Customer Reviews for

My Name Is Chloe (Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Cloe #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Love

    I love the love storie books and i rhink this book is very interesting and when i started reading it at first i thought it was so you know awesome and fun cause it was putting in suspense and everything so if you have not read this book yet you should cause its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Omg my name is chloe!

    I didnt read this yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good book

    I do like this book but they could have added more detal but i still gets 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    This book deserves more than 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!

    Chloe is an exceptional character. She is searching for God in a serious way but doesnt hav the love or support from her parents she needs. Her friends hav pretty much lleft her and 2 unlikely ones come along and she leads them both to Christ and starts a band. THe next book is even better!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Uhhhhh

    I thought this book was ok. I usually like all of melodys wotk but this one pretty muuch just bored me.......soorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!

    Loved this book!!!! the whole series is great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    amazing book!

    I would have to say that this is book is pretty much like everyday life if you think about it. This girl named Chloe is a very confident girl, but doesn't show it. She hides her true self. When she opens up to the world she found the only master she needs "god." When I read this book I felt as if I was in Chloe's shoes. I can picture and imagine all the thoughts she has, and the things that happen to her.
    I am a person who doesn't like to read, but when I started reading that book I didn't want to let it down. Good thing this book is in a series. I think the people that play a role in this book are alive. I see them as hard, caring, loving, trying people, especially Chloe. I think that's how people should be not all down and depressed. Well one day Chloe was that person, but one day a shocker of a lifetime came to her. She found god! Chloe is a good person, even after what people have said or done to her. She says a lot "take the chance you have you'll be lucky." Also when people try to put her aside and goes on she gained love, and power in her life.
    This book is filled with adventures. No, Chloe doesn't hang with the best people, but she does it to help them out. Chloe is the kind of person who knows, and hangs with wrong people, but doesn't do the things they do. Chloe has her own band. Well you're probably thinking by now what the world is going on in this book? Well to tell you the truth this book is lovely if you love adventure, and mystery this book is for you. Don't let it down you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    It was like looking in a mirror

    Seriously, I thought the book would be a nice read, but once I got started on it, it was like I was reading thoughts out of my own head. I thought "Wow, someone wrote a book on my life!"

    Her thoughts are very real, and similar to ones teens have today. Fear of being all alone out in the universe, or your mistakes, and your curiosity in things unseen.

    Its very real, and a great story to give you hope, or that warms your heart. I can't wait to read the other three sequils.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Life for Chloe Miller

    The book Dairy of a Teenage Girl: My Name is Chloe by Melody Carlson is a very good insight to a troubled teen's life. It was published by Multnomah Books in Colorado Springs, CO in 2002. My Name is Chloe shows you the life of a teen girl who is confused and troubled until she finds God and lets him into her heart and things start turning around.
    The young teen girl, Chloe Miller, is going through a rough time being different than everyone else and a freshman in high school. She has questions and doubts and is confused on who she is or what she believes. After an unusual encounter with God, Chloe's life starts to change for the better and she sets out on a spiritual mission. Along the way she meets two friends, Allie and Laura, who all form a band called Redemption and there lives together take off. Come along for the ride of Chloe's life! This is just as good as the Caitlin O'Conner series, if you have read them.
    My Name is Chloe gives insight, hope, and an interesting ride with a teen who finds herself and friends. This is a very good page-turner and the series should be interesting. You never know what will happen with God on your side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Heart-filled Story of a Not-So-Average Teen Discovering Who She Really Is.

