BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Lunatic Life

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend this book!

I find anything that is written by Sharon Sala is a 'must read'. She is a fantastic story teller. Looking forward to the follow-up story, Lunatic Detective. Happy to be sharing this with my daughters and grand daughters......

posted by 314795 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable quick read!

Review by Jen:
My Lunatic Life is the first in Sharon Sala's new YA paranormal mystery series. Sala is a well-known romantic suspense author with 85 novels under her belt. And now she's trying her hand with YA fiction.

As I read this book, I had to keep reminding...
Review by Jen:
My Lunatic Life is the first in Sharon Sala's new YA paranormal mystery series. Sala is a well-known romantic suspense author with 85 novels under her belt. And now she's trying her hand with YA fiction.

As I read this book, I had to keep reminding myself that I was reading an uncorrected proof, review copy because there were some small things that should be caught during the final editing. But I found the premise of this series intriguing and this first book solid.

Sala keeps the mystery in this book pretty simple since she's spending a lot of time introducing characters and world building. Tara's new in town, so it's perfect for us to meet people as she is, but we also get glimpses into her past and how her unusual upbringing has shaped who she is... a teenage psychic whose two best friends are ghosts.

My only real issue with this book, as YA fiction, is the dialog. Keeping in mind that I'm in my mid-thirties, I found the dialog between the teenage characters to feel rather fake or forced. In one moment, the characters seemed to be quite mature and the next it's almost as if a "valley girl" possessed them.

There was also some minor "head-hopping" (a particular pet peeve of mine) that jumped out at me. And I got overly tired with Tara's repetitious proving herself as physic (although probably not at frustrated as Tara gets). But I did enjoy the book, which was a quick read, and look forward to the next book to see what happens to Tara next.

posted by RtBBlog on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Highly Recommend this book!

    I find anything that is written by Sharon Sala is a 'must read'. She is a fantastic story teller. Looking forward to the follow-up story, Lunatic Detective.
    Happy to be sharing this with my daughters and grand daughters......

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book with a great story line. I can't wait to read

    Really great book with a great story line. I can't wait to read the next one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    GREAT !!!!!!

    Its the first one in the series,and I Loved it,and got the second one,great for young girls,and also 56 year olds too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    cute book fast read

    This was a quick fast read and a nice start to a new series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As If High School Were Not Difficult Enough...

    The life of the average teenager is far from easy, but for Tara Luna the complications might seem overwhelming. After all, as a psychic, she can read the thoughts of others, which makes dating an insurmountable challenge (what with all of those gross thoughts in boy's heads). Also, she can see and interact with spirits. If you ever want to seem crazy, try talking to a "person" whom only you perceive. For the record, that usually leads to a diagnosis of schizophrenia. However, Tara is fortunate in a number of ways-she has the love of her Uncle Pat, the only family she knows at this point, and the protection of her two best friends, Henry and Millicent, who happen to be ghosts. And at her new school Tara has Flynn, her new boyfriend who is as much of an outcast as she is. Of course, she must deal with more popular "mean girls" who are hellbent on making her life miserable, but it comes with the territory of adolescence. Now, unfortunately for Tara, a new problem has surfaced, one that is less than typical for the average teen-a dark spirit demands Tara's assistance in solving the case of her mysterious murder, and if she thinks that Prissy and her popular female cronies are capable of bringing her hell, just wait until she recognizes the potential of this ghost to make her life a nightmare. Then, to add to the drama, a girl from school disappears, and it seems like Tara is the only one who can find her. Time is short, and who knows what it will take. Welcome to Tara's lunatic life...
    ...My Lunatic Life is the new novel from award-winning, highly-acclaimed author Sharon Sala, who is a specialist in both romance and suspense genres. This new series, which details the extraordinary life of Tara Luna, is of a more paranormal sort and perfect for avid readers of young adult fiction with a more supernatural nature. My Lunatic Life marks the start of this YA paranormal mystery series and of Tara's adventures in her complicated and challenging world. Look for My Lunatic Life by Sharon Sala, in bookstores everywhere.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    A Lot of Fun!!

