Customer Reviews for

My Side of the Mountain

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Side of the AWESOME Mountain

My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for a...
My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for anyone that loves the outdoors!!!

posted by Katie741 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boring

We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and the...
We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and then he leaves in one chapter and then comes backin another. The main character, Sam, is very adventorous. We learned this at the beginning of the story. By the end of the story we hadn't learned much about him besides that he's adventorus.
I don't recommend this book because you can't really understand most of the characters and the story. We didn't like this book because of the vocabulary. They could have put better words in there. We don't recommend this story to anybody.

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    My Side of the AWESOME Mountain

    My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for anyone that loves the outdoors!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this book is good for kids who love adventure, the idea

    I think this book is good for kids who love adventure, the idea of camping out in the woods, or enjoy books like “Julie of the Wolves,”
    “Dragonwings,” or “The Sign of the Beaver.” This book, I like because it is about a kid, around my age, who goes and lives in the woods,
     which I could only dream of doing. I get to know a few things about creating objects to help live in the woods, like making a fishing hook
    , or knowing what an edible plant like dog tooth violets looks like.  -Kris Wolvenpads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Boring

    We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
    What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and then he leaves in one chapter and then comes backin another. The main character, Sam, is very adventorous. We learned this at the beginning of the story. By the end of the story we hadn't learned much about him besides that he's adventorus.
    I don't recommend this book because you can't really understand most of the characters and the story. We didn't like this book because of the vocabulary. They could have put better words in there. We don't recommend this story to anybody.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An AWSOME ADVENTURE BOOK!!!

    This story is about a boy who wants to live on his to grandfathers farm. He runs away from New York to the Catskill mountians. Along the way he learns some intersting facts. About his gradfathers farm. He also makes many animal friends. He eventually lives on the farm. This is what this book is about.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favotite Book I Have Ever Read

    I would recommend this book to any one who like the outdoors or thinks they do.It is about a teenage boy is sick of living in the crowded city and decides to run away to his granpa's old farm in the Catskills Mountains. He Doesn't know any thing about survival at first, but quickly learns with help from people around a nearby community.
    He learns how to catch fish and build fire to survive. He burns out a huge tree for a house and lives inside. He meets several people in town, but he does not like all of them. He learns about falcons from a lady, then climbs a cliff to get a female chick. He names her Frightful and raises her. She grows and catches prey for him during the late summer.
    When winter arrives, he has plenty to survive. But by then several reporters try to catch him and make him give them interviews. The rest will be up to you to discover the surprise ending!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    My review of my side of the mountain

    The book I read is called ¿My Side of the Mountain¿. The main conflict of this book is that the main character, Sam, runs away from home to live off his family¿s old farm. He ran away to live off the land independent from society. When he gets there he has to learn to catch his own food, make fires and live in the woods, things a city boy knows nothing of. After he starts to get the hang of living off the land, he begins to get some publicity. Local papers tell of a ¿Wild boy¿ living in the woods with his pet falcon. He also has a falcon named Frightful that he raised from a chick. This poses a problem because, now he has to be careful to make sure no one sees him. Those are some conflicts of the story.<BR/> I like this story because it¿s told from the main characters point of view, and it includes all of his feelings and encounters. I also like how the author uses a journal format. It makes the reader feel like you are the main character at some times. When Sam gets really lonely I feel his sadness. When he caught his first deer I felt excited for him. In my opinion there are no bad parts of this book. thats my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    My Side Of The Mountain

    The book My Side Of The Mountain is a very good and exciting book. It has components from Challenging, Excitement, and it uses alot of Imagery and Similes. Some examples of imagery is when Sam says, "mmm do you smell that, it smells like sweet cotton candy and chocolate pretzels and steaming hot popcorn" and some examples of Similes are, " Im as hungry as a momma bear". This book is with out a doubt my all time FAVORITE book, i've read it since i was 11 and i would still give it two thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George was very good a

    My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George was very good and very appealing to me because I enjoy similar things that go on in the book. I enjoy being out in the woods. The book made me think of the same things I enjoy doing while I'm in the woods. The story is based on a boy living on his own in the woods and becoming very familiar with his surroundings. This book is one of my favorite books, and I would recommend it to all my friends ages 10+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Remembered in middle school, this was on the book shelf in one of the classrooms. This was a good, sort of remember this one, type of read. Faintly remembered the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    this is such a strange, but strangely beautiful book. When you r

    this is such a strange, but strangely beautiful book. When you read it you feel you are inside this world, inside the tree, inside the winter. I think the book has a very peculiar ending but while you are making the journey it is wonderful. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    This book absolutely captivated my imaginative, animal loving 9

    This book absolutely captivated my imaginative, animal loving 9 year old son. It provided a departure from modern life; computers, video games, etc and cultivated a curiosity to discover nature, to be self sufficient and independent. Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I thought that this was a very good book. I would recommend tha

    I thought that this was a very good book. I would recommend that you read this book because it keeps your attention and it also teaches you how to make some of the things from the book. I think this book would be good for a young reader because they could relate to him. I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I read it in two days!! You should also try to build some of the things Sam builds in the book like the rabbit trap and also the fish hooks! I had alot of fun with my dad building these things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Loved, loved, LOVED this book!

