Customer Reviews for

My Losing Season

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Pat Conroy makes me jealous that I did not pursue basketball in high school. His passion for the sport bleeds through the writing in his memoir, My Losing Season. In fewer than four hundred pages, Conroy takes the reader through his life on the basketball court, focus...
Pat Conroy makes me jealous that I did not pursue basketball in high school. His passion for the sport bleeds through the writing in his memoir, My Losing Season. In fewer than four hundred pages, Conroy takes the reader through his life on the basketball court, focusing on senior season on the basketball team at the Citadel. Using varied flashbacks, Conroy does a game by game analysis of his final year on the hardwood. Each of these games follows a simple equation, including: a description of the size and talent of the opposing team, the place that they are playing, the captainship, the halftime speech, and the vain efforts of Mel Thompson to keep Pat from shooting. In the last two hundred and fifty pages, each game uses this combination of descriptions, but it somehow does not get repetitive. A different hero emerges from each game, and one person in particular surfaces as the hero of the Citadel¿s season. I found myself rooting for Pat and the Citadel as I read on. Both Conroy and the military school take on the underdog role both are undersized and do not have the talent to play with much more competitive teams. Instead, both work harder, hustle more, and have more heart than anyone they would face in their disappointing season. Pat Conroy symbolizes the tough, hard-nosed Citadel basketball team, and ultimately emerges as their hero. Only Conroy can write about himself as a hero without appearing to believe that he is above everyone else. He does this by building up unbelievable ethos: a sophomore starts over him for the first few games of his senior season he is the envy of his team as the captain even though he is not a starter, and he is the leader of the ¿greenie weenies¿, the benchwarmers. He quotes his coach, Mel Thompson, at the end of the novel as saying that Pat Conroy: ¿gets more mileage out of his talent than any player I have ever coached¿ (341). Conroy makes this quote especially meaningful by building up Mel as a terrible person throughout the book. Regardless, Pat Conroy¿s memoir gives perspective in the world of basketball to many.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did we read the same book??

This book is much less than the glowing tome indicated by other readers. After reading the book I was left wondering why was it written. There were no profound insights, few compelling characters. Just a team that lost a lot of games. More frequently than not the gam...
This book is much less than the glowing tome indicated by other readers. After reading the book I was left wondering why was it written. There were no profound insights, few compelling characters. Just a team that lost a lot of games. More frequently than not the games Conroy highlights are those games in which he played well. I would expect such a book from Michael Jordan but not from a self-described mediocre point guard. Which brings up another point -- if he is so mediocre how does he rate as all state, and the Citadel MVP? Sorta like the fat guy that everyone calls Slim. I think he is actually paying homage to himself but lacks the courage to do it openly, resorting instead to frequent article insertions from local newspapers. I think the one part of the book which was most compelling was somewhat misplaced in the book. This just added to the disjointed nature of the book for me. I must admit I was unable to put the book down once I started reading it. I was looking for a point to the exercise and refused to stop reading until I found one. Alas, I found none.

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Pat Conroy makes me jealous that I did not pursue basketball in high school. His passion for the sport bleeds through the writing in his memoir, My Losing Season. In fewer than four hundred pages, Conroy takes the reader through his life on the basketball court, focusing on senior season on the basketball team at the Citadel. Using varied flashbacks, Conroy does a game by game analysis of his final year on the hardwood. Each of these games follows a simple equation, including: a description of the size and talent of the opposing team, the place that they are playing, the captainship, the halftime speech, and the vain efforts of Mel Thompson to keep Pat from shooting. In the last two hundred and fifty pages, each game uses this combination of descriptions, but it somehow does not get repetitive. A different hero emerges from each game, and one person in particular surfaces as the hero of the Citadel¿s season. I found myself rooting for Pat and the Citadel as I read on. Both Conroy and the military school take on the underdog role both are undersized and do not have the talent to play with much more competitive teams. Instead, both work harder, hustle more, and have more heart than anyone they would face in their disappointing season. Pat Conroy symbolizes the tough, hard-nosed Citadel basketball team, and ultimately emerges as their hero. Only Conroy can write about himself as a hero without appearing to believe that he is above everyone else. He does this by building up unbelievable ethos: a sophomore starts over him for the first few games of his senior season he is the envy of his team as the captain even though he is not a starter, and he is the leader of the ¿greenie weenies¿, the benchwarmers. He quotes his coach, Mel Thompson, at the end of the novel as saying that Pat Conroy: ¿gets more mileage out of his talent than any player I have ever coached¿ (341). Conroy makes this quote especially meaningful by building up Mel as a terrible person throughout the book. Regardless, Pat Conroy¿s memoir gives perspective in the world of basketball to many.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Moving and wonderful - a woman's perspective

