Customer Reviews for

My Side of the Mountain

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Side of the AWESOME Mountain

My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for a...
My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for anyone that loves the outdoors!!!

posted by Katie741 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Boring

We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and the...
We don't like My Side of the Mountain because every chapter they added a new character. Also in every chapter the subject changes. We don't understand it. There are too many characters. It just is not right.
What's up with the weasel?He shows up in one chapter and then he leaves in one chapter and then comes backin another. The main character, Sam, is very adventorous. We learned this at the beginning of the story. By the end of the story we hadn't learned much about him besides that he's adventorus.
I don't recommend this book because you can't really understand most of the characters and the story. We didn't like this book because of the vocabulary. They could have put better words in there. We don't recommend this story to anybody.

posted by 5thgradestudents on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    My Side of the AWESOME Mountain

    My side of the Mountain was an awesome story!!!! I enjoyed every part of it!! My Side of the Mountain was a really nice story to read. It kept me up soooo late! I am a ten year old and this was one of my favorite reading books this whole summer!! I recommend it for anyone that loves the outdoors!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this book is good for kids who love adventure, the idea

    I think this book is good for kids who love adventure, the idea of camping out in the woods, or enjoy books like “Julie of the Wolves,”
    “Dragonwings,” or “The Sign of the Beaver.” This book, I like because it is about a kid, around my age, who goes and lives in the woods,
     which I could only dream of doing. I get to know a few things about creating objects to help live in the woods, like making a fishing hook
    , or knowing what an edible plant like dog tooth violets looks like.  -Kris Wolvenpads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An AWSOME ADVENTURE BOOK!!!

    This story is about a boy who wants to live on his to grandfathers farm. He runs away from New York to the Catskill mountians. Along the way he learns some intersting facts. About his gradfathers farm. He also makes many animal friends. He eventually lives on the farm. This is what this book is about.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favotite Book I Have Ever Read

    I would recommend this book to any one who like the outdoors or thinks they do.It is about a teenage boy is sick of living in the crowded city and decides to run away to his granpa's old farm in the Catskills Mountains. He Doesn't know any thing about survival at first, but quickly learns with help from people around a nearby community.
    He learns how to catch fish and build fire to survive. He burns out a huge tree for a house and lives inside. He meets several people in town, but he does not like all of them. He learns about falcons from a lady, then climbs a cliff to get a female chick. He names her Frightful and raises her. She grows and catches prey for him during the late summer.
    When winter arrives, he has plenty to survive. But by then several reporters try to catch him and make him give them interviews. The rest will be up to you to discover the surprise ending!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George was very good a

    My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George was very good and very appealing to me because I enjoy similar things that go on in the book. I enjoy being out in the woods. The book made me think of the same things I enjoy doing while I'm in the woods. The story is based on a boy living on his own in the woods and becoming very familiar with his surroundings. This book is one of my favorite books, and I would recommend it to all my friends ages 10+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I thought that this was a very good book. I would recommend tha

    I thought that this was a very good book. I would recommend that you read this book because it keeps your attention and it also teaches you how to make some of the things from the book. I think this book would be good for a young reader because they could relate to him. I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I read it in two days!! You should also try to build some of the things Sam builds in the book like the rabbit trap and also the fish hooks! I had alot of fun with my dad building these things!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Loved, loved, LOVED this book!

    I Loved, loved, LOVED this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    My Side of the Mountain was an overall good book. It is the stor

    My Side of the Mountain was an overall good book. It is the story of Sam Gribley, who runs away from New York City to the Catskill Mountains. There he lives for a year, alone in the wilderness. Sam Gribley’s parents had full notice that he was running away. They had many kids and did not care about Sam. It took me a while to get hooked, but once I did, I couldn’t stop reading it. It was an intriguing realistic fiction with a flabbergasting finish. This book taught many skills on how to survive on your own. With that said, there were some useless sentences throughout the book, but My Side of the Mountain showed how hard it is to live on your own for one whole year. I recommend this book for people who like the outside world and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recommended especially for outdoor loving boys

    I have been reading this book to my sons at bedtime. They are 10 and 12 and love it. We love to camp and hike and this book with its wonderful descriptions of animals and wilderness and wholesome adventures has been a great read. It is adventuresome and calming at the same time so it is nice to read aloud before bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great Book for Nature Lovers

    As I was reading this book, its idea of living in the woods amazed me. The way Sam lived in his tree and made his clothing, food, and supplies completely from nature was truly astonishing. I think the climax of this book is was when Sam did not want to be heard from by any reporters, but then in some ways, he did. Sam's problem was resolved by his parents and family who decided to come live with him. The only down side to this resolution is that Sam's mother decided that they were going to build a house and live a normal life. Sam was upset about this because he wanted to truly live wild.

    -Isaac McNulty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    this is a great book. it will surprise you to the end. it really effected my out look on nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Must Read!!!!

    This is a great book for all lovers of the outdoors such as myself. I read it when i was young and have just reread it and loved it as much as I did then. Also, check out: The Wild Adventures of Eli Johnson and Curly Bill for another exciting outdoor adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    The wild boy winds up for more. Check it out

    Myside of the mountian is a great book. I read this book in reading groups and my teacher says that before she read it her friend told her it is great and now because I read it I am recamending it to you. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best I've Ever Read

    I read this book when I was in 5th grade and have read it about four times since. Each time I was a different age. I am 57 yrs old now and have just re-read it again. This book is a treasured classic. It's a story of survival. Man against nature, man against self, man against society. These are basic reading elements that apparently are no longer being taught in our schools. What a shame that kids don't have enough imagination to enjoy a truly imaginative and informative story without some sort of sound track or special effects to fill in the blanks for them. I found this book to be just as entertaining and satisfying to read at the ripe old age of 57 as I did when I was 11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    decent book

    In the beging of the story My Side of the Mountain there was a boy who ran away from his home in new york city.
    The main points are you can live off the land.
    And I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great reading story

    This story is a great one to read. I loved to read it as a kid and I still love to read it as a teanager. It is a great book to read for fun and in the classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Great Classroom Book

    I loved this book as a young reader and now I read it to my 3rd grade class each year and the students really enjoy it. It opens a lot of conversation as I teach in a rather large city and the students do not have much experience with camping out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    today

    it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Side of the Mountain

    This is a fabulous book. It teaches people how to survive on their own in the wilderness. It is a must read for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading my side of the mountain

    In school we had to read this book, every time I got a chance I would read it. It is one of those books you never whant to put it down intill you are done. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! It is about a boy who goes to live in the wild, Lots of things happen... He trains a falcon to chach food for him. Makes his own food. Hunts deer and other animals. He makes lots of friends animal and human. Sam meets people and some write he is a wild boy in the paper. He has a teacher friend that says if any finds out it is him he would write somthing not true to the paper. At the end his father shows up. He said he alway said to himself he will be home tomarow. But he was liviing in the wild for more than 1 year!!!<BR/>I will not spoil the ending but BUY THIS BOOK!! IT IS THE BEST BOOK EVER YOU WILL NOT REGET IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6