Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 2538 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1868)

4 Star

(445)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

An Intriguing Read

I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended ...
I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended to me. Immediately I picked up the book and began to read. Sure enough, this book was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. After reading this book, I gleaned that Picoult is a fascinating writer, and this was definitely no banal story. If you are in search of a brilliantly written novel with a very interesting story line, then I would definitely recommend My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
My Sister¿s Keeper is the story of a thirteen-year-old girl, Anna Fitzgerald, who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister, Kate, who has leukemia. Anna has been a donor for Kate her entire life, and this story revolves around her sudden opposition and dilemmas regarding this situation. The reader is immediately enthralled to the plot the moment Anna makes an astonishing decision in one of the beginning chapters, which the rest of the story revolves around. My Sister¿s Keeper is also the story of family life and revolves around the family¿s struggle to maintain their love and support for each other. It describes how no family is perfect, and forces you to love the Fitzgerald family and feel their pain through their many hardships. It was very difficult for me to put the book down and stop reading because I was so anxious to discover the ending result of this predicament that takes place throughout the entire novel. I was shocked by the unwonted resolution, however was very satisfied. I believe this is an ideal ending because the reader cannot even predict how the story will conclude, and it is a summation to all of the present conflicts. Picoult does an excellent job at writing this end result.
The author of My Sister¿s Keeper, Jodi Picoult has a very unique and compelling writing style that gets readers hooked to her books instantaneously. Her use of description is extremely skillful, and I felt as if I were present in the plot of the story. A component of her writing that I liked was her use of numerous flashbacks. I enjoyed reading them when they appeared because it helps the reader to understand the current situation or feeling she is writing about. They were often very interesting to read, and they gave me great insight to future events in the book. Another characteristic that I am pleased by is the fact that each chapter in the novel is told by a different significant character. I value this because it is interesting to see each person¿s perspective and feelings on a certain event or circumstance. By doing this, Picoult also creates a sense of unbiased feeling. It restricts the reader from having an unfair opinion about a specific character, and allows them to create their own opinions about each character.
If you enjoy reading novels about everyday life and the complications that arise in it, then I would recommend My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Especially if you enjoy an intriguing storyline that is exceptionally well written, be sure to pick up a copy of this book. Picoult is an exceptionally fascinating writer, and after reading this masmasterpiece I will be sure to read one her other novels in the near future. It is a book of emotion, attachment, and suffering that keeps the reader interested for the entire story.

posted by 452157 on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or dama...
I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2542 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 128
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    This book is a keeper! I loved My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoul

    This book is a keeper! I loved My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult and think it deserves five stars. Thirteen-year-old Anna Fitzgerald is her leukemic sister Kate’s blood and possible-kidney donor.  She is faced with a decision that could leave many people unhappy. Should she donate one of her genetically-matched kidneys to Kate when she doesn’t want to? 
    Sara, Anna’s mother, does everything she can to keep Kate alive, even at the expense of her other children. The author uses multiple perspectives to bring Sara’s motivations to light. Campbell can make you laugh, while you sympathize for the neglected Jesse.
    Ms. Picoult also displayed a deep understanding of leukemia treatment and legal processions. I was pleased with the decision Judge DeSalvo made in Anna’s case. 
    The figurative language is like chocolate chip cookies. Brian and Anna use the most metaphors and symbolisms. 
    The end is shocking, but satisfactory enough to bring closure to the Fitzgerald household. All in all, I recommend this five-star worthy book to you.
    SaumyaCHMS14

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Phenominal book.

    This is honestly one of the best books I have ever read. The last five pages and epilogue brought me to tears. A great concept and extremely well written. I enjoyed reading Jesse's and Campbells point of view. This is a book I will be sure to recommmened and read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Dispointed because the story had potential

    The book had some good qualities, but it was harmed by two things.
    First, the relationship between Julia and Cambell took away from the focus of the story. The story's focus was supposed to be on Anna,Kate, and the ethical issues of family, love ,choice, and humanity, not the past relationship issues of Julia and Cambell.
    Second, the twist ending really made the entire story pointless. It underminded all the discoveries about love and the worth of Anna as a person. I am also bothered about how everybody just gave up at the end. Nobody gave up on Kate, which was why she lived so many years, but this tragedy occurs and everybody immediatly gives up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Awesome

    AMAZING STORY! Could not put the book down! Just mad that the movie did not follow the book! I highly recomend to read the book first.!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    My sister's keepet

    I am in the middle of this book. I think it is awesome after all. But what I herd was that it is sad :( but I all ready new that. I think anyone will like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Best book ever!

