Customer Reviews for

My Point...and I Do Have One

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I really like this book

If you don¿t read this whole book you are missing some pretty funny stuff. Ellen Degeneres is a really funny person that is one reason I choose this book. Another reason was I wanted to learn more about her and her lifestyle. I think the author¿s intent of writing this ...
If you don¿t read this whole book you are missing some pretty funny stuff. Ellen Degeneres is a really funny person that is one reason I choose this book. Another reason was I wanted to learn more about her and her lifestyle. I think the author¿s intent of writing this book is to get her point out. I know that because in the title it says my point and I do have one. She gives you advice and talks about her life experiences. She just tells you her opinion about things and she is not afraid to tell people what she is thinking. I think she does fulfill this purpose because I learned a lot of things from this book. Also all she wants is to give her point out and I think she did do that. I think there was a need for this book. One to make people laugh, and two, tell us stuff about her that we might not know. If there was no need for this book then why did she write it in the first place? She obviously had something to say and wanted to express that to other people. Some people might say there is no reason for this book because she talks about random things. But I think there was. It¿s kind of hard to summarize this book because it is just a bunch of little stories. So I will just tell some things she talks about. She talks about how she doesn¿t remember her past and about her friends. Also some advice on how to explain sex to a child. Also some things on how to go through life. She really just talks about her opinion about different things. OI think that is really cool. I really don¿t see I format on how she made this book. What I think she did is just come up with stuff she wanted to give advice about and wrote them down. All it is about are different little stories about her. She put some pictures in the book for a little touch to it. But not that much more then that. They are in the beginning of each chapter. I could relate to some of the stories she told. But the pictures didn¿t really help clarify or add to the text. It was mostly a quote form the chapter and a pictures to go along with it. I thought it was awesome how the things she talked about related to me. Some of the things she talked about have already happened to me. If they have not happen to me now I know what to do if those things happen to me. I felt the same way about a lot of her stories that she wrote. So I thought that was kind of cool. It felt like we were sharing the same mind because we thought the same things and stuff. I liked this book a lot. I usually hate reading books but this book was interesting. I got to know Ellen I little bit better. I don¿t know what my favorite part was. Well my kind of favorite part was if the things she talked about related to me, then I liked those chapters. There were a lot of things that were good. Yea some chapters were kind of boring. Like chapter 19 was very boring. But for the most part the book was good. If I could change anything about this book it would be for her not to skip around to different stories. Like had a different format then what she has now. The format actually kind of confused me because she just jumped around to different subjects. No I don¿t think the author really confused me or anything. She explained everything pretty good I think. But some parts did bore me but not a lot. Yes I would recommend this book to others because I think it is very interesting. Also I think other people would enjoy it too. What type of person I think would like this book is the type that likes to learn new things. And learn about other people. Or people that just like autobiographies or biographies. I usually like the mystery type of books. But for an autobiography it was good. Or I think any type would like this book. Like I said I hate autobiographies but this one was really good! So go out and read this book, trust me you will love it.

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sample...Seriously??? Had to give at least one star in order to be able to post.

1 - Table of Contents 2 - Acknowledgement 3 - Note from the author. SERIOUSLY??? WHAT KIND OF "SAMPLE" IS THAT???

posted by PurpleMoon on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    I really like this book

    If you don¿t read this whole book you are missing some pretty funny stuff. Ellen Degeneres is a really funny person that is one reason I choose this book. Another reason was I wanted to learn more about her and her lifestyle. I think the author¿s intent of writing this book is to get her point out. I know that because in the title it says my point and I do have one. She gives you advice and talks about her life experiences. She just tells you her opinion about things and she is not afraid to tell people what she is thinking. I think she does fulfill this purpose because I learned a lot of things from this book. Also all she wants is to give her point out and I think she did do that. I think there was a need for this book. One to make people laugh, and two, tell us stuff about her that we might not know. If there was no need for this book then why did she write it in the first place? She obviously had something to say and wanted to express that to other people. Some people might say there is no reason for this book because she talks about random things. But I think there was. It¿s kind of hard to summarize this book because it is just a bunch of little stories. So I will just tell some things she talks about. She talks about how she doesn¿t remember her past and about her friends. Also some advice on how to explain sex to a child. Also some things on how to go through life. She really just talks about her opinion about different things. OI think that is really cool. I really don¿t see I format on how she made this book. What I think she did is just come up with stuff she wanted to give advice about and wrote them down. All it is about are different little stories about her. She put some pictures in the book for a little touch to it. But not that much more then that. They are in the beginning of each chapter. I could relate to some of the stories she told. But the pictures didn¿t really help clarify or add to the text. It was mostly a quote form the chapter and a pictures to go along with it. I thought it was awesome how the things she talked about related to me. Some of the things she talked about have already happened to me. If they have not happen to me now I know what to do if those things happen to me. I felt the same way about a lot of her stories that she wrote. So I thought that was kind of cool. It felt like we were sharing the same mind because we thought the same things and stuff. I liked this book a lot. I usually hate reading books but this book was interesting. I got to know Ellen I little bit better. I don¿t know what my favorite part was. Well my kind of favorite part was if the things she talked about related to me, then I liked those chapters. There were a lot of things that were good. Yea some chapters were kind of boring. Like chapter 19 was very boring. But for the most part the book was good. If I could change anything about this book it would be for her not to skip around to different stories. Like had a different format then what she has now. The format actually kind of confused me because she just jumped around to different subjects. No I don¿t think the author really confused me or anything. She explained everything pretty good I think. But some parts did bore me but not a lot. Yes I would recommend this book to others because I think it is very interesting. Also I think other people would enjoy it too. What type of person I think would like this book is the type that likes to learn new things. And learn about other people. Or people that just like autobiographies or biographies. I usually like the mystery type of books. But for an autobiography it was good. Or I think any type would like this book. Like I said I hate autobiographies but this one was really good! So go out and read this book, trust me you will love it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended! You need to read this!

