Customer Reviews for

My Promised Land: The Triumph and Tragedy of Israel

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Very informative but verbose at times

    Superb insight into modern Israel, its start, history, and problems and uniqueness and problems written by a reporter mostly usng interviews with Israelis, Arab and Oriental Israelis. and Holocost survivors. I learned a lot and enjoyed the last half more than the first half. Sometimes verbose and repetitive on superficialites. Definitely worthwhile reading.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is an extremely thoughtful rumination on the current state of Israel and Israeli society. Although this is a highly charged subject that often arouses strong pro and con reactions,, I think Mr. Shavit has been able to carry our a difficult balancing act. While clearly empathetic to the Palestinians he is also very fair in treating the Israeli point of view. I highly recommend his book. As it is not a work of history per se I would also recommend reading Anita Shapira's "Israel" to supplement this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    I found this book to be a truly thought provoking and detailed w

    I found this book to be a truly thought provoking and detailed work of art. This book gives the reader a visual look into the past through multiple point of views of lesser known historical figures of Israels past that helped shape the Zionist movement. As a reader you cannot help but get swallowed up by the verbal imagery, detailed and unique yet so full off possibility, as if the author is actually taking you there whether exploring the Valley of Harod or looking upon the vast orange groves of Rehovot this book will leave you truly mystified. Nevertheless I find that the greatest aspect of this book is the author's (Ari Shavit) determination to stay unbiased throughout the book so as to show both sides of historical conflict on behalf of the Israelis and the Palestinians. Through this noble attempt to show both sides of the argument Ari is able to bring to light some of the most controversial questions on both sides which have no right or wrong answer, this conflict of personal views and opinions of both sides becomes infectiously thought provoking and before you know it your brain will be the host of your own mental debate. Through the passages one can sense that the author is truly afflicted whilst writing this book questioning the reader, as well as himself creating a unique atmosphere for the reader to grow making this book an experience that will enrich your mind in more ways than one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Very informative - from one perspective.

    Mr. Shavit deeply regrets the unpleasantness that began with Arab attacks in the 1930s and fears that the Israelis should give up their hardwon land gains.
    Unfortunately for his position, the rule has always been that to the victor go the spoils, otherwise, post-1945 Poland would have to give Germany back its lands, and Russia to Poland its lands, and so on and so forth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Strongly recommended.

    The author put forth an exceptional piece of work. For me, this book answered so many questions I've had about the Israeli role in the middle east. It also left me with many new questions. It did confirm my own belief that the source of the evil in this area is Iran. Learning how the Israelis made mistakes was positive proof to me that they can own up to their own issues. Now if the other sides would do the same, there could be a level of piece in that troubled place never seen before. Mr. Shavit's training as a journalist shows through his writing as a real professional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    mina.bulaua@gmail.com

    Add me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    A personal and compelling account

    This is a personal account by a writer whose ancestors were early Zionists and who has spoken with some key characters in the nation's history. He loves his country unabashedly, but struggles with its history and current conflicts. The writing is personal and compelling, not at all dry. He offers no easy solutions, but then, there aren't any.
    The chapter on Lydda, which I had read before as a stand-along, will break your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Balanced and thought provoking. 

    Balanced and thought provoking. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Personal Perspective on Israeli Society

    An engrossing personalized trip from the end of the 19th century to the opening decades of the 21st century covering Israeli society. A clear eyed yet sympathetic rendering. Well worth a careful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Important read

    Everyone who is interested and concerned about what we do or don't know when making decisions about our foreign relations should read this. Our allies don't always make the best decisions even for their own good, and we should not feel pressure to support them no matter what in all matters. First we have to know the whole picture and this book helps fill in the blanks on what we are ignorant. Only by seeing and considering the whole picture can viable choices be made in regard for all sides involved.

    That's why this is an important read, especially for those who make our foreign policy decisions. We need to be aware of the whole picture and this book helps get us there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2