Customer Reviews for

My One and Only

Average Rating 4
( 680 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(343)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Are five stars enough? I'm not sure...

I absolutely loved this book. Even when I wanted to put duct tape over Harper's mouth ("Stop talking! Stop talking right now!"), I loved her as a character. Even when I wanted to smack Nick upside the head and say, "Hello? Take some responsibility here, Bozo!" I lov...
I absolutely loved this book. Even when I wanted to put duct tape over Harper's mouth ("Stop talking! Stop talking right now!"), I loved her as a character. Even when I wanted to smack Nick upside the head and say, "Hello? Take some responsibility here, Bozo!" I loved him. Kristan writes characters that are so real they practically jump off the pages at you, and I just don't know how she does it book after book. She is a master at putting them in situations that are so cringeworthy that you just know that if they happened to you (and somehow, you could totally see them happening to you, no matter how ludicrous they seem) you'd want to die right then and there, but somehow, they survive. Just when all hope is lost, she has a character quote Yoda, (the classic "Do or do not. There is no try." Of course.) and somehow we all make it through. If you've never read a Kristan Higgins before, do yourself a favor and pick one up. Any one. Really, you'll be glad you did. (And for the record, I absolutely did not go on the Barnes and Noble website every day for three weeks clicking the "Tell the publisher you want this book in ebook format" button until it showed up as a Nookbook. Nope, that definitely wasn't me. Even if it had been, I never clicked it more than once a day. That would be wrong.)

posted by beckymmoe on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I was disappointed...

I've read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins and I always love the story lines and find myself laughing out loud at the characters. I bought this book within a week of its release and was excited to read it, but I was pretty disappointed. I did not like neither Nick nor ...
I've read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins and I always love the story lines and find myself laughing out loud at the characters. I bought this book within a week of its release and was excited to read it, but I was pretty disappointed. I did not like neither Nick nor harper's characters too much. All in all I would say that I would have preferred to check the book out from a library rather than purchasing it. I don't see myself reading it again.

posted by 1882716 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 686 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Are five stars enough? I'm not sure...

    I absolutely loved this book. Even when I wanted to put duct tape over Harper's mouth ("Stop talking! Stop talking right now!"), I loved her as a character. Even when I wanted to smack Nick upside the head and say, "Hello? Take some responsibility here, Bozo!" I loved him. Kristan writes characters that are so real they practically jump off the pages at you, and I just don't know how she does it book after book. She is a master at putting them in situations that are so cringeworthy that you just know that if they happened to you (and somehow, you could totally see them happening to you, no matter how ludicrous they seem) you'd want to die right then and there, but somehow, they survive. Just when all hope is lost, she has a character quote Yoda, (the classic "Do or do not. There is no try." Of course.) and somehow we all make it through. If you've never read a Kristan Higgins before, do yourself a favor and pick one up. Any one. Really, you'll be glad you did. (And for the record, I absolutely did not go on the Barnes and Noble website every day for three weeks clicking the "Tell the publisher you want this book in ebook format" button until it showed up as a Nookbook. Nope, that definitely wasn't me. Even if it had been, I never clicked it more than once a day. That would be wrong.)

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved this book!! Kristan Higgins just gets better and better. I have read all her books but I think this one is my favorite!! great story, great romance and a hint of comedy too!!I downloaded this to my Nook the first day it was available and I read it in 2 days. Could not put it down. Enjoy!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing lighthearted at times frantic second chance at love romance

    Martha's Vineyard Divorce attorney Harper James is mortified with the news that her stepsister Wills is marrying Christopher Lowery her former brother-n-law in Glacier Park, Montana. She and Chris' brother Nick married very young, but their marriage failed though the desire remained stratospheric as both realize when they meet in Big Sky Country.

    Following the wedding of Wills and Chris, to their mutual chagrin Harper and Nick travel cross country together due to a mix up. On their trek, she begins to relook why their marriage failed and why she still loves him in spite of having Dennis the firefighter as her boyfriend for more than a couple of years; mostly her introspection focuses on abandonment.