    I just finished reading this book today, and it was one of the best books I've ever read. Most books don't make me laugh out loud, but this book sure did. Ellen did a great job writing this book, and I am going to pass it along to a friend to read, because it was so great! READ IT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    My review..and yes, I do have one.

    From the second i began to read this book, I realized that the thoughts that Ellen put into this book could easily change man-kind forever. The hilarious jokes, some-what-sad childhood stories, and all the rest of that good stuff make this book a brilliant thing to read. I am very happy to say that this master piece is my new favorite book. All in all, Ellen proved that she most defenintely had a point. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did and how much i'll enjoy reading it to my grandchildren 50 years from now. Read this book. Im not kidding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    ELLEN!!!

    Very, very, very funny! Great book and perfectly written! I enjoyed every page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Sample...Seriously??? Had to give at least one star in order to be able to post.

    1 - Table of Contents
    2 - Acknowledgement
    3 - Note from the author.
    SERIOUSLY??? WHAT KIND OF "SAMPLE" IS THAT???

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Fun Read. excellent writer. Have enjoyed all her books.

    I difinitely recommend this to anyone that enjoys Ellen in all mediums. She is a very talented woman. I have enjoyed all her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    A hilllllarious book!

    "Ellen Degeneres is absolutely hysterical in my point. and I do have one. Degeneres does a magnificent job of writing the humor that got famous. An easy read that will make you laugh every time you read it. From how horrible animal testing is, to planes and how club soda fixes everything in up in the air, to winning the Iditarod! Ellen covers it all. A book anyone with a sense of humor would thoroughly enjoy this book over and over."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    Very funny story or stories that Ellen tells. People will think you are crazy because you will be laughting out while reading it. I cant wait to finish it so i can read it again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    just plain fun

    In this very funny book Ellen Degeneres puts a smile on the readers face.She mixes true tales of her own life and some of the funniest made up stories ever written.She brings the reader her airplane fears as well as her view on her family from her school days in new orlines to atlanta texas she even takes you to the nothern part of alaska where she compets in the dog races. there is nothing better then this (except maby her second book 'The Funny Thing Is...'for long trips.Anywere you go you get ellen to get you through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    A Keeper!

    I bought this book years ago when it first came out in hardcover, and it is still on my bookshelf. I have read it several times and it makes me laugh every single time. Lighthearted and lots of fun, it's one of my keepers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    OMG- It's Ridiculous How Funny This Book Is!

    I read this book after my mum lent it to me (I'm thirteen). It was SOOOO funny! I especially love the chapter entitled 'The Plane Truth or 'Dem Ain't Peanuts, 'Dem's Goobers!' It is about Ellen's inane fear of airplanes. It's hilariously funny. Also good is the chapter about how you sometimes feel like an idiot. It goes: "Back to feeling like an idiot...We always do this: we walk up to an elevator, someone's already there, they're waiting, they've pushed the button, the button is lit. We walk up and push the button, thinking, 'Obviously you didn't push it correctly. I'll have to push it myself. NOW the elevator will come.' Then someone else walks up and they push the button again. Suddenly you're offended. You want to say, 'You idiot, I pushed it, he pushed it.' Then to the original pusher, 'Can you believe people?'" *ALSO* "I don't think I remember my first memory. Actually, I suppose I would have to remember my first memory. If I didn't remember my first memory, then it couldn't in all honesty be my first memory. It could however, be the first thing that I forgot. Do I recall the first thing that I forgot? I don't remember. Maybe. Sometimes my lack of memory (or, to put a positive spin on it, my surplus of forgetfulness) worries me, especially since it's not just limited to my early childhood. I don't remember huge portions of my life. Maybe something big (i.e., an anvil or France) fell on my head and gave me a slight form of amnesia. Maybe a lot of things have fallen on my head. I just don't know." To respond to the Singaporean, this book is supposed to be about nothing. It is Ellen's trademark: rambling pointlessly. It is very funny. Plus, she's got the mind of a kid and the wit of an adult which means one thing...the best book I have read by a celebrity so far!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    A Total Surprise!

    I had a strong dislike for Ellen before I read this book. I couldn't stop laughing. It was a total variety of comedy that kept me laughing despite some bad times going on in my life. It kept EVERYONE I lent this book to or read an exerpt from laughing. I'm surprised the book appealed to me, because I'm just 16. Bless my friend. (She lent me the book.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    One word...Hilarious!

    This book was hilarious! I know Ellen is funny on stand up and her show but the book was excellent! I definately recommend it to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Love it

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Ellen...

    I looove you and justin bieber soooooooooooooo much!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Watch her show instead!

    I love Ellen, but this book is really boring. It is like reading her standup act--it definitely loses something in the reading.

    Sorry to say, don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Good

    Love ellen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Not like the real thing

    I was very disappointed with this book. I find Ellen to be very funny, clever and touching on TV and her stand up videos/DVDs. Ellen as an author, in this offering, not so much. It was funny in sections, but disjointed overall. I bought her newest book and hope it is a vast improvement for me, though. Here's hoping.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    love ellen

    didn't care for it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Awesommest book ever

    It was so funny!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3