Customer Reviews for

My One and Only

Average Rating 4
( 679 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(342)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Are five stars enough? I'm not sure...

I absolutely loved this book. Even when I wanted to put duct tape over Harper's mouth ("Stop talking! Stop talking right now!"), I loved her as a character. Even when I wanted to smack Nick upside the head and say, "Hello? Take some responsibility here, Bozo!" I lov...
I absolutely loved this book. Even when I wanted to put duct tape over Harper's mouth ("Stop talking! Stop talking right now!"), I loved her as a character. Even when I wanted to smack Nick upside the head and say, "Hello? Take some responsibility here, Bozo!" I loved him. Kristan writes characters that are so real they practically jump off the pages at you, and I just don't know how she does it book after book. She is a master at putting them in situations that are so cringeworthy that you just know that if they happened to you (and somehow, you could totally see them happening to you, no matter how ludicrous they seem) you'd want to die right then and there, but somehow, they survive. Just when all hope is lost, she has a character quote Yoda, (the classic "Do or do not. There is no try." Of course.) and somehow we all make it through. If you've never read a Kristan Higgins before, do yourself a favor and pick one up. Any one. Really, you'll be glad you did. (And for the record, I absolutely did not go on the Barnes and Noble website every day for three weeks clicking the "Tell the publisher you want this book in ebook format" button until it showed up as a Nookbook. Nope, that definitely wasn't me. Even if it had been, I never clicked it more than once a day. That would be wrong.)

posted by beckymmoe on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I was disappointed...

I've read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins and I always love the story lines and find myself laughing out loud at the characters. I bought this book within a week of its release and was excited to read it, but I was pretty disappointed. I did not like neither Nick nor ...
I've read a lot of books by Kristan Higgins and I always love the story lines and find myself laughing out loud at the characters. I bought this book within a week of its release and was excited to read it, but I was pretty disappointed. I did not like neither Nick nor harper's characters too much. All in all I would say that I would have preferred to check the book out from a library rather than purchasing it. I don't see myself reading it again.

posted by 1882716 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved this book!! Kristan Higgins just gets better and better. I have read all her books but I think this one is my favorite!! great story, great romance and a hint of comedy too!!I downloaded this to my Nook the first day it was available and I read it in 2 days. Could not put it down. Enjoy!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    This is my favorite of Kristan Higgins' books--maybe because it

    This is my favorite of Kristan Higgins' books--maybe because it was my first. The flashbacks were truly heartbreaking, and while that storytelling device doesn't always work for me, this time it did. The book is not a total downer, definitely fully and light in a lot of places, with characters put in some odd and unconventional situations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Fast and a Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Fantastico

    Kristan is the queen of emotional rollercoaster rides for her characters which makes them so real and lovable. Harper James runs into her ex-husband Nick at their younger siblings wedding in the Beautiful Glacier National Park near Kalispell, Montana, and things take a turn for the worse and best from there. After a road trip back home causes these two to rethink their marriage, home has a different road block ahead and Kristan knows how to pull it off with tears and laughs. Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    great read

    this book was a great read..hit alot of emotional chords.. it was an enjoyable read..luvd it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    GREAT!

    GREAT SERIES, GREAT AUTHOR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Nice book

    Really easy read, funny, and romantic. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stellar, as always.

    How can one book make you laugh and cry? And use my favorite quote, "Do or do not. There is no try." Star Wars at my house, too!

    This book could be just an awesome afternoon or a deeper look at where we're put ourselves and how we've guided our lives. I couldn't help but cry when the cynical divorce attorney finally broke down. I couldn't help but love the 'trailer trash.' I laughed at the arguments of Harper and Nick - they sounded eerily like the one drifting out of my windows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Witty Fun Read

    I rated this one more of a 3 1/2 but closer to 4 than 3. This book had a lot going for it. Harper was a quick witted attorney that was as cynical as the day is long. Her look on love and a lasting love was learned from her mother up and leaving on her 13th birthday. That is bound to have some affects on a girl. Nick is a good natured, loving and adorable architect that has worked his adult life to make something of himself. The banter between the two is hilarious. There are lots of outside stories also going on, Harper's dad and step-mother, plus her sister and Nick's brother, then you have a few different office personnel from each of them that get involved as well. I think my favorite secondary character is Carol, Harper's secretary. The parts I didn't really care for were the thought scenes. Some of them were just way to long, I ended up skimming more than I read during those parts. There were several typos that just started bugging me after a while and I started looking for them, which is never a good sign. That being said, I really did enjoy the story and getting to know this rather dysfunctional family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Pretty good- kind of petered out

