Customer Reviews for

My Man Michael

Average Rating 3
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Man Michael by Lori Foster

Lori Foster continues her SBC fighter series with My Man Michael, and as usual she has a winner! Although a tad different from her other SBC books, My Man Michael will take you on a ride that you won¿t want to forget.

Michael ¿Mallet¿ Manchester, upcoming ex...
Lori Foster continues her SBC fighter series with My Man Michael, and as usual she has a winner! Although a tad different from her other SBC books, My Man Michael will take you on a ride that you won¿t want to forget.

Michael ¿Mallet¿ Manchester, upcoming extreme fighter in the SBC has a shot at the championship, the one thing he has spent years working and training for. But a sudden and tragic car accident takes that away. Injured, in pain and depressed, Michael ¿Mallet¿ Manchester doesn¿t have a clue what he is going to do with his life. Fighting was his life and it will take him a lot of time and effort to even be able to walk so fighting was out of the question. So what is a man to do? What can possibly bring Michael back to the life he loves?

Suddenly out of nowhere, Kayli Raine appears, tougher than most women and Michael is instantly captivated. Thinking his pain medicine is causing hallucinations, Michael doesn¿t believe her when she offers him a chance to be whole again. But to even think about having that chance gives Michael the motivation to accept her challenge. What comes next is something he never dreamed of and a story that you don¿t want to miss!

Lori Foster continues to enthrall her readers with her fabulous characters and setting so real it¿s hard not to feel as if you are in the story yourself. Her outstanding books make her a continuing favorite! Way to go Lori!

posted by Debs_Book_Nook on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Man Michael...so not what I expected

This book was alright. I think Lori Foster should have kept it real instead of putting a sci-fi twist on the series expecially with this character.

I was looking forward to "The Mallets" story then to have the sci-fi crap tossed in I was disappointed.
This book was alright. I think Lori Foster should have kept it real instead of putting a sci-fi twist on the series expecially with this character.

I was looking forward to "The Mallets" story then to have the sci-fi crap tossed in I was disappointed.

Hopefully the next story about Dean will be a bit more par to course with the series.

posted by 912101 on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I feel cheated!!!

    I read the first couple of chapters and then threw my book across the room!! I am so upset. I don't think it's fair of an author to take a series that is loved, and a character that people are really looking forward to reading about, and just change it into something entirely different. If she wants to write time travel books, fine!! But she should have wrote a time travel book that wasn't already part of an established series. I hope that she doesn't do this to any future SBC books, if she does then as much as I enjoy her writing, I will not continue to read her books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I want my money back!

    Time Travel. Really? Why not alien space invaders or animals that talk to cheese? Maybe because up until now this series has centered around characters who live in the real world!!! They could have at least mentioned the small fact of this book being a futuristic piece of crap on the description before i went ahead and bought it. Very Dissapointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    So bad!

    Nothing in the pre-views I read about this book prepared me for how bad it would be! Didn't expect time travel and space ships in what I thought would be a romance novel. The time travel background was lame and the characters weren't much better. All around let down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    If You Like the SBC Fighters Series Skip this book!

    I was extremely bummed with Lori Foster's My Man Micheal. I was really excited to read the newest of the SBC series, but this wasn't anything like the other SBC books. It makes zero sense to me why she screwed up the SBC series like this.

    This would have been a wonderful book if she hadn't used the SBC series to bring in her paranormal world.

    I'm very disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    Disappointing!

    I was disappointed with this book. Based on the other books in this series I was so excited that the next book was finally out. What a let down! This is the first of any Lori Foster book that I didn't finish. At about halfway thru the 2nd chapter I didn't want to read it anymore. I flipped to the end and was so glad I didn't finish reading it. What a waste of a book. This author is one of my favorites, but I guess even she has off books. I was just disappointed to see this was one of them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    SO DISAPOINTING !!!!

    I had been waiting so long to read "Mallet's" story and was so disapointed !! Lori what have you done ?? It was so un-realistic and so far from the other books in the series. I think she could have wrote this book using another character, not one from the SBC . Tho I really tried to enjoy it , I kept thinking on every page , this is so far fetched and tell me he is going to wake up from this dream . <BR/>I love Lori Foster's writting and she got me hooked from Jude's Law and I hope she continues this series.... but back on earth !!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    Disappointing!!

    I was truely disappointed by this book. I was so looking forward to a new book in this series, I have throughly enjoyed this series thus far. I found it completely unfair that she went into the future with this book. I didn't even finish the book, just skimmed it hoping and praying that there was more to the book...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    A Major Disappointment

    Not at all expected based on the previous 3 books. This is a science fiction novel, not a contemporary romance. If you like the SBC series, I wouldn't waste your time with this book. It doesn't fit in with the series other than Michael being in previous books. I was really hoping that he was just really drugged up while healing from the accident and he'd wake up from this crazy dream, but by Chapter 4 I was so done. The other characters from the SBC make a brief visit probably to justify the claim that it's Book #4 in the series.<BR/><BR/>Ok, I think I've bagged on this story enough. Read at your own risk.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Very disappointing!