    The book, Diary of a Teenage Girl: My name is Chloe, by Melody Carlson, definitely deserves five stars! The book is about your not-so-average teenage girl named Chloe. Chloe has no friends, a family that doesn't understand her, is totally different then everyone else, and is gothic. Just when everything seems hopeless for Chloe, she makes two good friends that will change her life forever. With Allie believing in Wicca 'a program that deals with witchcraft' and Laura being a Christian, they have an adventure of a lifetime while trying to discover who they really are. Not long after they become friends, Chloe makes a decision that will change her life for the better. This book was absolutely fantastic and there was not a single flaw I could find in it. In the very beginning of the book, I had nothing what so ever in common with Chloe. I liked how I got to experience some one who was the total opposite of me. I really liked how the book was written as a diary with Chloe writing in it because it showed how she really felt and what was going on around her while most teens don't express that in real life. I also liked how she, along with the help of God, her friends, and believing in herself, found who she was and where she belonged. I, myself, find this to be very true. Without the help of all of those, tasks can be hard, if not impossible, to accomplish. This book is a part of a series. It is the first book in the Chloe branch of the series. This book reminds me of the movie Rudolph. Even though this movie is for children, it has the same overall idea and message. Rudolph, at first, is not accepted for who he is and throughout the whole movie is trying to find where he belongs. At the end of the movie though, while being true to himself, finds who he really is. If you enjoyed this book, you will love books by Lurlene McDaniel because her books also have to do with real people with real problems. If you are a girl anywhere between the ages of twelve to eighteen and like books about real life situations, then this book is for you! This book teaches many lessons about being true to yourself, knowing who your real friends are, and never giving up in yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    An incredible book

    This book was great.I really enjoyed it.It is about a girl whose name is Chloe Miller,and has lots of questions about God and why he does certain things.Then she goes to a graveyard and there and therefore she builds her relationship with Christ and starts going to church with her brother and his friend Caitlan.Thank you Ms.Carlson for writing this incredible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Amazing

    This book was truly incredible. I have never seen so much of myself in a novel's protagonist as I did with Chloe in this book. I'm sure many, many other teenagers could relate to how Chloe felt torn as well. It wouldn't even have to be a teenager, really. Anyone can experience the feeling of being lost, not knowing what to believe. Anyhow, the book was great. It'll always be one of my favorites. It's definently worth your while to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    A girl named Chloe goes to a school and is not liked. She has a problem with this girl named Tiffany, because Tiffany doesn¿t like her. Chloe and Tiffany get into a fight and something happens. Then Chloe tries to be in a play. Tiffany also what to be in it to so what will happen between the two. Tiffany is a type of person that thinks she is better than other people. My Name IS Chloe is the title, and Chloe Miller is telling the story but Melody Carlson is the author. So if you want to know what happen you will have to read the book. What I like is that it tells how people that are not liked may have problems in school. I did not like it because, they did not like Chloe. They didn¿t like Chloe because she wore black, and different things then they wore to school. My Name Is Chloe is part of a series but you can¿t read them out of order, IF you read them out of order you may get confused. People that like stories, about the author¿s life may like this book, Yes there is a movie that reminds me of it and the name of it is Freak the Mighty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Searching

    My Name is Chloe, by Melody Carlson, is the story of a girl who turns her life around. At the beginning of the book, Chloe Miller is a girl who loves to make music and sing. She dresses kind of grunge and has her own opinions about everything. This makes her unpopular, especially as she is just entering high school. One girl that she doesn¿t like is Tiffany Knight. She tried hard to be ¿popular¿ and is mean to everyone. One day she almost gets into a fight with Chloe, but a girl named Laura saves her. She begins to make friends with another girl named Allie. When Allie comes to her house, she confesses that she is into witchcraft. This scares Chloe a little, but she thinks Allie is a really nice girl. Allie is interested in playing the drums, so she and Chloe play together sometimes. Chloe is also becoming friends with Laura. She plays bass, and the three of them are forming a band. Laura is introducing Chloe to having a relationship with God. One night, after Chloe performs at a local coffee shop, she feels very different and asks Jesus to enter her heart. From then on she is a Christian. Chloe thinks life with God will be perfect. At first it is, but then she learns that it¿s just life. And what will happen with their band? I really liked this book because it showed that when you have faith you can accomplish great things. Also, it showed that life isn¿t always perfect and was very realistic. I liked that the book didn¿t make everything sound perfect it made it real-life. The detail was pretty well-done. The only thing I didn¿t like was how in some spots, the plot seemed to slow down. Despite this, I still rate the book as a 5/5. This is the first book in the Chloe series, so you should read it first. You will enjoy this book if you have read other Melody Carlson books. Anyone trying to make their faith deeper or just looking for an uplifting story, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Attention all JesusFreaks

