Customer Reviews for

My Sister Dilly

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Ms. Lang writes a wonderful story of 2 sisters whose relationshi

    Ms. Lang writes a wonderful story of 2 sisters whose relationship is tested when one goes to prison for attempted murder. Upon her release, they have to reestablish their relationship which is tested even further. Relationships among siblings can be difficult which the author illustrates extremely well. This was a hard book to put down as I kept wanting to find out how the story ends. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    F HI

    FFFFFFAAAAARRRRRTTTT TRY AND FIND ME ~ SECRET

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Dilly

    Who are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    My Sister Dilly: Guilt has many faces. Forgiveness has only one.

    Snatch up the tissues, readers! Coz between the overflow of sibling estrogen and, whichever way the winds blows across the Illinois hog farms you're going to need them. And did I mention there's a handsome, bewildered Californian named Mac with great frequent flier miles, who sticks by his woman, Hannah, no matter how bad she's PMSing? What a guy!

    Ms Lang has written a poignant account of two sisters finding their ways back home; each for a different reason. My Sister Dilly is centered on the powerfully, relevant topic of what constitutes productive human life in this postmodern world, and the absolute necessity of family. Her believable characters demonstrate how our premeditated plans are often blindsided to God's sovereign design and His unconditional love and forgiveness.

    I embraced this book! My Sister Dilly is a heart opener. And a little girl named, Sierra, is the can-opener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Lang Does It Again

    Maureen Lang is the queen of descriptions and characters. They are real, believable and interesting.You feel like you are standing in a small midwest town turning away from your dreams and groping for a way to help your sister. If you have a sibling, this is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking

    Even if I am reading a romance I look for the sibling and parent relationships. I was impressed that while there is romance in this book, it really is about how our sibling and parent relationships define who we are and how we will cope with the rest of our lives.

    We so often do not see ourselves as other see us. I hope reading this book will make a permanent change in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise, surprise.

    I borrowed this book without actually knowing what it was about. I read the cover and thought, sure, why not. I was shocked when I got a few pages in when I realized it was "Christian Lit." Not usually my favorite genre. I did, however, enjoy the book all the way through. Not my favorite, not one I'll be buying, but I definitely recommend it for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book will change the way you view life

    While I was reading this story, all I could keep thinking in my head was "Wow." This is a story you would normally not think of when you think about Christian fiction. This is not your happily ever after,everyone's all lovey-dovey , everything always works out Christian fiction. This book is ripped from the headlines, make yourself really think, in your face fiction. Usually when you hear in the news about mothers who intentionally hurt their kids, your first thought it to condemn the mother. You cannot believe that anyone would want to purposely murder their children and that they must insane to do it. This novel shows the other side to that story and what could possibly make a mother even consider doing that to her child. As a reader, it took me by surprise that I actually felt sympathy towards a mother who did this and anger over the grandmother who wants to protect her grandchild. The story really blew me away by how much I invested into the characters. Dilly's sister, Hannah also touched my heart as well. She wants to protect her sister and is willing to sacrifice her own life to do so. However her reasons behind that are not as "Good Samaritan" as they sound. It's a wonderful character study between the two of them. My only qualm with the book was that it takes a while before the reader is finally told what exactly happened to put Dilly in jail. It's merely hinted at for about 3/4 of the book. It wasn't a problem but it made me feel like I had missed it somewhere because it kept being subtly mentioned at through most of the book. Otherwise, you will be enthralled by this book. The book is perfect is you're in the mood for something that is not fluffy and really makes you think afterwards. It's a story that stays with you and has you looking twice at everything you've always believed in. One of the most thought-provoking reads of the year. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Sister Loyalty and Love

