Customer Reviews for

My Name is Memory

Average Rating 4
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A powerful and unusual love story that spans continents and centuries!

My Name is Memory is a powerful love story. Daniel is described as an old soul -- his soul has lived through countless reincarnations and he remembers each of his past lives. In the world that Ann Brashares creates, there are a handful of old souls who retain memorie...
My Name is Memory is a powerful love story. Daniel is described as an old soul -- his soul has lived through countless reincarnations and he remembers each of his past lives. In the world that Ann Brashares creates, there are a handful of old souls who retain memories of their past lives. Everyone else lives their lives with their slates clean, with no clear memories of past experiences. Though Brashares suggests that the occasional sense of affinity that we have with people may have come from a friendship or a tie in a previous life. The few that retain memories of past lives can usually trace this ability or "long memory" to a deep trauma or a strong affinity of sorts. Of the old souls, Daniel stands out since his memory reaches back over 1,500 years to the time that he first met and fell in love with Sophia.

Daniel's memory comes from his love of Sophia, as if he wills himself to remember everything about her. His love and fate lead Daniel to retain these memories each time he is reborn. Somehow Daniel and Sophia are reborn within similar times. They encounter each other in different cultures and continents over 1,500 years. Daniel remembers his past lives starting from when he first met Sophie in 520 A.D. to each of his reincarnations. In all the different reincarnations, Daniel knows Sophia. But equal to his joy in finding her is his disappointment that Sophia never recognizes Daniel.

Daniel learns how to carry over skills and wealth from one life to another. He's skilled in medicine, in business, and in most trades. In each rebirth, Daniel prepares to meet Sophia and with each new encounter he is equally surprised and moved. He tries not to overwhelm her -- his love/obsession can surely frighten her away especially since she never seems to remember him. Daniel begins from scratch each time.

Sophia's latest reincarnation is Lucy, a high school senior with a powerful crush on her mysterious young classmate named Daniel. Daniel moved to Lucy's high school at the start of their junior year and though he caused a stir because of his good looks and athleticism, he stood apart. He seemed more mature, a little lost and deeply sad -- all of which drew Lucy's attention. When Daniel acted differently too and ignored invitations from the most popular girls and spent time with the social outcasts, Lucy imagined herself helping him navigate through high school. Though they've barely spoken over the two years, Lucy daydreams about Daniel and feels drawn to him. Lucy's voice and character come across clearly: a young girl, enthusiastic, engaging with the usual romantic hopes.

While Lucy is likable and draws you in to the story, it is Daniel that makes the book. Daniel is Memory -- and the plot revolves around his struggle to win Sophia.

Daniel and Sophia face another obstacle -- there lives another old soul who remembers both Daniel and Sophia clearly. He had been Sophia's husband in a previous life and is determined to punish Sophia and Daniel for what he interprets as their betrayal of him.

My Name Is Memory is a powerful love story and an engrossing read. Lucy and her high school reminded me a little of the Twilight series with Bella Swan and her obsession with Edward, but Lucy/Sophia is much more fun and likable than Bella. I recommend My Name Is Memory to someone looking for an unusual romance.

posted by gl on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bad ending to a very unique and exciting love story

I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjo...
I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjoy the unique ideas the book suggested and heck I wish it were true- we could remember- but why couldnt she just either ended it very happily or very tradically??? Is there going to be a sequel? Can't see how that would work- so what the heck happened? For the rest of my life I will wonder. If you like a book that leaves the end to your imagination- go for it- it is good but I didn't like the last 2 pages

posted by TessieSS on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bad ending to a very unique and exciting love story

    I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjoy the unique ideas the book suggested and heck I wish it were true- we could remember- but why couldnt she just either ended it very happily or very tradically??? Is there going to be a sequel? Can't see how that would work- so what the heck happened? For the rest of my life I will wonder. If you like a book that leaves the end to your imagination- go for it- it is good but I didn't like the last 2 pages

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful and unusual love story that spans continents and centuries!

    My Name is Memory is a powerful love story. Daniel is described as an old soul -- his soul has lived through countless reincarnations and he remembers each of his past lives. In the world that Ann Brashares creates, there are a handful of old souls who retain memories of their past lives. Everyone else lives their lives with their slates clean, with no clear memories of past experiences. Though Brashares suggests that the occasional sense of affinity that we have with people may have come from a friendship or a tie in a previous life. The few that retain memories of past lives can usually trace this ability or "long memory" to a deep trauma or a strong affinity of sorts. Of the old souls, Daniel stands out since his memory reaches back over 1,500 years to the time that he first met and fell in love with Sophia.