    Pat Conroy's A Losing Season was one of the most moving stories of growing up I've ever read. Anyone who has ever participated in athletics - at any level - would benefit from reading this book. As a former athlete, coach's wife, coach's daughter and coach's sister, and mother of high school athletes, I can assure you Mr. Conroy expresses the real meaning behind what competing in athletics means; those life-changing moments that shape our future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Typical Cinderella Story

    This memoir is definitely not focused upon a feel good winning season for the Citadel Bulldogs, rather it is just the opposite. So often writers focus on the miraculous wins and comebacks that it is interesting to read a story about a season almost completely full of losses. My Losing Season really captures the struggle of a young man when things are not going all that well both on and off the court. With a strict and hot tempered father who is in the military, Pat's life was not a walk in the park. All of the times the family had to move and all of the beatings Pat received from his father made his life a living hell at times. The only joy that came in his life was from basketball. But the eight and seventeen season for the Citadel Bulldogs did not bring much joy to Pat's life either. This story puts an incredible view on sports that is easy to relate to for many athletes. There always seems to be a season in an athlete's career that everyone wants to forget, but Conroy truly brings that season of his back for his audience. Through the book he does an excellent job of showing the importance of that season. He shows his audience that one can learn more from losing than from winning.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Conroy's Winning Reflection

    As much as I enjoy Pat Conroy's fictional accounts of South Carolina and tales of all things coastal, my preference are his forays into non-fiction. This book is a wonderful look at familiar Conroy themes like The Citadel, his dysfunctional relationship with his Marine colonel father, and the whole 'southern mystique' that he examines in each of his novels. In this reflection of his senior season as an undersized and sometimes over-matched college point guard, he examines the relationship dynamics of his teammates and coach and their responses to a disappointing 1966-67 campaign. It is a love story between a young man and a game, as told by an author who can actually convey his feelings for the sport. The individual game stories may make more sense to you if you are a basketball fan, but they are not critical to the overall enjoyment of the book. It is an impressive ode to growing up, letting go, moving on, and finally to reuniting with those who helped shape your journey into adulthood. Impeccably crafted and told in classic Conroy style. Well-worth your time and interesting for any fan of this author's work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    My Losing Season - A Winner

    I'm a huge fan of Conroy's Great Santini, Prince of Tides and, especially, The Lords of Discipline. But his Beach Music was one of my biggest book-reading disappointments ever. So much so that I never intended to read this non-fiction work. But I got it as a gift from my wife, and Mr. Conroy will be happy to know he's back in my good graces. It's a coming-of-age novel in the form of a nonfiction memoir. Keeping it rolling are Conroy's gifts of observation and writing, no doubt. But the big plus are the ... 'interesting' antagonists of this work -- Conroy's abusive father and his cold college basketball coach. Conroy readers know the father from Santini, of course, but Santini proves to have been sanitized. This is one heck of a page-turner, for us basketball fans and for those who simply like a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    HONEST ALMOST TO A FAULT

    A raw honest book, where Mr. Conroy exposes the details of a tough childhood, and his inner ability to rebound through sport and literature. A beautiful narritive that glves one insight into ones own life, that helps give meaning to suffering and redemption. I could not recommed this book more highly for anyone who has experienced the pitfalls and triumphs of a life time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Quite Surprised

    My wife bought me this book for Christmas after seeing Pat on some morning show, and to tell you the truth I didn't plan on reading it soon, or did I think it would be any good, but I absolutely loved it. Being a former college basketball player myself, coach and referee everything the author described brought back many memories of when basketball was simple and fun, not ruined by the ESPN Vitale Headband Long Trunks Self Absorbant Dunks that are the norm today. I loved it so much I bought the audio CD to listen to on long trips. Very accomplished writer describing to us about his fears, his relationship with his father and his wins in life despite the losing season. Most of all it taught about pride and respect which comes from life kicking you down, but you get back up. Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    A Truly Memerable Life; it will not be forgotten

    This book is truly is masterpiece. Conroy writes with excitement, fear, intensity, and with the spirit and soul of a talented man. If you enjoy Conroy, this book is the story of how his star basketball career and young childhood make him who he is today. This biography depicts the true childhood of Conroy, from his sweet sixteen days to his horrible days at The Citadel. A classic to cherish and relive!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    A treasure!

