Customer Reviews for

My Side of the Mountain

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Side of the AWESOME Mountain

My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for a...
My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for anyone that loves the outdoors!!!

posted by Katie741 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boring

We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and the...
We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and then he leaves in one chapter and then comes backin another. The main character, Sam, is very adventorous. We learned this at the beginning of the story. By the end of the story we hadn't learned much about him besides that he's adventorus.
I don't recommend this book because you can't really understand most of the characters and the story. We didn't like this book because of the vocabulary. They could have put better words in there. We don't recommend this story to anybody.

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best I've Ever Read

    I read this book when I was in 5th grade and have read it about four times since. Each time I was a different age. I am 57 yrs old now and have just re-read it again. This book is a treasured classic. It's a story of survival. Man against nature, man against self, man against society. These are basic reading elements that apparently are no longer being taught in our schools. What a shame that kids don't have enough imagination to enjoy a truly imaginative and informative story without some sort of sound track or special effects to fill in the blanks for them. I found this book to be just as entertaining and satisfying to read at the ripe old age of 57 as I did when I was 11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Not recomended

    I onestly did'nt like this book.I DONT RECOMEND IT B/C THERRE ARE TOO MANY CHARACTERS IN THE STORY! In every chapter there is always one new person or animal in there!WATS UP WITH the barron weasel??HE apreared every once in a while! I ALSO DIDN'T LIKE THIS BOOK BECAUSE it's gramar i feel like it could've used better laungauge or beter words!I mean instead of using scared in eveyr chapter why not terified or frightened?? I WOULDN'T ALSO RECOMEND THIS BOOK BEACUSE ITS CONPLICATED TO UNDERSTAND!!! You can't even realy tell the point of the story!I found it pointless. THE only new thing I had learned about sam since the begging of the story was he was adventourus!I didn't realy learn anythign new about sam! I don't reccomend this book to ANYONE!!


    [CHULIXS]

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    I think that my side of the mountain was edecational, and it was almost like i didn't know if i liked it or not, but i'm pretty sure i enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Not A Good Book!!

    This book was interesting, but it wasn't very good. My Side Of The Mountain is about this boy named Sam Gribley he was tired of living with his family in a small apartment in New York City, so he set off to spend some time on his great-grandfather's land on a mountain in the Catskills. During his stay there Sam lived completely in the world of nature. He wanted to go hunting so he looked outside the door and noticed his floor was messy, so he decided to clean it up then he went hunting. While he was in the woods he ran upon a dead deer. So, with all of his strength, Sam drug the animal through the woods. As he came upon is tree he gathered up the hemlock boughs on his bed, rushed back and threw them over the carcass. Another part of the book was, one morning Sam woke up to a rustle in the leaves above. Instantly he was frightened, he had learned how to deal with his fears. So, if you like hunting and nature books, you will like this one. But if you don't, like I didn't, don't even waste your time buying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    decent book

    In the beging of the story My Side of the Mountain there was a boy who ran away from his home in new york city.
    The main points are you can live off the land.
    And I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    It's a good book for kid's.

    I liked the book My side of the mountain.It was a very adventures book.Having someone to live in the woods for a long time is different.The boy that lived in the wild took over the land.He got a pet facon which I think wood be cool to do.I liked it because it would be fun to live off of the land and take over.The story ended kind of sad,but kind of good.His parents are good parent's.They are not that strict.I would like to read it a few times more to fully understand it.My review of the book is good.I liked it because it was like a lot of other books.It is one of the books I do like.It is one of my favorites to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    it was alright

    In the begining of the story Sam Gribley runs away.
    The main point is that he has to live off the land.
    This story is maybe the worst i have read. It doesn't make sense.
    The story ended that he gets caught and has to go home.
    My review of the book is that they should have added more chapters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    My Side of the Okay Mountain.

    In the beginning of this story Sam Gribley is tired of living with his family in a small apartment in New York City. I think this book is a good book if you like to hunt or even if you like the outdoors. The main points in this book is when he sets out to his great-grandfather's land on Catskills mountain. Sam's first adventure was when he saved a baby falcon and raised it on his own as the parent. He then started to build shelter and take care of himself by eating deers and anything else he can find. He then meets a Baron and on Halloween he wants to have a Halloween party. He then met a lot of other animals and they became family, later in the story he had his house all done and they had a big dinner. In the ending Sam's dad came and talked to him and said that his mother wanted to know if he was coming home, and that she wanted to give him a bigger house. His mother was willing to get a bigger house for him to come home to which he had to until he was eighteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    My side of the mountain

