Customer Reviews for

My Own Country: A Doctor's Story of a Town and Its People in the Age of AIDS

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Moved

    This book was an assigned reading for my Bio-Ethics class at UAB. Dr. Verguese's perspective of life and environment was the true theme of this writing. Surely I learned of AIDS,HIV,homesexuality and their commonalities, however, I was more impressed with what I read between the lines. Dr. Abraham Verguese, what a great asset to, not just medicine,but humanity.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Story of Heroism

    The stories in this book are all real sad life stores. Each patient encounter still left a vivid image and big scar in my heart. They reminded me of the deficiency of our health care system and that there is so much more we 'especially the health care professionals' can, should and must do to care for those are tormented by ailments. On the one hand, it saddened me to realize how ignorance, prejudice and selfishness of mankind can tear us apart but on the other hand it gave me hope to know that there is always someone who is heroic and selfless willing to sacrifice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    AIDS is a Landscape

    This particular book caught my eye because I was looking for a real compelling story by someone other than a celebrity. Here is a doctor
    who lives in the smalltown south when the AIDS crisis hits there. He is
    foreign and somewhat ambitious, but this health problem catches at his very heart along with the individuals who come to his clinic with the illness. He grows and changes through his contact with the many AIDS victimes, their families, his own family, and the wider world. Now AIDS has a different feel to it, but then it was a hard landscape to travel in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    An emotional and inspirational read!!

    As a pre-med undergraduate, I took an AIDS seminar last year. This book was one of our assigned readings. I should preface this review by saying that I am Indian, which does impact the way I look at this book... mainly because as much as it is about the story of AIDS in rural TN, it is also about a foreign doctor reacting to this situation, as the author points out throughout the text. The book is very poignant and touching. It really makes the reader contemplate how the negative connotations of AIDS (being associated with gays in its beginning stages, a sexually transmitted disease, and so on) affect the way our society has chosen to deal with it. Furthermore, it is a tale of courage not often recognized in medicine. Dr. Veghese and others of his time had no clue what AIDS was about, it's methods of transmission, possible cures... but they chose to put their own lives and that of their families at risk to help these patients. It is an honest account that is heartwarming. Read it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    Review from a Johnson City, TN Resident

    'My Own Country' was not a book that I particularly wanted to like. As a long-time resident of Johnson City, TN (the location of most of the action in the book), I decided to read it convinced that our town and the people in it would be portrayed as backwards, prejudiced hicks. But Dr. Verghese' haunting story won me over. I realized there was much about my community that I heretofore hadn't known existed. Beyond that, I realized that what had happened in my community, was merely a reflection of what had occurred in thousands of other communities nationwide. 'My Own Country' triumphs because it takes the monumental subject of 'AIDS' and makes it personal. It is a beautifully-crafted, and moving story that will stay with you long after the last word is read. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Five Stars, except for ...

    Incredible story of the first AIDS doctor in rural eastern Tennessee.
    What a generous soul!
    I only hope that, in his later years, he developed Dr. Albert Schweitzer's feelings toward animals. Dr. Verghese's hamster episodes were unfunny, out-of-place, and cruelly depressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Excellent

    A powerful look at the pandemic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    In a soft gentle way the writer has totally changed my point of view on subjects such as my judgement of people and how they live with Aids.

    It is not an intense captivating book. Yet it causes you to want to keep on reading. He has a lovely way of bringing out the importance of all the small everyday details in people's lives and how they are connected to the way these people react to big things in their lives that they have to deal with.

    This book should be mandetory to all students intending to work with people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1