    I really enjoyed this series she was working with. Loved Havoc, Simon, etc. But what was she thinking? Way to weird. Could have done this another way and so much better. Stay clear of this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    Not normal for Lori Foster

    I enjoy reading Lori Foster's books so much that whenever she comes out with a new book, I never read the back of it before buying...after all, it's "LORI FOSTER"!! *S*
    After reading My Man Michael, I will now read the back of all of her future books before buying.
    WOW! What a completely different type of writing for her. It goes beyond light reading. The characters are not deep, the storyline is ridiculous, yet I continued reading hoping it would get better...but it didn't. I did make it to the end but only out of sheer will.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Dont' do it

    I love Lori Foster, but not this book. So sorry I actually paid money for it. Not her usual.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    disappointing

    waited for this book to come out and was so disappointed by it. Love Lori Foster books, but she dropped the ball on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Surprised in a BAD way!

    I have enjoyed all the SBC stories and was so excited about this book coming out. I looked forward to continuing this series, reading about these characters I've come to know and love and then...I was shocked when I started reading it. Ms. Foster (who is one of my favorite authors) could have done so much with Michael. When I realized this story was turning into some sort of sci-fi novel, I really tried to get through it but ended up just putting it down. Why in the world would she take such a great series and ruin it this way? I loved "Mallet" in the last book and think he deserves so much more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    NO WAY!!!!

    I am normally very excited when a new Lori Foster book comes out - this time I was very DISAPPOINTED. When I realized after the first few pages this book had a scfi twist I had to stop reading.

    I am not sure what purpose mixing these genere's served - next time I will read the first chapter in the store before spending the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Avid Reader

    I will have to agree that this book was a huge disappointment. I have all the available Lori Foster novels and short stories. She is a wonderful sometimes funny author that I have enjoyed reading in the past. As a general rule I pre-order all her books months in advance but realize that I can no longer do this. I never finished this book which is very rare for me. I have over 40 authors that I collect and I am trying new authors all the time. From these there have been only 5 books I have not been able to complete reading. This is one of those 5, in fact I threw this one away which was a first for me. I tried multiple times to read it but I just got more frustrated with each attempt, so I tossed it and considered it a lesson paid for.

    I don't have a problem with the author trying new stuff. I wish she hadn't done it with the SBC series because I have really enjoyed it but that is her right as an author. I am angry with the publisher for not being more clear in the advertising blurb. She has the right to pen anything she wants and as a reader I have the right to skip buying something I know I won't like. I can't do that if the publisher isn't honest about the books they sell. There was nothing in the blurb to suggest that this was a futuristic plot and the SBC series has been a contemporary romance in the past. The publisher should have made it clear that this was not a book in the same genru and they did not. I find that decieving to the reader. I had no reason to believe that I was not getting anything other than a tried and true Foster SBC book when in fact what I got was an experiment that I hated.

    I am sorry that we will miss Mallet's story. I was looking forward to it for months, but I have no wish to finish his story with the current plot. The SBC is a great series and I will enjoy re-reading the prior books but I have lost confidence in Foster for future purchases and will move her off my preferred author list. I will also be doing more research on any of my authors that use the Berkley Romance publisher. They are not to be trusted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    What Happened????

    I was waiting for the new book on the SBC fighters. I was so disappointed. If I wanted a book on paranormal, time traveling I would have gotten one of her other books. I put the book in the Goodwill pile by the 4th chapter. I tried getting into the book but I just couldn't. I love the way Lori usually blends the characters from other books. It made me want to keep buying! I wish I would have read everyone's reviews before buying the book. Hopefully Drew's story will be a lot better than this one. I will definitely wait until I read the reviews from her readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was so excited for another Lori Foster book in her SBC series. I love series books where characters can be re-visited. However, I am not into the para normal or sci-fi. I bought the book and never finished it. Ms. Foster and LL Foster books should never meet!. Each series of books offer something different. I am looking forward to the next SBC book and hoping it is written in this world only. This is how Christina Skye lost me as a fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    Really Bad

    I mean, REALLY bad. The plot was absurd and the characters were silly and shallow. I'll be hesitant to buy Drew Black's story now (I'll have to stand in the store aisle and scan a few pages to see if Lori reverts to her earlier, fun, SBC writing days)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    I am a fan of Lori but I am really sorry to say this one SUCKED...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    What happened?

    First off, I really enjoy reading Lori Foster's books and have recommended them to friends. Even her L. L. Banks¿ books are good. However, I am not sure what is going on lately. I started My Man Michael and it was really hard to like the characters. It reads like a horrible cheesy romance novel. Then when I am expecting a contemporary romance it turns into paranormal romance with time travel. I tired to like it & keep reading but finally gave up. The SBC series started out really good with Causing Havoc & Simon Says but then it started to stumble with the guys being too cocky & full of themselves and the girls are too perfect. <BR/><BR/> Save your money on this one and wait until her books Impetuous (June 1) & Scandalous (March 1) come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2