    Daniel's memory comes from his love of Sophia, as if he wills himself to remember everything about her. His love and fate lead Daniel to retain these memories each time he is reborn. Somehow Daniel and Sophia are reborn within similar times. They encounter each other in different cultures and continents over 1,500 years. Daniel remembers his past lives starting from when he first met Sophie in 520 A.D. to each of his reincarnations. In all the different reincarnations, Daniel knows Sophia. But equal to his joy in finding her is his disappointment that Sophia never recognizes Daniel.

    Daniel learns how to carry over skills and wealth from one life to another. He's skilled in medicine, in business, and in most trades. In each rebirth, Daniel prepares to meet Sophia and with each new encounter he is equally surprised and moved. He tries not to overwhelm her -- his love/obsession can surely frighten her away especially since she never seems to remember him. Daniel begins from scratch each time.

    Sophia's latest reincarnation is Lucy, a high school senior with a powerful crush on her mysterious young classmate named Daniel. Daniel moved to Lucy's high school at the start of their junior year and though he caused a stir because of his good looks and athleticism, he stood apart. He seemed more mature, a little lost and deeply sad -- all of which drew Lucy's attention. When Daniel acted differently too and ignored invitations from the most popular girls and spent time with the social outcasts, Lucy imagined herself helping him navigate through high school. Though they've barely spoken over the two years, Lucy daydreams about Daniel and feels drawn to him. Lucy's voice and character come across clearly: a young girl, enthusiastic, engaging with the usual romantic hopes.

    While Lucy is likable and draws you in to the story, it is Daniel that makes the book. Daniel is Memory -- and the plot revolves around his struggle to win Sophia.

    Daniel and Sophia face another obstacle -- there lives another old soul who remembers both Daniel and Sophia clearly. He had been Sophia's husband in a previous life and is determined to punish Sophia and Daniel for what he interprets as their betrayal of him.

    My Name Is Memory is a powerful love story and an engrossing read. Lucy and her high school reminded me a little of the Twilight series with Bella Swan and her obsession with Edward, but Lucy/Sophia is much more fun and likable than Bella. I recommend My Name Is Memory to someone looking for an unusual romance.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Really?

    This book is 100% identical to Lauren Kate's Fallen. The only difference is that it is really bad!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    I liked it~

    I'm pretty picky when it comes to stories. I hate being let down, I require a satisfying ending. This story was enjoyable! It does seem to be leading to a sequel. I was satisfied. I will say though, and this is my only complaint. It was so much like "Fallen" by Lauren Kate. We're talking almost identical story give or take some major details. Right down to the main characters names.
    Fallen characters names were Luce and Daniel and My Name is Memory is Lucy and Daniel, both stories deal with falling in love with the same girl throughout many different life times. The story was scary close to Fallen. Good, maybe better, but still a little too much the same. I really do think someone copied someone. Should it stop you from reading this book? No. :) Just throwing it out there though that it is almost exactly like Fallen. I still do recommend this book, it was an enjoyable read. I finished it in two days.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haunting! I Love it!

    The book is haunting and exciting as the reader peeks into Daniel's lives and how they interweave with Lucy's past lives. Lucy is a girl with a crush on a boy who is a little different. She is drawn to him and cannot explain why. Daniel sees Lucy,but also knows her as Sophia, as he calls her,and sees into her soul and knows exactly where she has been because he has been there with her. Love it!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book sounds identical to Lauren Kate's Fallen series. But t

    This book sounds identical to Lauren Kate's Fallen series. But the Fallen series is outstanding and came out several years before this one. This book seems like it was written to copy fallen-same names of characters and even the same plot, wow! I recommend that you skip this one and go read the REAL novel: Fallen by Lauren Kate.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sad. Great.

    I read this book in a matter of 2 days, while I was on vacation, because I NEEDED to finish it. I am not a fan of Ann Brashare's work, but I picked up this book because I have hearty love of the idea of reincarnation and soulmates. The ability of remember the details of past lives was never something I thought could be a burden until I read this book. The story is sad, and creates a level of anxiety for you while you read it. How can one man try for 1,500 years to finally be able to love his soulmate?
    I think she does a great job dealing with the emotions and the practicality of such a bizarre concept. I was hooked, but the ending was pretty terrible. Upon reading some of these reviews and discovering it's supposed to be a trilogy, I will tone down my rage at the ending.
    After I finished this book, I'm pretty sure I was in a depression for a good 2 days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down!

