Customer Reviews for

My Man Michael

Average Rating 3
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

a fascinating futuristic science fiction romance

Twenty-six years old Michael ¿Mallet¿ Manchester is a month away from his SBC title shot that he and most pundits believe he will win. That was before the car accident left his right leg mangled, his fighting career over, and since he knows nothing else he is moping an...
Twenty-six years old Michael ¿Mallet¿ Manchester is a month away from his SBC title shot that he and most pundits believe he will win. That was before the car accident left his right leg mangled, his fighting career over, and since he knows nothing else he is moping and bitter. He believes his life is over.

Kayle Raine enters his hospital room calling him a loser as a warrior never mopes regardless of the conditions of her limbs. She offers him an intriguing deal. Though Mallet believes he must be hallucinating from the pain medicine, he accepts her transaction; she will heal his injuries in exchange he will go back to the future with her people have become weak couch potatoes. She hides her real mission in taking him to 2220, which is his mating with a woman; but the rules forbid Kayle from being that lucky female.

This is an entertaining major twist to Lori Foster¿s SBC contemporary romances as the story line is a fascinating futuristic science fiction romance. Mallet is fabulous as he goes from total sulking ready to withdraw from life to stunned champion. Though the early twenty-third century does not seem quite real (could it be his drugs?), fans will relish the love between the rescuer and the rescued if they can each overcome their inadequacy fears.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Man Michael...so not what I expected

This book was alright. I think Lori Foster should have kept it real instead of putting a sci-fi twist on the series expecially with this character.

I was looking forward to "The Mallets" story then to have the sci-fi crap tossed in I was disappointed.
This book was alright. I think Lori Foster should have kept it real instead of putting a sci-fi twist on the series expecially with this character.

I was looking forward to "The Mallets" story then to have the sci-fi crap tossed in I was disappointed.

Hopefully the next story about Dean will be a bit more par to course with the series.

posted by 912101 on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    My Man Michael...so not what I expected

    This book was alright. I think Lori Foster should have kept it real instead of putting a sci-fi twist on the series expecially with this character. <BR/><BR/>I was looking forward to "The Mallets" story then to have the sci-fi crap tossed in I was disappointed. <BR/><BR/>Hopefully the next story about Dean will be a bit more par to course with the series.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ehh...

    I've enjoyed all of the books in the SBC series but didn't think this one was as good. If it had been a book all it's own without being part of the series it would have been alright. I am a fan of the fantasy genre, but I've never been a big fan of time travel books so my judgement might be a bit colored. That being said, I didn't like the incorporation of time travel into this series.
    The characters were okay, but I didn't get into them as much as with the other books that she's written. I'm looking forward to the next book and hoping that it's more in keeping with the rest of the books in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    What happened?

    I love Lori Foster, but this was not one of my favorite books. The whole "I'm from the future" theme was shallow. There was very little explanation or description given about the ship, the planet, anything. <BR/>It seems like maybe the author was on a deadline, and writing fast. <BR/>Not up to her usual standard, but a pretty good book anyway.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Out of left field

    I was expecting another story line like her previous SBC fighter novels. Then whoa! It's a paranormal, extra-terrestrial, futuristic tale. Maybe if I knew what I was in for I would have been receptive. As it was, the sudden genre change really threw me for a loop. It may be because this so far out of her norm that it seemed contrived and predictable. Definitely not one of her best or even better novels. Hopefully, things will be back on track with future stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was okay

    If you are familiar with the series of books this spins off of you are going to be really surprised. This as an okay read but it went off into a scifi place when I was expecting realism, like the other USB books (the main character is a USB fighter introduced in another book). I read it because it was a part of the series but I hope she goes back to the real world plots if she continues with USB books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    Not my favorite of lori foster

    The whole series were great until this book. Her books usually take a couple of days to read, but this book took a while. The whole time travle thing....not my thing! What happen to the SBC figting??? What happened to the other characters from the other books????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Mallet last fighlhter

    I found thid to not be up to par.futuristicc is ok but it dragged.ok i just finished readinng the book to have them all read together.IIt just couldnt hold my interest...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sci Fi Surprise

    Okay so this book was a surprise for me. It was a SBC book but there was SciFi mixed into it. A little different than Lori's regular stuff but I was hooked within the first chapter. Read it in a day so you gotta love quick reads that entertain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    1st Romantic Novel

    I'll be honest, this is my first book of this sort. It has a very sci-fi perspective and is entertaining and fun to read but overall the characters are pretty forgettable and so is the story. I guess I was looking for a book like this to stick with me like one of those dreams you wake up from and think about all day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Well...just ok

    Reallllly disappointed with the time travel twist. I love the SBC series but to put an unrealistic angle sucks! If I wanted fantasy like this I would read that specifically, but Foster's other books never had this slant.
    Disappointing at first, but once you get over the time travel a good romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1