BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Own Worst Frenemy

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Book- Not just for young adults

I really enjoyed the book. I was attracted to the cover,but found the content even more attractive. It is full of suspense and captures readers of all ages and cultures. It is also funny and draws you into the book with incidents you can relate to. I can't wait to the...
I really enjoyed the book. I was attracted to the cover,but found the content even more attractive. It is full of suspense and captures readers of all ages and cultures. It is also funny and draws you into the book with incidents you can relate to. I can't wait to the next series is out.

posted by Yatthelake on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

.

This story was just ok, not great, not moving. The first thing that put me off- the author obviously has never been to CO or even researched it. CO is not a desert and in fact does have grass. Adding a discussion guide to the end of a book does not make it epic, just...
This story was just ok, not great, not moving. The first thing that put me off- the author obviously has never been to CO or even researched it. CO is not a desert and in fact does have grass. Adding a discussion guide to the end of a book does not make it epic, just trying to hard.

posted by Rxtech06 on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    A Welcome Addition

    Nancy Drew had nothing on Chanti Evans! "Frenemy" is a fast paced mystery set in a urban area and a smart, likeable teen protagonist who doesn't always make the best decisions. The main character was well developed, secondary characters need more development but I am guessing that we will find out more about them in future books in the series. Chanti is "above the influence", mentions of violence,drugs and teen drinking are part of the story but nothing is overly graphic. A discussion guide is included at the end. I would recommend this book to middle school and high school students.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great Book- Not just for young adults

    I really enjoyed the book. I was attracted to the cover,but found the content even more attractive. It is full of suspense and captures readers of all ages and cultures. It is also funny and draws you into the book with incidents you can relate to. I can't wait to the next series is out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    .

    This story was just ok, not great, not moving. The first thing that put me off- the author obviously has never been to CO or even researched it. CO is not a desert and in fact does have grass. Adding a discussion guide to the end of a book does not make it epic, just trying to hard.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I like these types of books. A good book of keeping your friends close and your enemies closer. What can I say that made me love this book? The plot. I love me a good book with a great plot. The plot in this book really took off from page one. A trouble teen getting shipped off to a new school? A teen with a mom who identity we must keep secret? And the frenemy we love to hate but we can't get enough of.

    I loved the flow of the book. The feeling that the reader gets when immersed of a world of money than what our main character Chanti is used too. Chanti grew up on the lower side of town and it is good to see Chanti point of view. I like that Chanti had to team up with her frenemy to clear her name. I snickered with the sarcastic comments and risking things.

    The plot line of the book is simply yet it works. Prejudice against the new girl, thinking she is the one stealing things. I loved the tension in the book between the characters. And the love interest, woohoo! Marco is an amazing guy. I loved how he flirted with Chanti and even helped her. He put himself out there to prove himself to her and he didn't do such a bad job.

    This is great book of mystery, change and cat fights. Mean girls galore! But it made the book much more fun to read. This is a great series with loads of potential for some major drama I am craving.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Read it in one day

    This mystery solver's observation skills and insticts are so tight that it's got Nancy Drew shaking in her heels. When she's not trying to figure out mysteries or hanging with her crush Chantal is trying make sure that no one in her hood finds out that her mama is an undercover cop a.k.a a snitch. Since she isn't rich like all the kids at her new private school Chantal becomes the prime suspect in a string of robberies and the headmistress is deadset on throwing her out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing the Book

    Reviewed By~Molly
    Review Copy Provided By~Publisher

    You might think upon starting this book that Charlotte is all innocent and unassuming, but she really knows what she’s doing. It was loyal of her to think of her sisters and to put herself in a situation that could easily spell disaster. I liked that she was determined to “sell” herself – her innocence, her virtue, and her life, basically – just so her sisters could have a better life. It was sort of funny that the entire time she was on stage, being ogled by all these strangers, that she had a running diatribe in her mind of various things, like smiling, what she could do if she felt faint, the doubts she had of whether or not the curtains would hold her up – which she doubted. Morgan was awesome. He had a purpose and was trying to be all selfless and noble. Unfortunately, since Charlotte had other plans, his purpose was immediately thrown out the window. I loved how instead of being all crying and fitful, Charlotte takes charge and decides this is going to work, and doesn’t take no for an answer.

    In fact, that’s the one thing that runs throughout the entire book. Charlotte doesn’t take no for an answer. She is strong, she will do this, and you are going to do this with her. Period. Even when it turns out that there is a reason why Morgan hates his brother, Charlotte wants to help him figure out exactly what happened while he was gone.

    Also, it was a nice surprise that the author, Lynne Silver, lets the book take a turn into a mystery, suspense, and romance. It was a great book full of humor, romance, and mystery. My kind of book.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Good

    Good for a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    It was good

    I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Funny book

    The main character is hilarious, but the mystery aspect was sorely lacking. You'd have to be dense not to figure it out quickly, as I did. Am about to start the 2nd book in the series to see if my complaint has been resolved !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Somewhat good

    The book is okay but it isn't even close to the Nancy Drew series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Nancy Drew ain't got nothing on Chanti!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dis meh gurl from da otha side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Am gonna read the next books, maybe even pay for them. READ, READ, READ. Totally worth your time. Dis ow we do it on da southside. JK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1