Customer Reviews for

My Name is Memory

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A powerful and unusual love story that spans continents and centuries!

My Name is Memory is a powerful love story. Daniel is described as an old soul -- his soul has lived through countless reincarnations and he remembers each of his past lives. In the world that Ann Brashares creates, there are a handful of old souls who retain memorie...
My Name is Memory is a powerful love story. Daniel is described as an old soul -- his soul has lived through countless reincarnations and he remembers each of his past lives. In the world that Ann Brashares creates, there are a handful of old souls who retain memories of their past lives. Everyone else lives their lives with their slates clean, with no clear memories of past experiences. Though Brashares suggests that the occasional sense of affinity that we have with people may have come from a friendship or a tie in a previous life. The few that retain memories of past lives can usually trace this ability or "long memory" to a deep trauma or a strong affinity of sorts. Of the old souls, Daniel stands out since his memory reaches back over 1,500 years to the time that he first met and fell in love with Sophia.

Daniel's memory comes from his love of Sophia, as if he wills himself to remember everything about her. His love and fate lead Daniel to retain these memories each time he is reborn. Somehow Daniel and Sophia are reborn within similar times. They encounter each other in different cultures and continents over 1,500 years. Daniel remembers his past lives starting from when he first met Sophie in 520 A.D. to each of his reincarnations. In all the different reincarnations, Daniel knows Sophia. But equal to his joy in finding her is his disappointment that Sophia never recognizes Daniel.

Daniel learns how to carry over skills and wealth from one life to another. He's skilled in medicine, in business, and in most trades. In each rebirth, Daniel prepares to meet Sophia and with each new encounter he is equally surprised and moved. He tries not to overwhelm her -- his love/obsession can surely frighten her away especially since she never seems to remember him. Daniel begins from scratch each time.

Sophia's latest reincarnation is Lucy, a high school senior with a powerful crush on her mysterious young classmate named Daniel. Daniel moved to Lucy's high school at the start of their junior year and though he caused a stir because of his good looks and athleticism, he stood apart. He seemed more mature, a little lost and deeply sad -- all of which drew Lucy's attention. When Daniel acted differently too and ignored invitations from the most popular girls and spent time with the social outcasts, Lucy imagined herself helping him navigate through high school. Though they've barely spoken over the two years, Lucy daydreams about Daniel and feels drawn to him. Lucy's voice and character come across clearly: a young girl, enthusiastic, engaging with the usual romantic hopes.

While Lucy is likable and draws you in to the story, it is Daniel that makes the book. Daniel is Memory -- and the plot revolves around his struggle to win Sophia.

Daniel and Sophia face another obstacle -- there lives another old soul who remembers both Daniel and Sophia clearly. He had been Sophia's husband in a previous life and is determined to punish Sophia and Daniel for what he interprets as their betrayal of him.

My Name Is Memory is a powerful love story and an engrossing read. Lucy and her high school reminded me a little of the Twilight series with Bella Swan and her obsession with Edward, but Lucy/Sophia is much more fun and likable than Bella. I recommend My Name Is Memory to someone looking for an unusual romance.

posted by gl on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bad ending to a very unique and exciting love story

I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjo...
I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjoy the unique ideas the book suggested and heck I wish it were true- we could remember- but why couldnt she just either ended it very happily or very tradically??? Is there going to be a sequel? Can't see how that would work- so what the heck happened? For the rest of my life I will wonder. If you like a book that leaves the end to your imagination- go for it- it is good but I didn't like the last 2 pages

posted by TessieSS on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bad ending to a very unique and exciting love story

    I really enjoyed the book up until the last 2 pages. I can not figure out why the author ended the book the way she did. I am almost mad I read it because I needed to hear what was to happen with Lucy and Daniel since they he chased her for so long. I really did enjoy the unique ideas the book suggested and heck I wish it were true- we could remember- but why couldnt she just either ended it very happily or very tradically??? Is there going to be a sequel? Can't see how that would work- so what the heck happened? For the rest of my life I will wonder. If you like a book that leaves the end to your imagination- go for it- it is good but I didn't like the last 2 pages

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Like so many other I thought the book was wonderful until the en

    Like so many other I thought the book was wonderful until the end
    I re-read the last few pages over and over again thinking I missed something but nope
    Just so disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    The ending leaves you wanting more and going on 4 year from rele

    The ending leaves you wanting more and going on 4 year from release dare, I doubt there is a sequal... it must niot have xsold well enough to finish the story for the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Liked the story and moving through time to follow these two soul

    Liked the story and moving through time to follow these two souls. Hope there is more to come, it does't feel like the story is finished...or at least I hope not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Ever head of fallen?