    I received a copy of this book free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Tara Luna leads a very unusual life. First, she is being raised by her Uncle Pat, who is a displaced hippie who moves her from place to place, never staying for very long. He has been raising her since she was a baby, when her parents died in a car accident. Second, her two best friends are Milllicent and Henry, ghosts who have been with her for as long as she can remember. Third, she's psychic, although she has tried very hard to hide it from everyone. When she was younger she used to try to tell her Uncle Pat about her visions and her "friends", but he told her not to talk about, that he didn't believe in that stuff at all. She learned that it's hard enough always being the new girl without everyone thinking she was crazy to boot.

    When the book starts, she and Uncle Pat have moved again and she is starting her senior year of high school. She starts out with her usual routine of trying to blend in and not draw attention to herself, but when the cheerleaders demand that she move from the table she is sitting at (THEIR table), she decides enough is enough! It's her last year and she's not just gonna take it any more! She stands up to them and is immediately put on their hit list. Instead of hiding her talent, she starts using it, sometimes to help people (a teacher who doesn't know her babysitter is stealing money from her, and a boy who is having a seizure in one of the boy's bathrooms), and sometimes just to get people off her back and out of her face (usually the aforementioned cheerleaders!). When the head cheerleader, Bethany, is kidnapped, Tara starts getting psychic flashes that only last moments where she sees what Bethany sees and feels what Bethany feels.

    The only good thing that happens to Tara when she starts the new school is Flynn O'Mara, the hottest boy in the school, and he's noticing her right back! Unfortunately, he's the ex-boyfriend of the missing cheerleader, Bethany, which complicates things a bit.

    Another problem in Tara's life is that her new house has a ghost living in, and what she learns about this new house-guest sets her off on another quest to use her gift to help the ghost get justice.

    I really liked this book because it was nonstop action from page 1. It had a good clean YA romance, a couple of mysteries to solve, and a lot of humor. It was really funny! This is how the book starts off:

    "The alarm that Tara Luna had set with such confidence last night yanked her rudely from Channing Tatum's arms, just when he was about to kiss her.

    OMG ... did the universe have a wicked sense of humor or what?"

    Maybe you have to have a huge crush on Channing Tatum like I do to really appreciate that one, but I laughed out loud when I read it!

    I could go on longer about all the things I liked about this book and other things going on, but I'm sure you're bored with me by now! The book ended on a cliff hanger, setting up the next book in the series, and I for one am going to be buying it as soon as I can :D

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    My Lunatic Life
    By Sharon Sala
    Tara Luna worries about all the natural tings, the new town, new school, new popular kids, and a new crush on a nice looking guy who may or may not have done prison time. Outside being a social outcast, she has the SUPER-natural worries. Like her two best-friends (ghosts.as in, dead but vocal and overprotective) not to mention she has some not-so-friendly ghosts haunting her new house. Then she finds out about an old murder...If she doesn't solve the murder, the enraged ghost will seek vengeance on its own. Which might not be a bad thing, except it may kill a classmate.and her.

    I loved this book. It was fantastic, a teenage psychic: an old sort of theme, revived by Sharon Sala. It was exciting, and perfectly balanced. The typical psychic plotholes are nonexistant, it steered clear of all the usual mistakes. The only negative was the language. It had a fantastic, high action ending. I highly recommend this book (especially for Halloween!) I'm looking forward to the next installment to see what happens next to Tara.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highy recommended. You must check it out.

    Loved this book. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great Read

    I got this as the book of the day and was a little skeptic, 20 pages in I was hooked, cant wait to read the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Fun read

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    10 stars!

    One of my new favorite book series! This series is not just for young adults, I am 42 and I loved it! Refreshing and funny. A MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Good ? O.o

    Is this a good book to read , like worth the $ ? Confused ... /.\

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Alsome

    Sounds like a total alsome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Amurah

    This book is awsome!!!!!!!:-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1