    I was deeply moved by Mr. Conroy's book. I treasured every sentence in his book as his writing style is honest and complete. You do not have to like basketball to enjoy this book. I admire the courage of Mr. Conroy to tell his story. This book makes you think long and hard about your own life and it is another testament that we can become the person we want to be with persistance and thoughtfulness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    One of the best sports books

    As a Conroy fan I was very interested in this autobiographical tale of a young man's journey to adulthood. The book captures feelings about a sport and its participants that only those who play or coach can really appreciate. It is very well written. Anyone who reads who is not moved to tears several times has never been a player or a son. Put it on your must-read list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    wonderful, typical Conroy

    loved the book as I have every Conroy book - except for The Boo - which doesn't count - great prose, great feeling, great expression - although non-fiction it's hard for me to separate his fiction from his reality - probably more of a guy book because of the bball, Conroy bares his sole (again) and as always,makes the end of the book make me sad because I fear never finding another work as good as the one I have just finished

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    The only way to win is to play the game

    Pat Conroy is one of favorite authors, not just because of his great skill as a writer but also due to his gift of bringing the South Carolina Low Country and its many characters and communities to life. In My Losing Season readers grasp the reality of the constant moves of military families, life as a Catholic school student and athlete, becoming part of a small sea island town like Beaufort, S.C. and the rigors of being a student-athlete AND knob at The Citadel. Throw in the ever-abusing father/nit wit Don Conroy and self-absorbed coach Mel Thompson and the mix is complete. Well, almost. Conroy's research for this book is extensive. At the suggestion of a Citadel teammate during his book signing tour for Beach Music, the author pieces together his senior year of basketball when the Bulldogs (Puppies to those of us who follow Georgia) floundered in an 8-17 season. But as many of us who have been part of a losing season can tell you, there are many victories within a life, even if the record books show otherwise. Conroy creates a masterful blend of locker room chitchat, rivalries and hurt egos allowing readers to become, in essence, part of the team. In Losing season, Conroy, more than any sports story I can remember, includes the team's manager as part of their story; part of their feeling of angst; part of their will to survive under the unwavering ranting of a coach who cannot or will not adjust his coaching style to accomodate the military orientation of The Citadel. The "victory" for these players is not recorded in the scorebook, rather from their ability to play the game, look life in the face and march on in the face of adversity; indeed, a lesson we all need to learn at some point in our lives. The Citadel is not a place for sissies, and neither is life! Conroy dispenses this bit of logic time and again, finally overcoming his father's bullying when the elder Conroy won't accept his son's challenge of a one-one-game after Pat's senior season. Losing Season also touches on the era's most painful subject: Vietnam. In recalling fallen comrades and POW's, Conroy establishes the fact that while The Citadel's many alumni go on to lead lives outside of the military, many more do maintain military careers, sometimes paying the ultimate price. In his efforts to bring many issues to life, and salve wounds to the school created when he wrote The Lords of Discipline, Conroy has prouduced a magnificent work. One that not only displays his love and affection for his teammates but also for his alma mater. After all he, like others who brave the school's harsh plebe system, wears the ring. He polishes it nicely with My Losing Season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    The Citadel exposed

    Thank you, Pat Conroy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    there is a lot to learn from losing than winning seasons

    my losing season is a great peace of writing. A book that teaches you everything about the life of a basketball player and the life of the military college.there is a lot be learn, ususally writes talk about the winning season but in this book the writer pat conroy talk about how a losing season and the four years of college can stay with you for reat of your life. the people that you go to college with, your teachers and the teams that you play against leaves a wonderful memoey to remember. a something that you remeber for rest of your lifatime and you tell storie your kids and your grand kids. you can never talk about it enough. a great novel, i really enjoyed reding it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Great Read

    I though My Losing Season was an excellent read. Pat Conroy gives the world a first hand look at his experiences while attending the Citadel. He shows what it's like to be an ordinary guy on a losing basketball team.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Great Book

    Pat Conroy's 'My Losing Season' really shows what Conroy is about. From his abusive father to the troubles of growing up and finding himself, he has it all in this book. This is the second novel I have read by him and his style of writing encaptures the reader into his wonderful stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    An honest story

    As a contemporary of the author, I was drawn to the story of his visit with his Vietnam POW classmate and his regrets over failing to serve in military during the war. It was a heartfelt admission by a baby boomer who, in the quiet of the night, recognized that he had not become the man he had hoped to be. I enjoyed every page of this wondeful book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    This book takes your breathe away

    I gave the audio version of this book to my father for Christmas.After he finished listening to it I have listened to it. This book is so wonderful. Every word has meaning to it. Mr. Conroy writes so well, that you can hear the crowd roaring, the ball bouncing off the rim and torment his father caused. This is a fantastic book. I would highly recommend it. If you purchase the audio version, the narrator captures the essence of this book beautifully.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    A Must Read!

    This is one of the most enjoyable books I've ever read. I don't often feel a desire to re-read a book but I already want to go back and experience this one all over again. It might make it more enjoyable if you've read Conroy's other books but I don't think it's necessary. The conversation he holds with one of the characters from Lords of Discipline is wonderful. The scene where he takes a couple to the grave of their son who was killed in Vietnam is sure to make even the most stoic reader choke up. This book is definitely a must read for any Conroy fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Triple Double SLAM DUNK book

    Conroy continues to write with prose that is spellbinding. I continue to be amazed at how terrible his home life was growing up. That he made it to adulthood with his head screwed on right is an amazing tribute. My hat is off to him as a great writer and, even more important, a wonderful human being.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2