    This book sounds just like fallen by lauren kate. The falling-in-love-again-and-again-with-the same-person thing. Except the whole angel thing(havn't read this book so not sure about that). They even have the same names. Daniel and Lucinda(not sure if its lucinda or lucielle or just lucy). Hope it's just coincedence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    Pretty good. This was an interesting concept and the idea of past lives was fleshed out well. I was disappointed in the ending, however. After everything that happened, the last few chapters were too far-fetched and not as believable as the rest of the story. Overall an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Beach Read With a Few Drawbacks

    This book was (for the most part) an enjoyable fluffy love story that kept you hooked. However, I felt that this book had a few flaws keeping it from a 5 star review. First, I agree with others that the ending was extremely disappointing. The author didn't wrap up the story in any way and left it totally open. I was sort of mad that I had spent 320 something pages reading, for such a let down. Also, some key information was left out. Such as, who was Joaquim's accomplice? Questions like this should have been answered, in my opinion. Otherwise though, it was a cute story with a good twist. Daniel's character was very well developed, and I enjoyed reading his diary-like entries most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An OK Book

    This book was a little predictable - obviously the author had read the Time Travelers wife.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Great book, Terrible Ending!!

    I was completely enthralled in this book and never wanted to put it down and then the ending was such a let down... I felt like it was a shortcut ending or lazy ending or whatever you want to call it but I wasn't very happy!! I did enjoy the rest of it though so I would still recommend it, again just very let down with the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    So much potential!

    The first 150 pages or so of this book were riveting - romantic and sentimental and intriguing. Twilight meets Time Traveler's Wife (but perhaps without the edge.) These pages were so engrossing that I read them in one sitting, and couldn't bear to put it down. But the next night when I settled in to read some more, it was almost like I picked up a different book. After spending so much time meticulously developing the love story and Lucy's search for her past selves, the plot takes a sharp left turn into a forced intrigue/suspense situation that feels both rushed and unoriginal. Random, incongruous characters and plot devices are crammed in, rapid-fire, to advance the sudden conflict/resolution before slamming on the breaks with a wholly unsatisfying conclusion. I found myself wondering if the author had to abandon the early languid style in order to meet a publishing deadline.

    It's a good beach read, and, sucker as I am, I will probably read the whole trilogy. My advice: wait for the paperback.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic Reincarnation!

    This is an unusual love story written by Ann Brashares author of the well known, "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants". In this story, you follow important events from mostly one character's life, Daniel. You find out how he first finds the one who strikes him as someone he wants to know to eventually the one he wants to spend all of eternity loving. Although he finds and loses her throughout the centuries, he keeps looking for her and trying to find a way to love her in whatever body he finds himself. Unfortunately, this leaves Daniel with a very one dimension type of character. This makes sense because he is not spending his time developing himself, but finding another.

    You also get glimpses of Lucy in her present life, who is a more rounded character since she has spent this life in developing herself. As things finally make their way together a climatic scene develops that transforms Daniels view of life and the lives he has lived. He must then find a way to keep from being haunted by another who shares the memories of past lives, or they may never be together no matter what life they are living. This person is intent on destroying him and now Lucy in whatever way he can. Unfortunately, I have to say that the ending is not satisfying and I warn you, it will not answer the lingering questions you have left. I do not know if there is a series potential, but I do understand this book has already been optioned for a movie.

    I give this book 3 1/2 stars. It is great to get a book that has fully observed how reincarnation is often understood and seen by various cultures. It is well written and I do hope that there is another book in the works for Lucy and Daniel. I'd love to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3