Customer Reviews for

My New Orleans: The Cookbook

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    essential for colletors- lovely gift

    a delightful book filled with wonderful stories of a culturally rich region and recipes for dishes that will impress your family and friends. Having lived in south Louisiana, I can attest to the authenticity. Mr. Besh is THE new chef of New Orleans and this cookbook a slice of the best of Louisiana.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book on Cajun Cuisine

    This would make a fabulous coffee table book if the recipes weren't so great. Contains a lot of my favorites from the New Orleans area. Some of the best Gumbo recipes I've ever tried.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Besh is one of the best. I can't go wrong with his recipes even if I try!

    Love this book! Great for cooking for just me or for a dinner party. It's obvious he has a love of new Orleans, and he does the cuisine like a favorite son.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I like this book

    This is a novel with the theme being Cajun cooking in New Orleans.
    I really enjoyed reading the entire book. Plus I learned a lot about Cajun cooking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    One of my Favorite Cookbooks (from an avid cookbook collector)

    These are the New Orleans recipes that take me back to the time I visited the city on vacation in the late 1990's, before hurricane Katrina. This cookbook is a wonderful addition to my collection of over 100 cookbooks, and is truly unique, in that all the recipes in this cookbook are not duplicated in any of my other cookbooks.
    My goal is to try each recipe in this book as they all look so good. As of now, I'm still working my way through in making one recipe each week from this cookbook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Fantastic!!

    This is the book to discover New Orleans and all it's regional foods. I really feel like I'm there when I read this book,make the recipes and taste the results. A book that gets to all your senses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great cookbook! Delicious recipes!

    I got this cookbook as a gift. So far I tried two of the recipes and both came out great. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Beautiful New Orleans

    The most fantastic thing about the book are the pictures. In addition to a variety of easy to follow recipes are personal stories. I intended to purchased this book as a gift for someone but I ended up keeping it for my own collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good cookbook

    John Besh is one of my favorite chefs, so I was very excited to receive this book. I have read the book from cover to cover and enjoy every aspect of the book. His stories at he beginning of each chapter are humorous and enjoyable. The photograghs are very colorful and make the food look extremely appetizing. I was a little disappointed in the recipes as I was expecting more cajun-like cuisine and this was more of an overall seasonal mixed cuisine. The recipes are very good, using a lot of fresh ingredients. Some of the ingredients I never would have thought to combine. I would recommend this cookbook to people who collect cookbooks or would like a cookbook to place on their coffee table or who just like to cook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Excellent cookbook. I had stopped buying cookbooks a long time

    Excellent cookbook. I had stopped buying cookbooks a long time ago, but was tempted by this one. Completely lives up to it's expectations. We live in South Louisiana and I found the stories delightful and the recipes just as wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Awsome

    Great Chef great book a must for every kitchen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Not just a cook book

    This not only has some great recipes, but is fun to read as well....lots of great information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3