    "My Name is Memory" is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Brashares is a master at creating meaningful characters, deliberate and beautiful language, and a page-turning plot. Amazing book, a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I absolutely LOVE this amazing book. BEST BOOK I EVER READ! The

    I absolutely LOVE this amazing book. BEST BOOK I EVER READ! The drama of love throughout time creates an endless fantansy as Daniel searches to find his truel sole mate. The end of the book is a huge cliff hanger and there has yet to be a sequel. You fall for the characters almost as much as Daniel falls for Sophia. The simple idea that soles stay the same and get passed on to another body is incrediable. With Daniel's gift to remember his past lives, he takes the reader along the journey of his past lives and his search to be with Sophia. Through tragic losses and seperations their paths never seem to meet untill Daniel and Sophia are in the same school and grade. My favorite lives of Daniel with Sophia were the journey through the desert to save Sophias life, and when Daniel was in WWI and was brought to Sophia's aid in a hospital. In both situations they fall in love but the love to Sophia dies with her. Each death opens a new door to a new life and a new life of loving eachother only if Daniel can find Sophia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    Best love story of the summer

    This is the best romantic book ive read in years. If youre a helpless romantic, then this book is for you. I love daniel, his character is pure and his love, enduring. It makes you believe in true love all over again. I fell in love over and over again. Cant wait wait for the next book. So hurry up ann brashares

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Eh!

    Such a great premise to a story, so much more could have been done with characters and history, but it falls short. The end sucked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Like so many other I thought the book was wonderful until the en

    Like so many other I thought the book was wonderful until the end
    I re-read the last few pages over and over again thinking I missed something but nope
    Just so disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I would have loved the book if there was a sequel to it but unfo

    I would have loved the book if there was a sequel to it but
    unfortunately there doesn't seem to be. What a huge disappointment to
    come to the end and be left hanging on the edge like that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Big let down.

    I'm a sucker for a good love story so when I read the back of this book I immediately bought it. The story was very good until the ending.....there wasn't one. It's almost like the author got tired of writing and just quit. I was mad that I spent the money and all the time to read a book that wasn't finished. This was the first book I've read by this author and it will be the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Extraordinary in its creativity, My Name is Memory, is a unique

    Extraordinary in its creativity, My Name is Memory, is a unique love story. Daniel and Lucy / Constance / Sophia, (different names in one soul) are the main characters. Daniel has "the memory", the ability to recall past lives and recognize souls of those he's previously known. It is a gift and a curse. For all the times that he and Sophia have been drawn together throughout history, they have also been torn apart, painfully and fatally. He is so haunted by his actions his first time around that he desperately seeks her forgiveness throughout the centuries. Sophia, however, has no memory of her past lives and it seems that Daniel’s hope of Sophia’s love will always be beyond his reach. The author managed to make the corresponding back story work well with the current time frame so the reader can make sense of what is happening and what has happened. It is great character building and an unusual, albeit intriguing plot. I found Daniel to be an extremely engaging but sadly tragic character. This is a very interesting and well written book, nothing life changing, but certainly one that will raise many questions in your mind.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Romance & Reincarnation

    My Name Is Memory is the romantic story of soulmates "Sophia" and "Daniel," told over lifetimes. The first time they met briefly in moments of tragedy, and because he is able to remember bits from his past lives, he always recognizes her in subsequent lives. I really enjoyed the possibilities of lifetimes of soulmate-tracking, the romance and the suspenseful adventure that brought us to the end. The only drawback for me was a slow start and a rather elementary take on reincarnation. But it's rather palatable for both the deeply spiritual and the non-believers alike. I would recommend this if you need a little romance in your life and you are willing to suspend disbelief and let your imagination run wild.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Worth it

    I've been staying away from romantic stories for years, and picked this one up nonetheless. I am SO glad that I did. I found the story to be very original, and in fact was the perfect escapist read. It takes you all over the world, back in time, and into the current day. I feel that the author has a true flair for language, and as I read, enjoying the story, I also found myself really appreciating the beauty of the emotions and backdrops she was describing. In a word: captivating. Read it; it's worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Sometimes Love Lasts More Than a Lifetime" - on cover

    If you liked The Time Traveler's Wife, read this book. Although more reincarnation than time travel, the story is written with the same transitions between past and present. A little confusing at the get go, the story unfolds in a beautiful way that makes you want more of the past and more the present at the same time. I love how the author switches between first person and third person when changing times. This is a love story between Daniel who has ability to remember past lives and his soul mate who does not. The ending felt a bit unfinished, but I wouldn't want to ruin it for you. Overall, My Name is Memory was an enjoyable read with an original story that left me wishing for more chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    Great story - Hard to put down

    Great story! Original, Interesting, Unusual - Class A story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Just so everyone knows

    I've seen a few reviews saying they didn't like this books ending because it left you to imagine what happens... Well just so you all know this is the first book in a trilogy. So the ended is set up to leave you wanted more and waiting for the next book. So this isn't the end of the road for Daniel and Lucy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15