    I really enjoyed this book becauses is brought some insight as to how some people find God. Now I knew that he was always there,but what amazes me is that no one knows that he's there. Any ways I thouroghly enjoyed this book and I hope you some how find God with it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    this is a really good book

    Diaries of a Teenage Girl is a really good series. The book I recommend to read first is, My name is Chloe, the first book to the series about Chloe. This novel is about a girl, named Chloe, who is trying to find herself and who she wants to be. She has a pretty typical life, her parents go to church every Sunday, her mom used to be one of the popular cheerleaders and her brother is one of the most popular kids in high school. Chloe¿s mother wants the same thing for her daughter that she had in high school but Chloe just wants to be herself . Her best friend Caitlin has been trying to get Chloe to give her heart to God and live for him but Chloe just doesn¿t know if it¿s right for her. While Caitlin is away at college Chloe tries to find some other friends and give God a chance. At the end of the book she makes a very important decision that changes the rest of her life and opens many doors of opportunity for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    A Novel of Tough Teen Choices: God, Glory, or Both?

    Chloe Miller is the typical ¿tough chick¿, along with the eggplant colored hair and funky (mostly black) clothes. She¿s stuck in the middle of a family who wants her to be someone she¿s not. Her older brother has recently committed his life to God, and her parents just want her to be a normal girl without the purple hair. When Chloe and her friends start a band, the clouds seem to part, and Chloe Miller thinks she sees the light. Pretty soon, she has a big choice to make: whether to make it big with the band, or stay low and make her life a commitment to God. Although, she could always do both¿ This book has a slow start, but finally kicks in once the band is formed. I love how Chloe wasn¿t the fake kind of religious-freak, just a tough, rebellious girl who wants to find the truth. I know I don¿t like reading books about preppy, religion-fanatics, and I know that most other people don¿t either. This would be a good book for you if you¿re one of those people. My Name Is Chloe is mainly directed towards 7th grade girls, and all the grades above because of the age of the characters (mostly 16+). Also, if you want a good series to get into, this would be a good choice. My Name Is Chloe is the first book in the ¿Diary of a Teenage Girl: Chloe Miller¿ series. Don¿t worry, your safe with this book. Since it¿s the first one in the series, you won¿t get lost. If you enjoy reading Robin Jones Gunn (the Christy Miller series) or books about teenage girls and the problems they face, this book would be fore you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    An unusual Teenager finds her connection to God

    Josh¿s younger sister Chloe is just starting High School. No pressure there. When Chloe becomes friends with Allie, ¿the witch¿, her attitude starts to change. She now wants to form a band and have Allie be the drummer. But now they need a guitarist. That¿s when Laura, ¿someone seeking God¿s love¿, comes into the picture. Now she has a friend that hates God and a friend that loves God. Chloe never thought there was a God, and then she has a talk with Laura. Now she let God into her heart, and Allie doesn¿t like that. Now do you think that Allie will come to her sences and let God into her heart? Read the book and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    amazing

    This book was amazing. it truly renewed my relationship with god. I've been reading the whole series and it captivating.every christian, teenager, or music lover should read the ENTIRE series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    AMAZING

    I absolutley loved this book! I have been a Christian since i was 6 (I'm 13 now). I think that this book is totally something that could really happen. It shows the every day struggles of a teenage girl and the struggles of not being and becoming a Christian. I defenatly recommend this bood to anyone. I think it's a great book for people that don't know God to read because i think it could actually help someone who is not a Christian to maybe become closer to God. Again I recommend this bood to everyone, I literally could not put this book down. Every chance I had I would sit down and totally get absorbed in the story. I can't wait to start the next one (I am tomorrow).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2