerate manner--and his botanical knowledge--she refuses to believe the rumors about his wicked past. Lord Stacks takes those rumors, and the memory of his late wife's tragic and unexplained death, all too seriously, and for the sake of her reputation he plans to send Freddie back to her life as the poor relation in her uncle's household. But somehow those plans prove all too difficult to act upon. Despite the difference in their ages--and the local suitors for Freddie's hand--guardian and ward are kindred spirits. But the mystery of Lady Stacks' death threatens to keep them apart forever. The author's deep knowledge of the Regency period provides a fascinating picture of country life, far away from the typical London society setting. Her characters remain true to their time and place, and her plot adds a Gothic twist to the romance. My Lord Wicked is another highly enjoyable read from Cheryl Bolen.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    This is my 5th book by Ms. Bolen, and I loved this one as I have

    This is my 5th book by Ms. Bolen, and I loved this one as I have the rest. There is only one love making scene and it is near the end of the book and tastefully done. I felt sorry for Lord Stacks and for Freddie too. I did have a slight problem at first with the big age difference, but most marriages were arranged with the poor women be married to someone her grandfather's age. I liked how the bad person was dealt with in the end. Her Uncle seemed to have a fondness for Freddie, so I wasn't sure why she was made to endure like Cinderella did. I read this in one day, it is a easy, quick read, moves fast and for over 220 pages, worth the money. (ljb)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great book!

    214 pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Freddie Lambeth has just arrived at Marshbanks Abbey, the home o

    Freddie Lambeth has just arrived at Marshbanks Abbey, the home of her ward. After the poor treatment received at the hands of her aunt and uncle, she hopes to have a more comfortable home than the one she’s just left.

    Lord Stacks, Freddie’s guardian, is under the impression the child he has been writing to for years is a boy. The arrival of the poorly dressed waif throws him into a spin when he realizes he cannot have a young woman living with him without a chaperone. Especially since he holds a deep dark secret that makes him unfit to spend time with an innocent.

    My Lord Wicked by Cheryl Bolen was an enjoyable read, but I did have a few problems with it. Nothing annoys me more than a heroine who will believe lies about the hero that someone she knows has an agenda tells her. I also object to the hero and heroine being in conflict over something that a simple question would resolve. Additionally, the ward being a contemporary of her father left me a bit squeamish.

    Aside from that, which are my own personal peeves, My Lord Wicked is an interesting and entertaining read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    A little stilted

    Started out well, but more stilted as the story developed. Hope this author's next attempt is a little more relaxed. But at least a full book (as opposed to a chapter/sample).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Not Good........................................................

    Not Good..............................................................
    Guardian didn't know she was a girl?  Guardian too old for girl?  Guardian and girl are an item.  Tsk Tsk.    After being treated unkindly by her family  she falls into this situation.  I felt bad for her.  Though I can't say I liked her very much.    Sorry I couldn't like him either---  even if he didn't kill  his wife.   The whole story seemed off to me.                                         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Try this one

    I haven't read to many of Bolens books, but this one I have read twice now and enjoyed it more the second time. It had a Jane Eyre fill about it to me. One of the reasons I liked this book is, even if I did know who the villain was and the why, you didn't have to have the usual hero rescue girl story. Stacks may have not seen the lady for who she was, but he wasn't going to have her around. Of course Freddy's family wasn't so nice, and the Doctor was nice enough, but just not Stacks. Stacks may have seemed a little wicked and it takes a while to warm up to him. Once you do you will know why Freddy loves him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I read a lot of regency books and it's hard to find one that isn

    I read a lot of regency books and it's hard to find one that isn't the normal story line of Dukes/young pretty earl's daughters and ballrooms.
    So when I first started reading this one I was HOOKED! No ballrooms, no london carriage rides etc. Just a great story about two lost souls finding each other through a common interest.
    If you are a R.R. reader then this is the book for you.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Lovely book

    Lovely book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Not worth money

    I thought the concept was cute, bought book, got sample not worth it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    recommend it.

    Interesting story, could use a little more character depth. Too short to really give the story time to develop. Quick read for when you don't have a lot of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2