    This book is deicent, a kid might enjoy this book but not a teenager. When I resd it the book made me bored but it showed me how to make a fish hook out of wood and that could be helpful for me one day. I would recomened this book to people who like outdoors or like to learn how to make things in the wilderness. This book is about a kid who runs away from home then finds a farm where his grandpaw or uncule used to live and in the end his family comes and lives with him and they all are back together. He also makes a house in a tree with a fire a bed with animale skin on it. The fire is small but so is his little house it it keeps it warm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great reading story

    This story is a great one to read. I loved to read it as a kid and I still love to read it as a teanager. It is a great book to read for fun and in the classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Worst book ever

    THis book bored me to death. it read a lot of books and this one was by far the worst. No action at all., I fell asleep many nights while readinjg this. I only read it because of this competetion for school. i'd rather eat ice cream mixed with ketchup than read this book over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    One of my childhood favorites

    I read this when I was 9. For weeks I transformed the bunk beds in my room into my own tree sanctuary. A great and fun adventure story for kids. I am buying it now to read to my own son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    My Side of the Mountain

    The book My Side of the Mountain is about a boy who runs away from home and lives in the Catskill Mountains in a hollow tree. He has a pet falcon he named Frightful. He taught her how to hunt and kill rabbits and small rodents. He lives on berries, fish, and basically anything he can get a hold of. He had some bad encounters with some hunters and an old lady. He found the remains of an old house and later found out it was his grandfathers. When he first arrived there he went to a cabin and talked to an old man who lived there. He had brought along forty dollars on his journey once in a while he would walk into town and buy a comic magazine and one time he bought an axe. At the end of the book when his parents came to get him he refused to go along with them. He stayed on the mountain for a year.

    The book My side of the Mountain is a good action packed book that is full of suspense. I like the book because it's something I am interested in and enjoy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Great Classroom Book

    I loved this book as a young reader and now I read it to my 3rd grade class each year and the students really enjoy it. It opens a lot of conversation as I teach in a rather large city and the students do not have much experience with camping out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    today

    it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    My Side of the Mountain

    My Side of the Mountain, by Jean George has a strong emotional storyline that will keep you both on the edge and in the trees. The author did an excellent job making realistic characters that you woudn't find in just any book. It's obvious that the author wanted to entertain and inform his wide varity of readers. Living on nature, making wistles with wood, and Training animals. Everything in this book will make you inspiered and entertained. This story also taught a great lesson, you don't need anything expensive or fancy to live. I would reccomend this to any naturalist or any one who loves a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    The Mountain Boy

    My Side of the Mountain<BR/>Jean Craighead George <BR/>Scholastic Inc.<BR/>New York<BR/>1988<BR/><BR/> This is a good story about a boy who wanted to get away. This story tells you the story and adventures of a boy who wanted to live in the wild. He doesn¿t want to live at home anymore and moves to the mountain. This is a good book for young adventures. <BR/> I really enjoyed reading this book. I am a big fan of the wild and I have lived in the mountains for a week. This was a book that I could easily relate to and I think there are many more out there who could relate. This is a story of a boy who runs away from home to live in the Catskill Mountains. They go into detail on how he has to live off the land and become one with the mountain. The boy has to overcome many obstacles in the mountains and in the process he learns a lot about life and himself. He is still a young boy but he has learned a lot from his experience. I think we all need something in our life to teach us about ourselves. This book can help you see that. You can read about how a boy becomes a man in the end. <BR/> I really enjoyed reading this book and I hope that others will go out and grab this book. This book is a good book for young audiences. I believe that younger people will enjoy this book a little more. So get up and go grab this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Side of the Mountain

    This is a fabulous book. It teaches people how to survive on their own in the wilderness. It is a must read for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading my side of the mountain

    In school we had to read this book, every time I got a chance I would read it. It is one of those books you never whant to put it down intill you are done. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It is about a boy who goes to live in the wild, Lots of things happen... He trains a falcon to chach food for him. Makes his own food. Hunts deer and other animals. He makes lots of friends animal and human. Sam meets people and some write he is a wild boy in the paper. He has a teacher friend that says if any finds out it is him he would write somthing not true to the paper. At the end his father shows up. He said he alway said to himself he will be home tomarow. But he was liviing in the wild for more than 1 year!!!<BR/>I will not spoil the ending but BUY THIS BOOK!! IT IS THE BEST BOOK EVER YOU WILL NOT REGET IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Good Book!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read adventure stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10