    I thought this was a pretty good book. I had read two of her earlier novels and had not really liked them at all so I was skeptical. However, I thought the main character was really engaging. I liked how her and Nick's relationship progressed, until they got back to New York. Then, I felt like it would have been a better book to have them discuss their issues instead of making the same mistake was before- no communication. Once she got back to MV, it was so contrived where I felt like it wasn't before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Fun!!

    really funny! loved the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    easy read

    Really enjoyed readig this quick romantic novel. Charming and delightfully funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Loved!

    Great book! Couldn't put down this book until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Good Stuff

    Really like this author - this was my first by her and I really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Made me laugh made me cry

    Not my favorite book by this author but I still enjoyed it. Didn't understand the whole 'crotch' or 'crotchity crotch' thing though. I think the author could have used a number of other words or phrases to convey her message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Sweet Book

    As of lately I've been reading some great contemporary romance reads, and Kristan Higgins' My One and Only was no different, thankfully enough, as not only did it contain some sweet romantic subplots, but a hilarious undertone as well as a fast paced and unique road trip.

    My One and Only starts the story of Harper James, the quick-witted, pessimistic divorce attorney men and women tend to hate or love depending on whom Harper represented in the divorce. While Harper's live has never been peaches and roses, as of lately it is made a great turn for the better. Business is booming, and she is in a long-term relationship, one that she hopes will turn to marriage soon than later. However, everything changes when Harper runs into her ex-husband, Nick, at her younger sister's wedding. Seeing him after all those years, brings the memories tumbling back.the good and the bad as well as some old feelings- feelings that could change everything once again. All she knows is that she needs to get away from his as fast as she can, which makes the fact she is stuck going on a road-trip with him all the worse. Will everything be changed once again? Whom will Harper end up with- her fiancé or her ex-husband? Better yet, what really happened between Harper and Nick all those years ago? Only time and more pages will tell in this contemporary read made of pure win.

    Harper was in most cases a complex character. She is guarded and can be outright nasty at times, though she still has a heart of gold that only wants the best for her loved ones. Therefore, while at times I disliked her to the maximum, I still found her to be likable for the most part. Better yet, even though she is at least double my age, I still could found myself repeatedly relating to her over basic feelings of insecurity as well as ones over love and loss.

    However, my favorite part of the book would have to be her relationships with the secondary characters. For one, there was the one with Nick, which was sweet and heartwarming as well as complex and confusing. Then there was the one between Harper and her assorted family members that were deep while still providing many laugh-out-loud moments. And I have to add, I love Harper's dog- such a cute, feisty addition to the story!

    While the plot of this is not the most unique thing out there, I still found myself fully immersed in it, as I'm a huge sucker for road-trip books. Moreover, the variety of setting and people didn't hurt the case one bit. Higgin's writing was also decent, because not only did she bring the characters to life but the plot lines as well, and she did a fabulous job of revealing those types of secrets that readers love to have!

    Full of fun, depth, and laughs, My One and Only is the perfect read to spring any reader into a great mood. I simply can't wait to read more by Ms. Higgins.

    Grade: B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Super Fun!

    Very fun summer read, or just for any type of enjoyment! I've read most of Kristan Higgins' books and this one is one of my faves. I love the tension between the characters and the witty humor. Definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Lol

    I+love+all+of+her+books.++It+is+not+often+that+a+book+has+me+laughing+out+loud.++Definitly+a+good+summer+light+read.%0A%0A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Heart felt book

    Really fell in love with this book. Instantly loved the characters. One of the few books that brought tears to my eyes. Definately going to read another by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    OH MY GOSH!!! Simple the best.

    Started reading "My One and Only" and quickly worked my way through all of Kristan Higgins' books. I simply can't wait for the next one. I'm sooo glad I found her books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10