    I Loved, loved, LOVED this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    My Side of the Mountain was an overall good book. It is the stor

    My Side of the Mountain was an overall good book. It is the story of Sam Gribley, who runs away from New York City to the Catskill Mountains. There he lives for a year, alone in the wilderness. Sam Gribley&rsquo;s parents had full notice that he was running away. They had many kids and did not care about Sam. It took me a while to get hooked, but once I did, I couldn&rsquo;t stop reading it. It was an intriguing realistic fiction with a flabbergasting finish. This book taught many skills on how to survive on your own. With that said, there were some useless sentences throughout the book, but My Side of the Mountain showed how hard it is to live on your own for one whole year. I recommend this book for people who like the outside world and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recommended especially for outdoor loving boys

    I have been reading this book to my sons at bedtime. They are 10 and 12 and love it. We love to camp and hike and this book with its wonderful descriptions of animals and wilderness and wholesome adventures has been a great read. It is adventuresome and calming at the same time so it is nice to read aloud before bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great Book for Nature Lovers

    As I was reading this book, its idea of living in the woods amazed me. The way Sam lived in his tree and made his clothing, food, and supplies completely from nature was truly astonishing. I think the climax of this book is was when Sam did not want to be heard from by any reporters, but then in some ways, he did. Sam's problem was resolved by his parents and family who decided to come live with him. The only down side to this resolution is that Sam's mother decided that they were going to build a house and live a normal life. Sam was upset about this because he wanted to truly live wild.

    -Isaac McNulty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    this is a great book. it will surprise you to the end. it really effected my out look on nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Must Read!!!!

    This is a great book for all lovers of the outdoors such as myself. I read it when i was young and have just reread it and loved it as much as I did then. Also, check out: The Wild Adventures of Eli Johnson and Curly Bill for another exciting outdoor adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    The wild boy winds up for more. Check it out

    Myside of the mountian is a great book. I read this book in reading groups and my teacher says that before she read it her friend told her it is great and now because I read it I am recamending it to you. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    you must read it!! it was great!!

    My Side Of The Mountain My Side Of The Mountain was a very interesting fictional novel by Jean Craighead George. This book was set on a mountain farm called the Gribley farm. My Side Of The Mountain was about a boy named Sam Gribley who lived in the city and absolutely hated it. While living in the city, he lived in an apartment with his mom, dad, and his eight brothers and sisters. He hated being so crowded and had always wanted to run away. One day, he did. He ran away to his grandfather's farm on the mountain and he loved it. Well most of it. He stayed on the mountain through the glorious days of summer and through the vicious, cold days of winter. Although Sam missed his friends and family from the city, he did make some friends on the mountain. He captured a hunting bird named Frightful who made his life a lot easier. Frightful did because with both of them hunting, they eventually had a great surplus of food for the winter. He also met a weasel and named it Baron. While up on the mountain, a few human visitors came to visit him too. One of the visitors was Sam's father. Sam's father visited him to tell him all that had been happening in the city. A few other people that visited were not the best guests to have because they were trying to get him to leave the mountain, which is something he did not want to do. My Side Of The Mountain contained many positives and negatives. One positive involved Sam being kept from all of the other people from the city at the mountain. This was a great thing because Sam did not want anyone to know that he lived on the mountain. He was afraid that if people knew that he lived on the mountain, they would want to come live with him there and that is not what he wanted to happen. He wanted to be the only human to live on the mountain, because the reason that he left the city was that he didn't like all the people. To have them all come to the mountain he ran away to would not be a very good thing. He also didn't want people to know that he lived there because he knew that they would try to motivate him to come back to the city. Another positive about the novel was that Frightful, his bird, was there to help him get food. If Frightful weren't there, living at the mountain would be a much harder task. One more positive about this novel was that Sam's family missed him so much and he didn't want to come back to the city to live with them, although he missed them a lot too, so they just came to live with him on the mountain. There were also some negatives about this book. One negative was that the news reporters found out about Sam living at the mountain and came to see him. Sam did not want this to happen because he didn't want anyone to know that he lived at the mountain by himself because he thought that they would want to come live with him there and that would not be a good thing in Sam's case. Another negative about this book was when he got stuck in his tree house because of the ice sealing him inside of the tree. The bad thing about this was that Sam needed to get food all the time or else he could starve, which would not be a good thing for him. One last thing that was not a good thing that happened in this book was when his whole family came to live with him. He loved the fact that they wanted to live with him on the mountain, but he didn't want them to build a house there. He wanted all of them to live in trees like he had been doing since he arrived on the mountain. As you can see, Sam had

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10