    Very moving and inspiring! I couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Excellent Read

    This book was excellent! I couldn't put the book down! Picoult does an excellent job in writing this book. This book is full of twists and turns and even brought tears to my eyes. Definitely worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Happy,sad,funny extaordinarily great book

    This book is so well written and is undeniably a page-turner so sad but touching in the end and this is the first book that has ever made me cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Ilovethisbook

    This book was amazing it was so suspensful, and i couldn't stop reading!! It was a bit confusing at times.... but i would dedinitly reccomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    one of the very best!!

    Everything a good book should be: characters that you empathize with even when you don't like them, moments of surprise, a plot that makes you think, and an ending that makes you cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Such a wonderful book!!!

    This book is very sweet. At times, you probably will get teary eyed, and you migjt laugh. It definatly has a shocking ending that you don't expect! Totally worth reading <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    I could not put this book down. Its one of my favorite books. I highly recommend it especially if you enjoy tear-jerkers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved it

    A must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Pleasntly Surprised

    The book was assigned for school and I can't even tell you how long I had it floating around in the bottom of my backpack until it was a week before the report was due and I knew I had to start reading it, begrudgingly.
    I was shocked by how much I loved this book. Ordinarily I tend to stay away from stories about family hardships and sickness and all that, but My Sister's Keeper presents the story in such a unique and refreshing way, with so many great characters and side stories, it was so unlike anything else I've read, and I'm now looking for more from Jodi Picoult.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Heartwrenching, passionate read.

    5 stars. That is the only thing I can say about this book. It is simply amazing, one of the best books out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    My Sister's Keeper=Riveting

    My Sister's Keeper is easily one of the most captivating books I have ever read. You can open to any page in this book and want to read the whole thing. Each of Jodi Picoult's characters has their own significance that is extremely realistic and human. The plot is certainly realistic although a grave and depressing ordeal for ANY family to go through. If you are looking for a brilliant story written by a brilliant author I definitely recommend My Sister's Keeper.
    Picoult has a unique voice and writing craft that she uses to keep readers feeling as if they were inside of the story and inside of the Fitzgerald family. One component of her writing that I found excellent is the use of various flashbacks. It helps readers gain perspective of each character's thoughts and feelings on a certain event. By writing from the point-of-view of each powerful character, Jodi Picoult creates an unbiased feeling. It made me create my own opinions about the characters. The author uses exceptional description that creates many different emotions. While this book has humor, it is definitely a book that produces buckets of tears. The ending is so unexpected it makes you wonder the reason the author had for it. It's extraordinarily original and utterly shocking, but then again the whole book is. Be ready to cry, laugh, think and relate to many elements of this book. You are left wanting more and more.
    My Sister's Keeper is a book that once you pick up you cannot put down and the messages are strong, impacting and meaningful. Anyone who knows family love and sacrifice will strongly relate to the characters, plot and feelings touched on. Although it was much more surprising than I expected, it is a book I will never forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Sisters Keeper

    Jodi Picoult really captures what it ould be like to be the sister who has had lukemia since she was 2. Anna isn't sick but she has undergone many surgerys in order for Kate to stay alive. Kate and Anna are very close and love one each other more than anything. Two thumbs up! I recomend this book to people who like Dramatic, touching, Sensual, and thrilling books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Excellent, heart wrenching- I loved it!

    This book was very interesting and kept my attention the entire time. I cried of course but I would do it again. It is full of emotion, imagination, love and makes a great story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    wont be able to put it down if you start reading...

    My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Picoult was a very interesting read. Full of surprises and twists in the story, i enjoyed this book. i had to read it to the end and was very surprised by the end. i liked how Picoult used almost every character's perspective to desrcibe their feelings. Although it was sad in parts, the book overall was awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Sister's Keeper

    My Sister's Keeper is one of those stories you are worried will tear your apart, but you just have to read on, and have to see what happens. The messages in this book are strong, impacting, and important. It's a story that touches so many important moral topics, and revolves around a disease many today are unfortunately too familiar with - Cancer.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to feel what family love and sacrifice is all about. And you have ever underestimated the strength of a child, this book with surely put things in perspective for you.
    It will tug at every single last string in your heart...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2542 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 128