    Maureen Lang is rapidly becoming a favorite in women's fiction. She tackles difficult family situations, childhood illnesses and disabilities with honesty and grace. My Sister Dilly is a beautiful book that touches your heart with peace like walking down a country lane on a summer day. Hannah and Dilly Williams grew up on a hog farm with strict parents. Hannah couldn't wait to leave and did as soon as she graduated. Years later when her sister Dilly is starting over again after some difficult circumstances, Hannah takes it upon herself to come and care for Dilly. Guilt over not being there for her little sister years earlier drives Hannah's life. She leaves behind a career and the only man she's ever loved to go back to a town she hates and people she is sure don't care. Hannah's journey to care for Dilly becomes a personal quest for peace and contentment. Dilly and her daughter Sierra teach Hannah more about herself than she ever knew. Will Hannah find the way to unravel the guilt that tangles her heart and make room for perfect love to heal the wounds? Maureen Lang has written a surprising story that waves grace on every page. She gives the reader and honest look into the lives of people who face daily struggles, sometimes make wrong choices, and find their way through mistakes to second chances. Her characters are believable and endearing. I highly recommend My Sister Dilly. And if this is your first Maureen Lang book, be sure to check her others also Pieces of Silver, Remember Me, Oak Leaves, and On Sparrow Hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Christian fiction fans will enjoy this fascinating tale of two sisters

    Although her sister Dilly tried to kill herself and succeeded in killing her disabled child, Hannah Williams blames herself for not being there for her sibling. While Hannah enjoyed her life in California and was elated at not being back in Sugar Creek, Illinois, Dilly imploded. ----------- Now after twelve years in prison, Dilly is free. Giving up her life, her work and her love in California, Hannah goes to her despised Illinois hometown to help Dilly start over although she, like the media, wonders whether her sibling will be allowed to see her daughter, raised by her dad. However, Hannah thought by being martyr she will be Dilly¿s savior but in prison Dilly found a Savior she can depend on being there for her when life seems bleakest.-------- Christian fiction fans will enjoy this fascinating tale of two sisters. Hannah feels guilty for not being there for her younger sibling so this time she gives up everything for the redemption of martyrdom. However, Dilly, who desperately needed her a dozen years ago, no longer does as she has found a much more reliable Savior. Hannah is the more interesting character as ironically she is upset and somewhat despondent that her sibling does not turn to her, which in turn leads to more guilt and regret. Maureen Lang provides a character driven thought provoking family drama.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Enjoyable read

    Hannah's sister Dilly has just gotten out of prison and she feels responsible to take care of her. She leaves her job and home in California to take Dilly back home to their family farm. Hannah just can't get it out of her head that if she had been there for Dilly when she really needed her that she would never have been so desperate and ended up in prison. Hannah also left behind her best friend Mac, whom she cannot seem to live without. They are just friends, but she finds herself thinking of him more than she thinks a friend should. She also doesn't want to make any commitments since she doesn't plan on ever moving back to LA because Dilly needs her. Hannah finds herself contemplating what she is really doing back home and what God really wants from her. This story was a relaxing read with moments of tension and indecision as to what my feelings were. I loved this book and found it rather enjoyable, so I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    My Favorite Lang Book to Date

    Maureen Lang has once again covered a sensitive topic with warmth and humanity that makes her a favorite among Christian Fiction writers. Hannah Williams wants desperately to compensate. Perhaps Dilly¿s unspeakable crime was in part her fault for not being a more supportive sister. When Dilly¿s time of incarceration has ended, Hannah believes herself to be Dilly¿s savior. Why not sacrifice her career, move back to a homeland she had grown up to despise, and put her life on hold? Perhaps even give up the true love of her life. Wouldn¿t all that sacrifice be worth it? Would that make up for not being the sister Dilly needed when desperation drove her to attempt to take her own life and that of her disabled child? How could Hannah realize that Dilly found a different Savior. One she could be certain would never fail her? Maureen Lang has pieced together a gripping story that brings home two important issues, that of the emotional drain caregivers of disabled children endure, and that of rebuilding one¿s life after devastating poor life choices. Dilly has paid her debt to society, but will her community be as forgiving as the Lord? Kudos for tackling such difficult issues with humanity and warmth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Another Great Book!

    Thank you Maureen for writing another book, My Sister Dilly, that leaves one thinking and pondering. What a challenge to all of us to have more empathy and reach out to help others in need! It¿s so easy to go ones way and not realize the challenges others face minute by minute around us. My Sister Dilly lets the reader take a peak at what it is like to live in ¿small town¿ central Illinois, USA. What is it like moment by moment raising a disabled child? What are the daily struggles? What does God want us to do to reach out and help others? To those with disabled children, this book encourages them to reach out for help. My Sister Dilly also reminds us of God¿s redeeming grace. Once again romance is in twined into the story to keep one on the edge of their seat wondering what will happen next. Readers, you don¿t want to miss any of Maureen¿s books! I can¿t wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1