    This is an amusing lighthearted at times frantic second chance at love romance as Harper and Nick flirt, fuss, and fight while causing havoc across the country. The story line never turns serious as Kristin Higgins provides a wonderful jocular road trip starring a delightful divorce lawyer with a real experience on her résumé and a hunk of an architect who is her one and only, but is that enough.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Excellent

    Read all of Kritan Higgins books and this is her best yet. Love the characters and back story. Very sweet and real love story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    The song lyric kept running through my mind.....

    One reviewer noted that she wanted to tell the main character, Harper, to just shut up at one point. The reviewer didn't get it, or Harper at all. I don't understand how when her character was so richly drawn, with such detail and love that I wanted to hug her. I was completely fascinated with Harper's complexity.

    Harper's love interest, Nick, is intense, lovely, irritating, sweet and just such a guy. You'll want these two to get together so much it aches.

    Kristan Higgins has written what I consider to be one of the finest novels of this type I've ever read, and I read voraciously. Her characters are deeply real, their journey is hilarious and sad and poignant - all the best things a book can be.

    As I read My One and Only I was struck by the depth of these two characters, illustrated by their growing up wounded in a modern family situation with experiences that so impacted their adult relationships. Best of all, they overcome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Surprisingly deep!

    I really enjoyed this book! Great weekend read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Just okay

    I liked most of her books, this one was just okay. The main character was annoying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    I was disappointed...

    I've read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins and I always love the story lines and find myself laughing out loud at the characters. I bought this book within a week of its release and was excited to read it, but I was pretty disappointed. I did not like neither Nick nor harper's characters too much. All in all I would say that I would have preferred to check the book out from a library rather than purchasing it. I don't see myself reading it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Best one yet!

    I love Kristan Higgins books. This one, I feel, is her best yet!! You will laugh and maybe even cry a little, but it's all good. Definitely worth the read. Be prepared to not be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Loved it

    I loved this book. One of my new favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Could have been great

    This basic story is actually very good. If it had been written by someone who could truly write like an adult it would have been great. But since this writer had to use the word 'crotch' like a pathetic teenager with a swear word they enjoying using repeatedly it took so much away from the story. There were also glaring grammatical errors in many places. Still if you can keep your mind on the characters & main story you can get through it. I wont waste my time or my money on another book of hers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    This is my favorite of Kristan Higgins' books--maybe because it

    This is my favorite of Kristan Higgins' books--maybe because it was my first. The flashbacks were truly heartbreaking, and while that storytelling device doesn't always work for me, this time it did. The book is not a total downer, definitely fully and light in a lot of places, with characters put in some odd and unconventional situations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I love Kristan Higgins, but sadly I didn't think this was her be

    I love Kristan Higgins, but sadly I didn't think this was her best :( Still entertaining though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. My first by this author, loved the characters, loved the storyline, very realistic up until the ending, wicked funny, really loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Another great read

    Thanks, Kristen, for providing another great read! Readers can get to know the characters and feel their passions through day to day life experiences and fun humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    This is a new author for me. After reading The Best Man I was ho

    This is a new author for me. After reading The Best Man I was hooked. I ordered book after book and was never disappointed. I love her story lines, character development, and style. I cry, I laugh, I smile.
    Kristen Higgins is a delight. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I started this at 4 in the morning when i couldn't sleep. I have read many higgins books and have loved them all! I couldnt put it down! I think is my favorite! I loved the characters and Nick is my favorite yet! Great romance and story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Fast and a Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Ehh

    This book was alright. Harper James is by far the most stuck up, annoying female protanginist Kristin Higgim's has created! I liked the plot buy Harper was so freaking annoying I just wanted to slap her because she doesn't make sense! Sorry but for once Kristin Higgin's disapoints me. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Fantastico

    Kristan is the queen of emotional rollercoaster rides for her characters which makes them so real and lovable. Harper James runs into her ex-husband Nick at their younger siblings wedding in the Beautiful Glacier National Park near Kalispell, Montana, and things take a turn for the worse and best from there. After a road trip back home causes these two to rethink their marriage, home has a different road block ahead and Kristan knows how to pull it off with tears and laughs. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 686 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35