Customer Reviews for

My Sergei

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    A Time Machine of Words

    I watched, breathless as the rest of te world watched Katya and her Sergi fall in love while utterly owning couples skating. Sergi's death was a sensless tragedy, and haunts me still. Reading Katya's love story for her first love took me right back to the elegance and beauty, the grace and excitement. A lovely, interesting read w enough skate world content to keep most fans happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Love it

    I am a figure skating fan and loved reading this book when I owned it on paperback. I hope to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    I love it alot

    It is beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love it

    I read this book first time around 1995. I was a huge fan of the pair. I was too young to watch them in 1988 olympics but i saw them skate them as pros then again winning their second gold in 1994. I loved this book because it is an inside look in their love and inside look on a widow's grief. Katia and dasha are great examples of grief, moving on but still remembering. I highly recommend this book even if u are not skating fans or never heard of the great pair G&G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a sweet story...

    For anyone who kept up with this pair, you'll really enjoy this book. Even if you aren't very familiar, this is still a great story of love and life in a Communist country between two ice skaters, who at the time were probably the best in the world. It's amazing that Ekaterina wrote about her love story so soon after Sergei passed in a way that wasn't at all full of pity or depressing images. It's a wonderful tribute to Sergei, and such a great history for their daughter.

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone that needs a lift, anyone that has lost someone close to them, anyone interested in what it's like to live in Communism, and just anyone that would like a great love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Tribute

    Ekaterina has been my hero for so long, it seems like I've had her with me my whole life. And, as it is one hour until Sergei's death date, 13 years ago, I thought it would be appropriate to visit and leave my thoughts on this marvelous memoir. <BR/><BR/>After such a tragic incident, Ekaterina writes with passion and longing for her late husband Sergei Grinkov, explaining the highs and lows, the tears and the laughter. She gives everything in her soul to this book, telling the somewhat morbid details of Sergei's death to what kind of a lover he was. This book will make you smile, cry and be thankful for all that you have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    I want to cry just thinking about it!

    This book was extremely good. It was probably the saddest but best book i've ever read. Once I picked it up I just couldn't put it down and even tho I knew what was coming I still balled my eyes out. With this being a true story you just get much more emotionally involved when you think about the relationship they had and how Katia overcame it. I will definitely read this book again and again. I get all worked up over it everytime I think about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    My Favorite

    Katia is a great writer, because once you open the book, you cannot put it down, ad it's just not because I am a figure skater. I think her's is a beautiful story, almost like a fairy tale. She brings her life on the icec into it enough to keep me entertained, but not to much tecnical stuff, so that non skaters will love it and understand just as well. My Sergei isthe type if book you can never get tired of, I have read it twice and read my favorite parts daily. The photos are great, they really help the story. I think Ekaterina is a great role model for all girls, because of the way she handled the death of her beloved husband. Overall:Sweet, funny, interesting with a touch of tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Love Never Dies

    My Sergei is one of the best books I have ever read,the story is heart wrenching memoir of Sergei Grinkov. In this book Katia tells a deep emotional story of her life,career and her love for Sergei and even how loss of him is unbearable she goes on with life and steps into the future. This is a unforgetable story and I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Awesome

    I loved this book! It's so open and touching and personal and truthful. I never wanted to put it down and am very eager to read it again. I can't wait to read A Letter To Daria! Katia and Sergei's relationship was sooooooo deep and inspiring! Most people can only dream of relationships like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    The best book ever!~

    Ever since i was 10 years old I have loved to read and now I'm 14 and all through those years this book has been the best one I've read since. Once you start reading this book you can't put it down. This book portrays a young girl becoming a woman and falling in love with her partner but most of all her best friend and sharing the greatest adventures of a lifetime! I wish i could be like Katerina so brave and courageous, to be able to go back on the ice after the man i loved, my best friend, my partner died.I think the grace and beauty Ekaterina displays on the ice comes through in her book. I hope everyone get a chance to read this unique book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    Wow! It's a classic 'My Favorite Book'.

    I've read this book at least 5 times now. I can read it over and over, back to back. Of course, it's partially fun to read because I'm a Figure Skater. But, even if I wasn't, the book is EXCELLENT! It's probably the most touching romance I've ever read, especially since it's a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    The Best Book But the Saddest Story

    This book is the best i have ever read. In school i read it and i wanted to take it with me down the hallway! When i read it, i felt like i was acually living the life they did with them with each page i turned! She is somone i would like to be more like. I amire her sooo much! If you haven't read this book i encourage you to. You'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    My Sergei

    This is the best book that I have ever read. When I read it I actually cried. Once you start reading it you can not put it down. I don't like reading much but this book is wonderful. I hope that you enjoy it. Thank you for your time. Aimee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    True Love That Doesn't Die

    My Sergie is more than a biography and more that a chronical of a stunning sport. My Sergie is the story a life that united two driven talented people to the top of one of the most difficult sports in the world. But it also united two sensitive passionate people to a deep love afair that went beyond the relm of lovers marrige and parents. Ekaterina Alexandrovena lets the world into her heart reliving the memories of a amazing life that was cut off in the prime of life. Daria Grinkov can be proud of the two extrodinary people who gave her life. Ochin parashov (VERY GOOD IN RUSSIAN SPELLED WRONG)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    Gordeeva soars over adversity

    Katia Gordeeva has gone on to a brilliant solo career since the death of her partner and husband, Sergei Grinkov. This book is just the first step on that journey. Lovingly written and eloquently told, it chronicles Gordeeva's and Grinkov's lives and partnership in a way only an autobiography can. Gordeeva tells of the joys of her childhood, difficulties she and Grinkov faced training, the realization of their Olympic dreams, and the transition of their relationship from collegues to husband and wife. Gordeeva is able to express herself with the help of EM Swift in a way that is unexpected and beautiful. MY SERGEI is an easy read that you will not want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    These were definetly 2 star crossed lovers

    These 2 were the sports royalty of their country. They were loved by friends, family, fans and each other. This book is a great tribute to their life together and a great way for their daughter to know what a wonderful person her father was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    For Katia and Sergei

    Katia has shown Love has stood the test of time.I guess She showed the world how love can conquer after death of her Husband.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    This is a very good book

    I thought this story was very touching. I'm 12 and had to read this for a special report. I recomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    The Best Book Ever!!!!!!

    'My Sergei' is such a good book!I felt sorry for Katia when she had to leave her baby with her mother.It is a wonderful tribute to Sergei.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2